Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best interpretations of Beethoven's Sonatas, 3 Dec 2013
By 
M. A. Fraser (Highlands, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Best Complete Piano Sonatas Collection (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
Frankly, some of these bargain budget issues are of questionable recording and performance quality made by little-known musicians in faraway countries. However, this is a rare exception - a critically acclaimed set, and a favourite of many music fans. Beethoven's Piano Sonatas (complete in this edition) is a compelling musical world, a cornerstone of classical music, and who better to guide you than the great maestro Wilhelm Kempff.

I'm one of those vinyl buffs and I'm lucky enough to have the LP box set of this, which I play regularly. Although recorded in the 50s and in mono, it is sounds beautiful and is a delight to listen to on a good hi-fi system. However such a set-up is rather cumbersome for taking on my holidays, so I was delighted to find I could now download this set for just a few quid. Now I have this treasured music with me on my Kindle, and I'm very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Best Complete Piano Sonatas Collection (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
This is a fantastic set. Wilhelm Kempf, perhaps the best German Beethoven interpreter of the 20th Century. It is in mono, but I really do not think that this is an issue with piano music! Pay a few pounds and enjoy all of the sonatas at your leisure: tjhere are so many to discover beyond the famous ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best!, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Best Complete Piano Sonatas Collection (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
Kempff had a special affinity for Beethoven. He was not thunderous but tended to be more gentle and lyrical. This is probably the best set there is, made in the 1950s in good sound, with Kempff's virtuosity and flair at its peak. The paying is just that bit better than on his later set (compare the two 'Moonlights) and the recording matches up. At the price this should be snapped up immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange times - but just download it., 8 Oct 2013
By 
P. Kay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Best Complete Piano Sonatas Collection (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
There's something magical about this version of the cycle, hence a 'Penguin Guide' key recording being awarded to it. Kempff's versions just reaches out to the listener and I feel like I'm discovering these works afresh. Amazing music performed sublimely and the recording quality is pretty darn good too. A real no brainer of a download at this ridiculously low price. Reading the discussions about this ludicrously cheap collection, DG wont be happy but I'm sure it's all legal and I'm sure the last 50 odd years of selling the cycle for 50 has more than paid off their production costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No one could do it better, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Best Complete Piano Sonatas Collection (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
Astonishing value of this renowned artist. Words fail to do justice to a lifetime of providing great music and here we have one of the proofs in these great recordings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 27 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Best Complete Piano Sonatas Collection (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
This mono set of recordings by Kempff is considered by many to be better than his later stereo set. While missing the spacious sound of the stereo set this mono set is very good indeed and remarkable for the price that Amazon are charging. If you don't have a set of the complete sonatas this is a great way to find out why they are among the most important of Beethoven's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kempff's 50s mono version, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Best Complete Piano Sonatas Collection (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
To answer a couple of queries, this, as you can tell from the track lengths, is Kempff's earlier mono set of the complete sonatas, recorded between 1951 and 56. Many rate it even higher than his later stereo version, and no one would dispute that it is one of the classic accounts. Check out the reviews for the CD version. There are of course many versions of the Beethoven sonatas to choose from, and none is definitive, but it is wonderful to have this available so cheaply (at 2.99 it is 10% the current Amazon price for the CDs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Collection, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Best Complete Piano Sonatas Collection (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
Good, honest, scholarly performances by the legendary and distinguished pianist Wilhelm Kempff, with sensible, meaningful tempi throughout. No overblown exuberance, sentimentality or eccentricity, just the music interpreted as I’m sure Beethoven would have wanted.
Although the performances, in my opinion, were probably recorded late 60’s, the sound quality is quite good.
If you like good music and have not previously heard these 32 sonatas then you are in for the treat of your life.
For the small sum asked for, this set is an absolute must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shoster the coster, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Best Complete Piano Sonatas Collection (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
This is a fantastic bargain .Firstly it is very cheap;secondly Kempff plays well and third the sound quality is very good .For each sonata you can find better but here you have high quality playing throughout and for 3.99 you really cannot go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gosh! I'm addicted, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Best Complete Piano Sonatas Collection (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
Never even knew I liked this type of thing. Bought on a bit of whim for some peaceful sounds based on some of the melodies I recognised by name. Can't believe just how much you get in terms of value for money. Just hours and hours and hours of really lovely music. Okay, you won't want it played all day and night every day but for a dinner party, sunday chillax or similar this is great value. I'm sure I'll upset millions of musical purists who are devoted to the finest things in life and will no doubt find it disgusting that I have just managed to turn Beethoven into a Sunday afternoon sofa sound machine...but whatever. Its great, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews