Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great on Windows 8, 64 bit. Playing with Windows 7, 64 bit causes issues but most can be worked-around
Contrary to other reviews, the description states the following:

--------------------------------------
Please note: You are purchasing a code to download the 17 games. You will only receive a card with the code to download Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition. You will not receive a disc.
--------------------------------------

When I...
Published on 28 Oct. 2012 by JimboC

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only half the games work on windows 7
Only half the games work on windows 7
Red alert and red alert 2 don't work
Tiberium sun works but it crashes alot.
Published 12 months ago by Blueriot


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great on Windows 8, 64 bit. Playing with Windows 7, 64 bit causes issues but most can be worked-around, 28 Oct. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code) (Printed Access Code)
Contrary to other reviews, the description states the following:

--------------------------------------
Please note: You are purchasing a code to download the 17 games. You will only receive a card with the code to download Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition. You will not receive a disc.
--------------------------------------

When I bought this from Amazon, I knew what I was getting.
I agree with the review that states that the games are supposed to work on Windows 7, but as was also pointed out, not all do. I am using Windows 8 64 bit and the games that I have played so far work, here's a list:

--------------------------------------
Command & Conquer
Command & Conquer The Covert Operations: Total Size: 1.1 GB
--------------------------------------
Command & Conquer Red Alert
Command & Conquer Red Alert Counterstrike: Total Size: 2.1 GB
Command & Conquer Red Alert The Aftermath
--------------------------------------
Command & Conquer Red Alert 2: Total Size: 1.9 GB
Command & Conquer Red Alert Yuri's Revenge
--------------------------------------
Command & Conquer Renegade: Total Size: 1.4 GB
--------------------------------------

Command & Conquer Tiberian Sun and Command & Conquer Tiberian Sun Firestorm (Total Size: 1.7 GB) don't work on Windows 7 64 bit or Windows 8 64 bit. The only solution that I have found is to play these 2 games using a Windows XP SP3 32 bit virtual machine. I have deducted 1 star for this. Using this approach, these 2 games work perfectly.

The games are quite large and do take time to download but fortunately Origin (the program used to download and launch these games) has a built-in download manager that resumes if the connection is lost. So no matter how slow your connection is, you will eventually download them.

For assistance with these games I would very highly recommend the Official Command and Conquer Forums ( commandandconquer.com/forums/ ) for assistance. There are many dedicated fans willing to help you. We have not yet found a solution to Tiberian Sun / Tiberian Sun Firestorm not working on Windows 7 64 bit or later but the vast majority of other issues have been resolved/worked-around.

The issue with Command & Conquer Tiberian Sun and Tiberian Sun Firestorm is that the game installs and can be launched as normal but clicking on any of the menu options e.g. to start a new game, a new skirmish, online play or to load an existing game resulting in nothing happening. It is as if you never clicked the option (the game doesn't crash for me). There a number of workarounds listed on the forums but none have yet worked for other members or me.

I would also recommend the 1.06c Revision 3 Patch from Nyerguds for Command & Conquer and Command & Conquer The Covert Operations since it fixes some crash bugs and provides a higher resolution that makes these 2 game far easier to play. Nyerguds is a member of the forums mentioned above and is extremely helpful with any issues concerning this patch. I have not experienced any issues using his patch (just don't allow Origin to update this pair of games after installing the patch since the auto-update will undo the improvements of this patch).

My advice is to set the games to download and leave them to do so. I downloaded all of the above games in about 5 hours (the download rate varied from 800 Kbps to 1 Mbps). I will download the rest one by one so as not to use up my monthly download allowance (download cap). The largest games are:

--------------------------------------
Command & Conquer Generals: Total Size: 3.0 GB
Command & Conquer Generals Zero Hour
--------------------------------------
Command & Conquer Red Alert 3: Total Size: 15.1 GB
Command & Conquer Red Alert 3 Uprising
--------------------------------------
Command & Conquer 3 Tiberium Wars: Total Size: 11.1 GB
Command & Conquer 3 Kane's Wrath
--------------------------------------
Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight: Total Size: 5.9 GB
--------------------------------------

They can each range from 6 to 11 GB in size; I have not downloaded them yet for this reason. In total the games come to approximately 43 GB (not bad for 17 games).
One final point is about the Additional Content, which varies by region, since I live in Europe, for me this contains:

--------------------------------------
Wallpapers from some of the games (Red Alert 3 and Command and Conquer Tiberian Wars and Kane's Wrath).
Video trailers of the upcoming Command and Conquer powered by Frostbite and another game, Tiberian Alliances.
--------------------------------------

If you live outside the US, this is what you will get. The music and commemorative art are not part of this package from Amazon.
You can buy the music from the Ultimate Collection separately from Amazon as MP3 files.

For the first list of 8 games above, all worked perfectly on Windows 8 64 bit without any tweaking or changes required. Command & Conquer and Command & Conquer The Covert Operations also worked perfectly on Windows 8, 64 bit but I did install the community patch mentioned above to increase the resolution of the game. This means you can see more of the game on the screen and do not need to scroll as much. The game was created in 1995 when 640x480 was all a screen could display so it's not a fault with the game, screen resolutions have simply increased over the years. The patch works with Windows 8 64 bit without any issues (but do remember to turn off CnCDraw using the patches configuration panel (CCConfig.exe, contained in the installation folder for these 2 games).

Overall I am very pleased with this collection. I did play each game as it became available over the years i.e. from 1995 onwards but it has been a long time since I have played them so am I re-living many happy memories. I would have preferred to receive many DVDs or 1, dual layer Blu Ray disc (50 GB) with all of the games on it but the download method isn't too bad.

