Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solves a genuine shortcoming
The Apotop DW09 is practically a pocket cloud/router that uses allows downloading, copying and streaming media files to the iPad. The free downloadable app does well at allowing the user to browse, launch and copy content from an attached USB flash drive or an SDHC/SDXC.

Although the packaging does not mention it, the DW09 can use SMB/CIFS as a networking...
Published 19 months ago by A. P. Johnson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars For computer techies only
Beware - unless you;re a computer geek, set-up will probably defeat you, as it did me and three other clued-up computer and smart phone users I roped in to help. I had no trouble with installation of any of my multiple Mac programs, iPhone apps and Android apps but this one was plain impossible. On top of which the instructions are diffuse - and there's no technical help...
Published 5 months ago by Bibliopede


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solves a genuine shortcoming, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
A. P. Johnson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apotop Wireless Card Reader for iPhone and iPad (Personal Computers)
The Apotop DW09 is practically a pocket cloud/router that uses allows downloading, copying and streaming media files to the iPad. The free downloadable app does well at allowing the user to browse, launch and copy content from an attached USB flash drive or an SDHC/SDXC.

Although the packaging does not mention it, the DW09 can use SMB/CIFS as a networking protocol, so access is easy on a PC or Mac as it can be mounted as a SMB share using 'Connect to Server' in Windows Explorer or OS X 's Finder respectively . This can be enabled in the built-in web administration tool. I have used the DW09 successfully in OS X 10.8, FreeBSD and Linux as well as iOS 6. It uses HTTP/FTP by default and can easily be reached from a web browser by typing in the address box the IP address of the DW09 router.

Technical Note: External hard disc drives can work but not very well, since they rapidly degrade battery life. The Apotop literature on the website discourages this anyway. BUT, if the DW09 is powered by a USB mains charger external USB hard disc drives work just fine. My USB flash drives and SDHC/SDXC cards work without complaint.

Another thing to note is that the SD card and USB flash drive will not work when plugged in simultaneously. Only one volume will mount at a time. Ending on this particular note, the file system format of flash drives and SD cards must be FAT/FAT16/FAT32/EXFAT or NTFS.
Mac OS X's HFS+, FreeBSD's UFS2 and Linux's ext2/3/4 or ReiserFS will not mount.

The battery yield is not great ( 3 hours) ,but portable charging devices can remedy this limitation.

Overall and for the price, the Apotop DW09 wireless reader and access point is a hugely useful tool for iPad users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a good device but software & instructions could be better, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apotop Wireless Card Reader for iPhone and iPad (Personal Computers)
I bought this to try to back up my digital pictures better and to back up pictures taken on my iPad mini onto SD cards or a USB stick. It is relatively simple to use but the instructions are relatively useless and I'd recommend you throw them away and just spend half an hour playing with it. Once you hook in to its wifi signal you can upload or download pictures and files from your iPad to an SD card or USB storage device. However it doesn't work with micro SD cards, or the cards used with Olympus cameras (a bit cheap and lacking in design) so you will have to buy yet another SD card reader/adapter to slide into the USB port to download or upload to those formats. They don't supply a three pin plug fitting either so you won't be able to use it out of the box unless you use your iPad chargers plug fitting (again a bit mean).

This is a well packaged and useable device that does what it's designed to do but a little more time could have gone into its design to overcome some of the technical flaws. For the price though its a good useable way of backing up things from your iPad or iPhone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic little gadget., 4 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Apotop Wireless Card Reader for iPhone and iPad (Personal Computers)
While this device is designed for use with the iPhone and iPad it is not restricted to just them. I have mine working with my iPhone and also my BlackBerry PlayBook.

For the iPhone all you need is the app (free download) and away it goes. It reads and writes sd cards and memory sticks. I even have mine reading and writing to an external usb hard drive, with it's own power supply.

There is no dedicated app for the PlayBook so I set up ftp in ES File Explorer, which is an android app I side loaded, and use that. The result is that I can access everything that my iPhone can on my PlayBook.

I tried connecting the Wi-Reader, by cable, to my home network to test it's router capabilities and my experience is that it works exactly as claimed by the manufacturer.

The apotop Wi-Reader is small enough to fit in a pocket so can be taken anywhere. The build quality is good and the battery lasts about three hours between charges. All in all, a great little gadget that I'm really happy with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handy gadget, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apotop Wireless Card Reader for iPhone and iPad (Personal Computers)
Handy little gadget for loading music,photo,s or video onto Apple Ipad or phone, easy to use and create your own filing system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy way to get photos and videos onto your iPhone, 3 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Apotop Wireless Card Reader for iPhone and iPad (Personal Computers)
Bought as a convenient way to import photos from a memory card onto an iPhone, since the Apple camera card dongle wont work with the iPhone. Yes this unit is quite expensive, but it works and works well.

Charge it up, download the app onto your phone. Follow the simple-ish instructions to configure the device (the card reader generates its own wifi network, which you connect to and transfer photos across) and then off you go. The app is a little clunky, I've yet to really get my teeth deep into it, but I cannot fault the data transfer. Battery life seems good too.

No quite as convenient as carrying around the little Apple card dongle is, but a lot more versatile and gets the thumbs up from me!

Marked down one notch on cost, but is a clever little gadget. £10 cheaper and Id give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reliable, effective and efficient device, 7 Sept. 2014
By 
fernando Wilson L. (Viña del mar, 5 region Chile) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apotop Wireless Card Reader for iPhone and iPad (Personal Computers)
An excellent little piece of hardware. Due to work requeirements, I tend to use myiPad as a notebook computer, and thus own both and IPad Air and a Mini Retina. The lack of an integral USb port has always been THE only drawback I have found on the Apple devices and was an early buyer of several wireless USd and Card readers. My experiences have been mixed, and although the Airstash proved an excellent device, the Sony WGC10 proved a costly dissapointment, and the Adata Elite a mixed result. When I discovered the Apotop on a trip to London, I had doubts, and decided to late to get it so I had to order it from Amazon. Im glad I did as the device is excellent. it does everything it promises, its reliable, solidly built( if perhaps unpretentious, just a white little cube with rounded edges and some ports and LED lights) and highly ergonomical. Its software interfase is simple and useful. It also has several seemingly minor aspects wich become very useful. The large and easily findable On Off button is very helpful by night on planes or buses, while the very fast conecting and file browsing are very welcome. Its ability to work with both the FAT and NTFS file format families is also quite useful, for video streaming, especialy in MP4 and MKV formats is excellent. THe battery duration is supposedly shorter than the Adata, but being this far shorter than advertised, I have to wait and see...all and all, a solid, reliable and well built device
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent versatile product, 7 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. K. W. Jenkins "jenkinsnarnia" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apotop Wireless Card Reader for iPhone and iPad (Personal Computers)
An excellent product.
I use it for three functions
Portable data storage for my Apple products
Wi-Fi repeater
Linking my YouView box to the Internet
This product is very small and can easily fit in your pocket.
An ideal solution for carrying your photo collection around with you which you can then link wirelessly to your Mobile devices
This product is only let down by the app WI-reader App that I use to connect to it which tends to crash. If it wasn't for this I would give it five stars
This app worked until the latest iOS 8 upgrade so hopefully should be fixed soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars For computer techies only, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apotop Wireless Card Reader for iPhone and iPad (Personal Computers)
Beware - unless you;re a computer geek, set-up will probably defeat you, as it did me and three other clued-up computer and smart phone users I roped in to help. I had no trouble with installation of any of my multiple Mac programs, iPhone apps and Android apps but this one was plain impossible. On top of which the instructions are diffuse - and there's no technical help online or by phone to guide you through it. Glad all the computer boffins found it a helpful piece of kit ... but I'm just not as smart as them to get through the front gate...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solves another problem unnecessarily caused by Apple, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
J. V. Owen "j owen" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apotop Wireless Card Reader for iPhone and iPad (Personal Computers)
This works well and is just what I needed to overcome one of the many shortcomings of owning an iPad that result from a lack of compatibility with anything not produced or sold by Apple. The minimal instructions need careful study but there were no problems setting it up. The only issue so far is that if the files are downloaded onto the iPad rather than streamed they are a devil to find and delete, but that it not the fault of the manufacturers of this very useful device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful and surprisingly small., 30 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Apotop Wireless Card Reader for iPhone and iPad (Personal Computers)
Initial trouble with ios8 seems to be resolved and now working fine. Excellent little bit of kit which is so useful family are now fighting over who needs it the most.

Downloaded the app on 3 different IPAD versions, 2 of which are upgraded to ios8 and all woked straight away with now set up concerns. Data transfer and watching of films from USB stick and SD card all really intuitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews