Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2014
This (online kindle) book is a direct, totally relevant, Internet-era view from educator and parent view of the crossroads public education is at. Will states the options open to us. However the choice between training the creativity out of children to prepare them for lives as foot soldiers of a system convenient to the privileged few and facilitating the flourishing of each individuals talents and creativity is not a new choice and it is no more relevant in the age of the Internet than it has been since public education was invented. Will clearly shows that the Internet era however provides so much opportunity for educating independent of the control of teachers in the system that we could all just get on with it. He astutely draws our attention to the competitive nature of our current mainstream system and the way that competitiveness keeps people hooked in, afraid to miss out. Gripping stuff, well written so you don't want to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Readable. Richardson argues that with abundant information and educational resources instantly available schools should focus on inspiring a learning, problem solving, self directed mentality and spend less time drilling a prescribed curriculum. The book criticises over testing and one size fits all approaches and champions creativity, sharing and collaboration and personal interest projects. Much of the argument is persuasive and interesting. I wonder if teachers would feel reduced under this system to cheerleaders for learning rather than authoritative dispensers of the curriculum? Or would they enjoy a more varied, anarchic learning environment, where students think and research outside the box and traditional ideas about pace and staging of learning are overturned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
This interesting short book discusses how educators and school managers could begin to harness the new digital technology. Will Richardson starts from the experience that young people now have of community learning in order to solve gaming problems and makes a claim for extending this to other aspects of education. He is right to say that the current education system is out of date and no longer meets the needs of society or responds to the way in which we obtain education. This, though, is only an introduction to the topic and builds on the work done by other digital sociologists, educators and linguistics. As a brief introduction to the topic, I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
...this would help with a study (for example a master's, or even teacher training) but it poses more questions than it answers. An America book which is also relevant in English education.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
The thrust of the books argument is that in an age of information abundance learning for tests is no longer relevant. We should focus on how to build the skills of learning in a less structured more discovery oriented way.

I do have one concern about the idea that we should abandon all learning of facts. Information might be always out there, but unless you know what it is, you dont know when it will be relevant, and when two disciplines could be synthesised. There's also the problem of knowledge becoming homogenised when online is the only resource. I'd recclnebd nicholas carr's the shallows alongside this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
This is a book every teacher and every parent needs to read, and then discuss it at Parent Meetings... Our schools need to move from the 19th century into the 21st century! Will Richardson is spot on with this very timely book. But the truth is teachers are more secure in the past than the present and future. I am a former teacher who has tried different approaches with success and criticism... But we cannot afford to give up!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Will Richardson has clarified the challenges facing schools and educators in the 21st century. No longer can we teach to the test and say our kids have been educated. To prepare them for the future we need to turn them into lifelong learners. Here we are shown a glimpse of how we might make changes in the way we approach school and teaching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
this is an interesting book written in an easily accessible style. It is for anyone who has doubts or disquiet about our current educational system and who needs to clarify their thoughts and sharpen their criticisms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Has many good points regarding the future of education and how we need to be preparing our kids for their world and not the world which we were schooled for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Item arrived on time and in an excellent condition. I am pleased with the service of this Seller and I will use again in the future. Many Thanks !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)