Customer Reviews


1,615 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,116)
4 star:
 (283)
3 star:
 (105)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE NEEDS OF THE MANY...
In order to appreciate this film, one must be familiar with the original series as well as the film series. To talk about the plot is pointless, other than to say Khan is back. Benedict Cumberbatch is a rather boring Khan who lacks the exotic look and class of Ricardo Montalban. Fortunately the cast of regulars can carry the film.

The film also introduces Carol...
Published 21 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
161 of 189 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive...
Published 18 months ago by Vincent Perkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Into Darkness - Spoilers, 7 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
My personal opinion is that Star Trek (2009) is the best of the series, this film comes a close second.

A lot of people have bashed this film, however there are a few reasons for the alleged 'issues':

1) There are 73 chryotubes, what are the chances that they opened the same one in this film as Star Trek: Space Seed? - the villain gives the name Khan, however the only person who refers to him is future Spock and he does not actually know he is Khan Noonian Singh as he could easily be someone else with the same first name.
2) Admiral Marcus revives Khan as he is savage, 23rd century people have become soft due to the peaceful exploration of space so they need someone that can compete with the dangerous Klingons.

Sadly Sulu and Checkov are barely seen, Scotty is hardly in it and McCoy does not have a big part - Kirk & Spock are the main characters with Uhura, the film is still very good but hopefully the next one will have a more balanced cast like the first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The first film was excellent, this is superb! Great storyline and awesome special effects. Lets there are a lot more films.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ' 'KHAN' HAS HIS OWN ADGENDA', 3 Sept. 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this the second instalment of 'Star-Trek's exciting 'prequel's to the
iconic and much admired series of yester-year.
after breaking 'Federation' guide-lines in an effort to save friend, 2nd
command 'Spock' ..'Kirk' looses his position as captain of the 'Enterprise'
after a unprovoked attack on earth's federation H.Q and the death of 'Kirk's'
friend and Commander 'Christopher Pike' circumstances have changed, the
ruthless 'John Harrison' known as 'Khan' has declared a one-man war on 'Earth'
and the 'Federation'
'Kirk' is re-installed as the captain of the 'Enterprise' along with his trusted
team, their mission ---kill 'Khan' .....however because 'Khan' has chosen a
'Klingon' planet in which to hide, use of weapons there could trigger a war with
the 'Klingon' empire.
things are not as cut and dry as they appear however........the adventure begins.
again, sympathetic and credible attention has again been afforded to the original
character's that many of us remember well, this is an action-packed thrill-ride,
with dazzling special effects on board.......this is again a must for 'Trekkie'
fans both old and new,
( superb on both B/R 3-D and Blu-Ray disc )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just one for the hardcore fans..., 23 Dec. 2013
By 
Patrick Byrne "patvegas1" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not being a trekkie, although I do admit to watching Star Trek when I was a teenager, JJ Abrams versions of the long running franchise are very refreshing. An element of comedy, action and drama keeps these films going at a pleasing pace and they never feel too long.

Into Darkness is the second film and stands up alongside the first. The visuals are pleasing to the eye and CGI is faultless as you'd expect from a blockbuster these days.

The relationship between Spock, Kirk and Uhura develops further in this film, but the one standout element for me is Benedict Cumberbatch's version of Khan. Extremely menacing and a quiet psychosis along with a general badassness elevate his character above the others. Then again, the bad guys in all great films always standout!

For me these recent Star Trek releases standup as their own films. You don't need to be a hardcore fan to enjoy them, just maybe a little familiar with the main characters. Not really knowing much about the original Khan personally didn't spoil the film for me.

At least its better than Prometheus ay?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must-see" for Sci-Fi lovers and all Trekkies., 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a fan of "Star Trek" since if first appeared on TV.Having grown-up with all the characters from Captain Kirk,
the first of the prequels proved to be exciting and well thought out, and explained how the characters met when they were younger, and behaved when they were adults.
The second of the prequels is even more exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Watch 5***** Great Film!, 30 Dec. 2013
I thought the last Star Trek movie was good for the continuation of stories from the orignal series but this is even better. Tells the story of Khan before he was stranded on the desolate planet in the Wrath of Khan. Acting good, characters like the original cast in looks (apart from Scottie and Chekov). Full of adventure and simply much, much better than other movies in the fantasy/scifi mould (Avengers, Thor, Iron man etc). Oh and Mr Cumberbund is one of the best British actors at the moment....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
Ms. Sj Phelps "sweetiepie1" (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having really enjoyed the first film in this series I was really excited for Into Darkness especially as it was staring Benedict Cumberbatch who I love. Along with Chris Pine, Karl Urban and Zachery Quinto - how much eye candy can you cram into one film! I thought this film was great - very entertaining and with a great villain - something the first film lacked for me. Having been raised on Star Trek I love all the little nods and in jokes to the original series. My favorite thing about the franchise definitely has to be the friendship between Kirk, Spoke and Bones - it's great to watch. Zachery Quinto plays a great portrayal of Spock.

I didn't overly mind that the film is based on Khan, but I can understand how some people would have an issue with it. The first film so cleverly re-wrote the shows history and gave Abrams the opportunity to do whatever he wanted story wise so it was a little bit surprising to see he had embarked on somewhat of a `re-make.' I certainly hope that this is a one off and he does not continue to re-tell storylines in future films as that I would take an issue with.

But all in all a very good film. Great action sequences and great CGI - even if you're not a Treekie this is still an enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful sequel to a wonderful fim. Great to see Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto back, especially with Benedict Cumberbatch as well. Terrific actors at their best.
Solid plot with plenty of action and the odd laugh thrown in as well. Absolutely loved it!
Very fast delivery, fair price, would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Lovely case featuring the best Trek baddie in ..., 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant. Lovely case featuring the best Trek baddie in ages.

The film is excellent, Cumberbatch is enthralling for every second he is on screen. Pity the story didn't quite match his performance or presence. But that is just a long time Trek fans point of view. As a trekkie I could pick the script to bits but if you put certain issues to the side and look at the film on its own merits. It kicks a**. As does its baddie. No harm to the bad guy in the first film but he was instantly forgettable. I even loved Scotty in this film, though his side kick irritates the hell out of me. Pegg's Scotty was a bit more rounded in this film and as a result way more likeable and entertaining. Spock continues to be my favourite, no harm to Chris Pine but Quinto is awesome. Cant tell you how many times I have re watched this film and I love it a little bit more each time.

Still pissed at Paramount and Bad Robot for the fan bating re the extras. If you want them all you have to buy multiple copies. Target, Sainsbury's, etc…each have their own extra content. Or buy the new box set of the two reboot films. Which still does not contain all the deleted content. So this film's multiple format release is an exercise in how to screw over your fans. No doubt there will be a third issue box set when the third film comes out.

That being said of all the options to buy this one for me was the best. Why - It looks awesome, has a digital download and it puts Cumberbatch's Kahn front and centre. As it should be because he stole every scene he was in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Stark Trek Movies of All Time!, 21 July 2014
I'm a long time Star Trek Fan and can recall exactly where I was when I saw Mr. Spock on the TV screen for the first time. I was 18 years old and I could not believe there was such a cool science fiction TV show on TV. Of course, I've watched all the movies as they came to the big screen and this one - "Star Trek into Darkness" was one of my favorite Star Trek movies of all time.

The action is fast paced, there is a character from old, Kirk does what he does best and Spock, well he is just "Spock" and that says it all. This one will surely not disappoint a true Star Trek fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews