Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Victorian City: Everyday Life in Dickens' London
Having looked at the Victorian house, Victorian crime and Victorian leisure in previous books, the author now turns her attention to the Victorian city. In particular, London during the time of Dickens', using his journalism and novels to illustrate her own book. Judith Flanders makes an important point that today the word 'Dickensian' often refers to squalor - such as...
Published 23 months ago by S Riaz

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
It's an interesting read, tries to convey the hustle and bustle of victorian London. Very well researched, but does lack in some colour.
Published 10 months ago by Shaun A Eggleston


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars History at its best., 3 April 2014
By 
Julie Vanberkel (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian City: Everyday Life in Dickens' London (Kindle Edition)
When i lived in Tunbridge Wells, you used to be able to pay a small fee to spend: A day at the Wells.
This was literally a walk back in time to the Victorian era, where they had created a mini town, with all
the authentic sights and smells that would have been evocative of that era as you passed by on your
day to day errands. Sadly it it no longer open, although i managed to go on many occasions because
I really felt transported in time for that short while.
This is pretty much how I have felt reading this book. Some parts of it, I admit, I haven't enjoyed so much.
But, mostly it has been a joy to read, and very informative, as well as easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An absorbing read, 31 Mar 2014
By 
M. G. Moyes "MM" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian City: Everyday Life in Dickens' London (Kindle Edition)
So much is written about the lives of monarchy, aristocrats and politicians, and so little about ordinary folk.
This book does a splendid job in redressing the balance. It is impressively researched, bordering on a thesis.
I would have preferred to to be a little less long winded on a few topics, and to cover more aspects of life in Victorian London but that is a minor point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Victorian Life, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book whilst attending a course on Charles Dickens, it proved to be useful and is still referred to at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian City: Everyday Life in Dickens' London (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful book concerning Victorian London. It is full of interesting and very informative facts and history, of this great city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian City: Everyday Life in Dickens' London (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. Theonly reason I've put I love it is due to my kindle being old and not good with pictures. I think maybe it's a book worth buying in print form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian City: Everyday Life in Dickens' London (Kindle Edition)
ace good book what more can I say but down load it and see for your self, quite interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent chronicle, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Bookish (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A highly enjoyable and enlightening book. A very readable account of ordinary life in London in Victorian times, written in an engaging style. If you walk around London as a matter of course, as I do and have done for decades, you will look at the streets and buildings in a new light as your thoughts go back to the people who lived and worked in these very places almost 200 before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for kindle a while ago and throuroughly facsinating read.To be re read and dipped into for some time- Well written,engaging - have since bought 2 more copies in book form for Christmas and Birthday gifts . Not only for Dickens fans. This is just hugely informative and absorbing story about the development of London and is terrific! Well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars informative, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian City: Everyday Life in Dickens' London (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book it's an easy read but informative and made me want to read Dickens again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars history, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian City: Everyday Life in Dickens' London (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly written. good historical content. interesting read, especially in the way London and the suburbs developed. yYou can immerse yourself into scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews