Customer Reviews


347 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Having just finished reading this book I thought I would write a review on it and I must say I really enjoyed it. It was a very easy read, once I got into it I finished it in a day. The chapter sizes are small which I liked, so if I had to put it down to go and do something I didn't have to stop in the middle of a chapter. I won't tell you about the story as I don't...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't make it very far.
I couldn't even finish the first chapter, so I have no idea whether the storyline was interesting or believable. The grammar, spelling and writing style were bad enough for me to give up almost immediately; not because I thought I wouldn't enjoy the story, but because I would almost certainly have broken several teeth gnashing them at the writing. The sentences didn't...
Published 7 months ago by Looby Loo

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't make it very far., 4 Oct. 2014
By 
Looby Loo (Land of the Angles) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Evidence (Patrick McLaughlin Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't even finish the first chapter, so I have no idea whether the storyline was interesting or believable. The grammar, spelling and writing style were bad enough for me to give up almost immediately; not because I thought I wouldn't enjoy the story, but because I would almost certainly have broken several teeth gnashing them at the writing. The sentences didn't flow, the punctuation was random, even in such a short extract, and the style was very childish.

"... like Liam Gallagher's from Oasis, but shorter and glasses." Shorter and glasses? Commas exist for a reason.
"He looked at Rebecca with a mysterious stranger manner." This was when I gave up, not even 2 pages into the book.

I freely admit that I'm a bit of a pedant when it comes to the written language. I like proper grammar and spelling. I like sentences to flow easily. Reading should be a pleasure, not a chore. If the storyline is good, as some reviewers seem to think, maybe using a proofreader/editor would rescue any future books from the mediocrity this one sadly displays. I'm afraid Ms Clapperton doesn't seem to understand sentence construction. No matter how good a story is, you need to tell it well.

PS - I see that the second book in the series has received better reviews, so maybe Emma learnt something from the criticisms of this book. I shan't be spending the money to find out though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 16 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Beyond Evidence (Paperback)
Having just finished reading this book I thought I would write a review on it and I must say I really enjoyed it. It was a very easy read, once I got into it I finished it in a day. The chapter sizes are small which I liked, so if I had to put it down to go and do something I didn't have to stop in the middle of a chapter. I won't tell you about the story as I don't want to ruin it for anyone, but having lived in Glasgow my whole life I think she done a really good job in describing the scenery and the different places in and around the town center, I could really imagine myself there with Patrick but I suppose that comes with knowing the area she was writing about.

The reason I have only given this four stars and not five is because of the errors, some of the sentences don't flow very well together and there are a few words added in that really shouldn't be there but this is all down to the editing process and I know she published this herself but hey who am I to talk my spelling and stuff is horrible and I could never write a novel. Another reason for the lack of star is that I think the very last chapter was unnecessary and did not add anything to the story, it would have been much better if she had stopped the novel on the previous chapter, that made for a much better ending.

Anyway for a first novel I think she done a brilliant job and having met her in my local library, I can say she is a really nice girl and she even signed my book, So thank you for that Emma and i am really looking forward to reading her next novel and finding out more about Patrick and Jodie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Evidence (Patrick McLaughlin Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Absolute rubbish. Poorly written, poor punctuation poor spelling and poor grammar. It's written in the style of a school essay. A bit of research would have helped, brothers have very similar DNA. Even the most incompetent police forces would have picked up on that. I know it's a freebie but don't waste your time reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DIRE, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Evidence (Patrick McLaughlin Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What can I say? It's unbelievable, illogical, meandering. The police don't do all the things they should for a murder enquiry. It's badly written with quite a few spelling mistakes. There is nothing at all to recommend this book - even for free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining in parts and the psychic/medium ideas are quite well worked., 19 July 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Evidence (Patrick McLaughlin Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The basic idea behind the plot is nothing new but quite intriguing and a subject I enjoy in fiction; psychics/mediums. Place those themes into an ongoing police investigation into multiple murders and that's enough to draw most readers in.

Key character 'Patrick McLaughlin' is a believable medium and his dark dream scenes are quite good, reasonably well evoked.

The Glasgow setting works well and Emma Clapperton helps her novel along by placing 'Beyond Evidence' in a setting she's obviously familiar with. Adds some realism.

As the plot moves along the murders crank up and Patrick McLaughlin becomes more and more embroiled with the police investigation to the point his sanity is threatened and he might have some dark, terrible decisions to make....or maybe lose his life?.

Although I enjoyed the idea of the plot there were more than a few basic mistakes; especially where the police investigation was concerned. If you're prepared to suspend a lot of belief and take this novel at face value then you're probably going to enjoy it. Parts of it are certainly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who proof read this?, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Evidence (Patrick McLaughlin Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Whilst the story was interesting, I think there were parts where plot could have been developed much more.
What annoyed me to the point of distraction were the numerous errors which should have been picked up before publication (ie missing or unnecessary punctuation Patricks and coffee's and and use of homophones: too and to).
It may be a free book but surely standards should be maintained, especially as the English language is being so corrupted through texting and on social media sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BOTHER!, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Evidence (Patrick McLaughlin Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is by far the worst book I have ever read, full of grammatical and spelling errors including the rodent apostrophe! The story was unconvincing and tedious. A 5 year old could have written it better. I persisted hoping that it would improve, but instead it got irritatingly worse .. I ended up discarding it. Even giving this a one star is too generous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was shocked by the bad grammar, lack of punctuation, 26 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Evidence (Patrick McLaughlin Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was shocked by the bad grammar, lack of punctuation, repetitions and predictable plot. I made an effort to read it but I gave up half way through to read better written and more interesting books. Very poor language, sorry Emma but i would not recommend that you pursue a career as a writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hopeless, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Evidence (Patrick McLaughlin Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I Only gave a star because I had to! Silly plot. Badly written. Grammar and spelling mistakes that are so distracting you want to hurl the book at the wall - and I would have if it had been a paper book, not on my iPad!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Promising story - but spoiled for me., 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Evidence (Patrick McLaughlin Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really wanted to like this book! The storyline was pretty good and there are some interesting characters ( or they could be if the author had fleshed them out a but more) BUT - I'm afraid that the whole book (and yes I did persevere to the end) was almost completely ruined by errors that would have been so easy to correct.

The spelling was lazy, for example interchanging 'to' and 'too', and also 'bare' and 'bear' and he punctuation was variable, does no-one use commas any more? I could have forgiven these faults if only the style and sentence construction had been better. The way it was written, it might almost have been written in a different language and then run through Google translate. The author really should try reading out loud what she has written, I would hope that then she would appreciate how strange and stilted it sounds.

There are then the gigantic holes in the plot regarding police procedure, unfortunately too little research has been done on this subject and also DNA (the similarities betweeen brothers would have been immediately flagged up.

This book, to me, demonstrates the downside of self publishing, if this book had been put out through a professional publisher, the silly errors would have been corrected by a decent editor in a matter of a few hours, and the plot anomalies would also have been raised allowing them to corrected as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Evidence (Patrick McLaughlin Book 1)
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Henderson Manor (Patrick McLaughlin Book 2)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (61)   
Buy new£1.99
Available for download now

Silent as the Grave (Eden House Mysteries Book 1)
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (169)   
Buy new£1.99
Available for download now

Dirty Fire: A Thriller
Dirty Fire: A Thriller by Earl Merkel
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (113)   
Buy new£1.99
Available for download now