Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£19.55
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2013
having read the previous 4 and 5 stars reviews (three in number at the time of writing) I wonder if the reviewers have actually read this book or whether in fact these reviews have been written to order.
This is one of the worst books I've read (well, I read most of it anyway)I've reached chapter 25 and finally gave up.
If 'leverage' is a word that you would use commonly, then this might be the book for you. Otherwise there are better books about.
The amount of useful information is minimal; it is there but you need to shift through a lot of bloat. For example every time adding a feature or a role is mentioned, the author(s) felt the need to detail every step (nody style) time and time again.
Things like "when you use x feature, resources will be used in addition to the resources required for normal operation"...duh; quotes like this appear more than once.
The book is also badly written and/or badly edited. The result feels like a copy/paste exercise hence not very coherent.
Hopefully this would be of help to some people and my few weeks of having this book as companion would not have gone to waste.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2012
A very detailed publication by subject experts that is well written, some errors evident around the areas of the new file system ReFS which are not accurate but on a whole a very detailed and well written publication.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Quick delivery, item is as described. Very well detailed book. Get this book for a better understanding of Windows server 2012. The authors are great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
very informative, and is full of useful information that is not just for the windows server but, covers all other servers and configuring networks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Great book, set aside about 6 months of your social life to get through the mammoth though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Great read gives you a lot of info, straight to the point
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I got a recommendation from a video for learning windows server 2012 from this book.
many people in the IT world prefer this book.
and im not a big fan of ebooks on small screen when it comes to reading 1600 pages.
i recieved it about week ago and im not disapointed. for now ive learned many new tricks
and its made my life easier.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Good book and reached on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
Good reference book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Bought this on 8th November 2012 after downloading the 180 day evaluation from Microsoft. Initially I somewhat naively assumed the help screens and forums would provide answers to my questions but Server 2012 is so new there wasn't much out there.

It's quite obvious Microsoft are making a serious effort to dominate the data centre with a one size fits all server solution as SBS 2011 will cease in June 2013. Server 2012 is a major change from previous versions and you really do need a decent book to help guide you through the maze of options. On the whole there are lots of step by step guides on how to configure your server the way you want to work and a comprehensive index helps identify the relevant page. The fact that it's been written by a team has prevented the authors going on ego trips by explaining how clever they are which jars on other technical publications. I haven't tested every aspect of their guide as the next version of Windows Server would be released before I finished but the key components are well covered - I haven't had to go anywhere else to get an answer.

So if you're looking for a guide to migrating to Server 2012 then you could do a lot worse than this publication. I now need to roll out Exchange 2010 and I'm quite happy to order the companion book from the same publishing house.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)