EA / Victory Games may provide patches in the future to eliminate the small issues that I have encountered (I have now worked around them) but this is not guaranteed. My advice is to buy this collection, 17 games for £22.17 since it is excellent value. If you encounter any issues, the Command and Conquer forum members (including myself) are happy to help.

-------------------
Update: January 2015: The Command and Conquer forums that I mentioned in my review have been re-designed with none of the previous content available. You can also asking any questions that you may have on either of the following forums:

http://cnc-comm.com/community/index.php

http://forums.cncnz.com/forum/115-the-ultimate-collection-the-first-decade/
-------------------

Thank you.

-------------------
The specification of the computer I have been using to play these games is as follows:

Intel Core i7 2600K @ 3.4 GHz
16 GB DDR 3 Dual Channel RAM
EVGA Geforce GTX 580 SC (x2 in SLI mode)(Nvidia 306.97 WHQL Driver)
Windows 8 Pro, 64 bit

-------------------

Updated July 2014:
Intel Core i7 2600K @ 3.4 GHz
16 GB DDR 3 Dual Channel RAM
1x EVGA Geforce GTX Titan (836 Mhz Base, 876 Mhz Boost)(Nvidia 334.89 WHQL Driver)
Windows 8.1 Pro, 64 bit with Update 1
-------------------

Update 13th July 2014:

I can now confirm that all of the following games also work on Windows 8.1 (with Update 1) in addition to those listed above for Windows 8.0:

Command & Conquer Red Alert 3
Command & Conquer Red Alert 3 Uprising
--------------------------------------
Command & Conquer 3 Tiberium Wars
Command & Conquer 3 Kane's Wrath
--------------------------------------
Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight

No changes were necessary to have any of these games working perfectly. Tiberian Sun and Generals/Generals Zero Hour do not work on Windows 8.0 or Windows 8.1 for me (even when using the suggested workarounds). I play these in a Windows XP SP3 virtual machine (not connected to the internet) using VMware Workstation 10.0.3 instead.

Enabling Windows XP compatibility mode to resolve this has been suggested by commenters to this review (many thanks for your suggestions, they are always welcome :) ). For me this did not work but if it works for you, I'm very pleased and it's an easier alternative to using a virtual machine. From what I can tell the success of compatibility settings can vary from computer to computer, for example more than 1 source (which includes EA Support) suggest enabling Vista compatibility mode to enable Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight to work on Windows 8.0 (or newer). However for me, this was not necessary to have it working perfectly on Windows 8.1 (with Update 1), while others stated it resolved their compatibility issues (I am unsure why this varies from person to person).

I hope the above update is useful, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code) (Printed Access Code)
All games in the Command & Conquer franchise for a low price.
Some added info: you are not simply emailed a code to active on EA's Origin game platform, but sent a very thin DVD style case containing a code. Worth noting is that it is one code to add all the games, so you can't for instance give a code for a specific game you already have to someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only half the games work on windows 7, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code) (Printed Access Code)
Only half the games work on windows 7
Red alert and red alert 2 don't work
Tiberium sun works but it crashes alot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just dont., 24 May 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code) (Printed Access Code)
Seriously, dont buy this.

You would have to be mad, just buy "The First Decade" which gives you a box, 2 DVDs and no need to sign in to Origin.

It's £5.99 too, thats a lot cheaper than I paid. Electronic Arts dont know what they are doing. They ruined a franchise, but thats not the first time they did it. C&C4 showed that.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Command-Conquer-The-First-Decade/dp/B000E543LI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1369356861&sr=8-1&keywords=command+and+conquer+the+first+decade

So buy First Decade from Amazon which is a bargain and dont do all this "Origin login" nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Download code doesnt work, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code) (Printed Access Code)
Try to redeem product code and the website said the code had already been used. Someone has used the code and it aint me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Worth It!, 18 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code) (Printed Access Code)
17 Games at this price is astounding value! Bought a few copies for me and my brothers to play online and we're having a blast! Mostly playing on C&C3 Kane's Wrath but we've also tried C&C4 and that works flawlessly too! Looking forward to trying out the other games!

At first we all wanted to get these on Steam but the ultimate collection isn't available and for the games that are available on Steam, well this Ultimate Edition on Origin represents much better value for money so all in all, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code) (Printed Access Code)
waste of money,i no what i am doing with these things and could only get one game to work.informed the seller who is not interested.its a discrase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read my comment to fix custom maps and multiplayer..., 10 Jan. 2015
By 
D. Keeley "Dannyk90" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code) (Printed Access Code)
For some reason EA have disabled using custom maps by default with this installation o_O ?

To fix custom maps, go to the official forums http://www.commandandconquer.com/forums/index.php/topic/26695-fixed-launchers-for-the-ultimate-collection/?hl=fixed+launchers

For multiplayer you can either use hamachi with friends or join the growing cummunity at http://cnc-online.net/

I'm sure most of these games are on the public domain now anyway. But it is nice to have them all in origin xD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Doesnt work with windows 8.1 and Compatibility issues with windows 7, 8 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code) (Printed Access Code)
Please dont expect this game to work out of the box if your on windows vista or higher.

Contacted EA customer support for help. This was the reply:

This is a follow up response of the chat session that we had today, it was pleasure talking to you.

As discussed with our specialist team.
You are playing the game on Windows 8.1. Yuris Revenge is a 14 year old game. It's not supported by windows 8. please refer AnswersHQ and you would get an answer there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Games themselves are great but the customer services for Origin (EAs online service) ..., 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code) (Printed Access Code)
Games themselves are great but the customer services for Origin (EAs online service) are awful. After waiting for nearly an hour of their online help service I got some idiot that thought the windows fix sorted everything. After my fourth try I finally got through to someone who actually knew what they were talking about. Reading the reviews origin have a reputation for naff customer services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Command and Conquer: The Ultimate Edition (PC Download Code)
£10.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews