Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars on message totally
This (online kindle) book is a direct, totally relevant, Internet-era view from educator and parent view of the crossroads public education is at. Will states the options open to us. However the choice between training the creativity out of children to prepare them for lives as foot soldiers of a system convenient to the privileged few and facilitating the flourishing of...
Published 3 months ago by julia szajdzicka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of food for thought...
...this would help with a study (for example a master's, or even teacher training) but it poses more questions than it answers. An America book which is also relevant in English education.
Published 7 months ago by Jaxcw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting quick read., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why School?: How Education Must Change When Learning and Information Are Everywhere (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Has many good points regarding the future of education and how we need to be preparing our kids for their world and not the world which we were schooled for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting argument that school should be more about learning to learn than mastering facts, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why School?: How Education Must Change When Learning and Information Are Everywhere (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Readable. Richardson argues that with abundant information and educational resources instantly available schools should focus on inspiring a learning, problem solving, self directed mentality and spend less time drilling a prescribed curriculum. The book criticises over testing and one size fits all approaches and champions creativity, sharing and collaboration and personal interest projects. Much of the argument is persuasive and interesting. I wonder if teachers would feel reduced under this system to cheerleaders for learning rather than authoritative dispensers of the curriculum? Or would they enjoy a more varied, anarchic learning environment, where students think and research outside the box and traditional ideas about pace and staging of learning are overturned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars on message totally, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why School?: How Education Must Change When Learning and Information Are Everywhere (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This (online kindle) book is a direct, totally relevant, Internet-era view from educator and parent view of the crossroads public education is at. Will states the options open to us. However the choice between training the creativity out of children to prepare them for lives as foot soldiers of a system convenient to the privileged few and facilitating the flourishing of each individuals talents and creativity is not a new choice and it is no more relevant in the age of the Internet than it has been since public education was invented. Will clearly shows that the Internet era however provides so much opportunity for educating independent of the control of teachers in the system that we could all just get on with it. He astutely draws our attention to the competitive nature of our current mainstream system and the way that competitiveness keeps people hooked in, afraid to miss out. Gripping stuff, well written so you don't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why School?: How Education Must Change When Learning and Information Are Everywhere (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
It all makes perfect sense! A book everybody should read about the future of education and the way forward for schools
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of food for thought..., 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why School?: How Education Must Change When Learning and Information Are Everywhere (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
...this would help with a study (for example a master's, or even teacher training) but it poses more questions than it answers. An America book which is also relevant in English education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why School?: How Education Must Change When Learning and Information Are Everywhere (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This interesting short book discusses how educators and school managers could begin to harness the new digital technology. Will Richardson starts from the experience that young people now have of community learning in order to solve gaming problems and makes a claim for extending this to other aspects of education. He is right to say that the current education system is out of date and no longer meets the needs of society or responds to the way in which we obtain education. This, though, is only an introduction to the topic and builds on the work done by other digital sociologists, educators and linguistics. As a brief introduction to the topic, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This resonates with my own thinking over the past few years, 13 Aug 2013
By 
Ann Hall (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why School?: How Education Must Change When Learning and Information Are Everywhere (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Will Richardson has clarified the challenges facing schools and educators in the 21st century. No longer can we teach to the test and say our kids have been educated. To prepare them for the future we need to turn them into lifelong learners. Here we are shown a glimpse of how we might make changes in the way we approach school and teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adapting education for the modern world, 28 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Why School?: How Education Must Change When Learning and Information Are Everywhere (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The thrust of the books argument is that in an age of information abundance learning for tests is no longer relevant. We should focus on how to build the skills of learning in a less structured more discovery oriented way.

I do have one concern about the idea that we should abandon all learning of facts. Information might be always out there, but unless you know what it is, you dont know when it will be relevant, and when two disciplines could be synthesised. There's also the problem of knowledge becoming homogenised when online is the only resource. I'd recclnebd nicholas carr's the shallows alongside this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teachers - please read, 3 April 2013
This review is from: Why School?: How Education Must Change When Learning and Information Are Everywhere (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Message to all of us in education - wake up before we become irrelevant to our students - they can see the future - why can't our 'leaders'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews