Customer Reviews


1,619 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,119)
4 star:
 (283)
3 star:
 (106)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE NEEDS OF THE MANY...
In order to appreciate this film, one must be familiar with the original series as well as the film series. To talk about the plot is pointless, other than to say Khan is back. Benedict Cumberbatch is a rather boring Khan who lacks the exotic look and class of Ricardo Montalban. Fortunately the cast of regulars can carry the film.

The film also introduces Carol...
Published 21 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
162 of 190 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive...
Published 18 months ago by Vincent Perkins


‹ Previous | 1 2162 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE NEEDS OF THE MANY..., 18 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
In order to appreciate this film, one must be familiar with the original series as well as the film series. To talk about the plot is pointless, other than to say Khan is back. Benedict Cumberbatch is a rather boring Khan who lacks the exotic look and class of Ricardo Montalban. Fortunately the cast of regulars can carry the film.

The film also introduces Carol Marcus (Alice Eve). In the original film version Carol Marcus was an early conquest of Kirk (Chris Pine). She would have his child, a son who was ultimately killed by Klingons. If you have never seen the Khan film, then this film will be meaningless and the genius and enjoyment hindered.

Another aspect of the early series is that it was reflective of the era with Klingons representing Russia and Romulans being China. That symbolism is meaningless today, so our writers cleverly use the aspect of terrorism as a way to maintain the original flavor of the series. Likewise the character of James Kirk, who did things on hunches and "out of the box" is maintained in this film, perhaps the only real reason we tolerated Shatner in that role in the first place.

Dialogue is recycled. Zachary Quinto captures Spock. The role of Uhura has been expanded and Zoe Saldana kicks a lot of women to the curb. Bones (Karl Urban) still throws out the metaphors. Simon Pegg still needs to work on Scotty. John Cho is working hard to fill the big shoes of Sulu, whose stardom has multiplied as an Amazon reviewer. There is mention of Nurse Christine Chapel from the original TV and film series which didn't fit into the plot, perhaps a clue to the next script, or maybe I missed something. Perhaps some nice Trekkie could toss me a bone on this one in the comments section and I can edit this review.

Be warned, there is zero character introduction. If you don't know who these characters are, the film will just be a special effects meh. The picture has its light moments, but I thought could use some more. Hopefully the next film we can re-introduce Harry Mudd a Star Trek favorite who made two episode appearances.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. A man wakes up in bed with two women. Alice Eve bra/panties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Movie on Blu ray, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The picture and sound quality on the blu ray is terrific. The only draw back I had is that for some stupid reason, Paramount home entertainment only decided to place the audio commentary on digital download version of the movie. I find when a movie includes an audio commentary to be a huge bonus. I don't know why they did this, maybe to encourage people to abandon physical copies of movies for digital copies? Stupid idea anyway. Other than that. Good movie, on a brilliantly rendered Blu ray disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel, 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Pete N (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Maybe it's the addition of Cumberbatch, but this film is chillingly good. I know the title suggests it, but the whole feel of this film is darker than the original series or TNG. All is not well in the future, and this film oozes expectation that they'll be more to come in the franchise. If you're undecided, it's worth the gamble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy addition to the Star Trek catalogue, 5 Feb. 2015
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'd put off watching this for some time as I'd heard that it wasn't very good. However I'm happy to report that actually it's not at bad at all. The film does start to sag a little about two thirds of the way through, though not to the extent I wanted to switch off. The end of the film - the closing titles - is a nice tribute to the original TV series (bring it back, again, maybe?)

Chris Pine does a good Captain Kirk, and Zoe Saldana is great as Uhura. Karl Urban's McCoy ain't bad either. I'm not so sure about Zachary Quinto as Spock, or even Simon Pegg's Scotty - I can't fault their efforts, they just seem to me to be a little bit miscast.

If you're a fan of Star trek "Into Darkness" is definitely worth a watch. If you're not, well then it's probably not going to win you over (unlike the last Star Trek [DVD] - which did get the series some new fans).

3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
We have had to wait along time but the wait was worth it. This exciting new instalment I the Star Trek franchise continues in the alternate time line established in the first of the new movies. Cumberbatch is an excellent villain and turns an old enemy into a slightly cleverer incarnation leaving you no qualms about how things have changed. This is classic Trek and a must for every collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 190 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity, 1 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive bonuse disk with another 35mins of extras
The Voyage Begins... Again
Rebuilding the Enterprise
Vengeance is Coming
Me. Spock and Mr. Spock
Kirk and Spock
Visual Affection
..........
Tesco Blinkbox Online service gets 20mins extras which I think are
Down With the Ship
NIF: Home of the Core
Safety First
Unlocking the Cut
The Sound of Music and FX
Aliens Encountered
( [...] )
................
iTunes gets the audio commentary
Plus this version is the full IMAX scenes (ie no black bars in certain shots)
(which if you have the blu ray you can actually claim for free with the digital copy code, just claim it on itunes)
............
This is all a bad joke. But then there more if you want the special case like a metal one or one that comes with a ship then you can only get that from Play.com and even at £50 it still dosent come with the special features. So annoying as a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly entertaining sci-fi adventure., 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
So i'm no Star Trek purist, grew up with Picard rather than Kirk so although i've seen the original series and movies and understand the references I greatly appreciate the modern take of these last two moviies.

Star Trek Into Darkness is the follow up to J.J. Abrams Star Trek (2009) reboot. In London in a secret underground Star Fleet archive an explosion rocks the city killing innocent people, not long after that Star Trek headquarters itself is attacked, both incidents can be tracked down to one rogue Star Fleet agent. With friends of Kirk dead the enterprise heads off on a mission to track the man down but not all is as it seems.

I rather enjoyed the story, it has fairly good pacing throughout, at no point was I bored by events going on. The cast once again step into their previous iconic roles with Karl Urban and Zachery Quinto as Bones and Spock especially standing out though Benedict Cumberbatch's performance as the main villain simply stole the movie for me, what an actor, he was genuinely menacing. I'm not personally sold on Chris Pine as Kirk though, he's great during the action but his performance is a little over shadowed by the other actors in other places. Doesn't harm the experience however.

The special effects are truly outstanding on my TV, the seamless integration of them into the film creates a level of believability, keeping the immersion. One of the better looking blu-rays image quality wise i've seen.

The only downside with the film is the lack of extras on the disc, essentially just half a dozen making of videos for certain scenes in the film that only run collectively for maybe 35-40 minutes. The film was so good however it didn't bother me much but should be noted for others who enjoy the extra features.

+ Fantastic pacing.
+ Some excellent performances.
+ Benedict Cumberbatch.
+ Fantastic special effects.

- Blu-Ray extras are lacking for such a big budget film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are the voyages..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I loved the original series and upgraded to blu-ray with all the 3 series, I then purchased the latest star trek film and loved it, I then got this film and was blown away. The film has a great story and harks back to the original series with some great one liners and the ending is awesome. I got this cheap and it was well worth it, what can they do next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars blu-ray disappointment, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
D. J. Constable (sussex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just to be clear from the start; I love this film. I've been a fan of Star Trek since the original series came to the UK in the late sixties and greatly enjoyed the recent JJ Abrams reboot and this its sequel. I was very much looking forward to the Blu-ray release as I assumed that it would be similar in format to the previous film.
What a disappointment! The actual film looks great and I enjoyed it in 2D at home much more than the eye straining 3D version I saw at the cinema. However, there is a distinct lack of special features, just a handful of behind the scenes shorts -no trailers, no deleted scenes, and, worst of all, no commentary. As for the Digital Copy, what you actually get is a code for a download from Itunes. This does give you access to the excellent commentary, but you can only watch it on your computer etc. and not on your tv. This should have been on the blu-ray disc.
So only 3 stars for this release, even though I would give the film itself 5 stars! Once again, we miss out on the best features on a UK release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb film and a fantastic follow up to the first instalment, special effects are a marvel and the characters have matured since the first film, I only hope that more get made with this cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2162 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
£7.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews