Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


212 of 221 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great box set, with great extras, but a few minor niggles.
For most UK fans, the major problem with this box set is of course that it hasn't been released here! Incredibly annoying seeing as it's available across Europe. I bought mine from Holland, and if you were wondering if it's worth it, then read on.

I won't try telling you all how wonderful this show is, about Lynch's influence, the writing, the characters and...
Published on 5 Jan 2009 by Mr Ghostface

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Two Series
OK. A bit about the transfer. Its OK - nothing special - a bit dated. Its pretty decently priced for a 9 disc box set to be honest - so fill your boots!

As for the series - I hadn't seen this for 20 years because of the general unavailability on TV or DVD (until now). I was curious as to whether the series is as good as I remembered it - the answer is Yes and...
Published 15 months ago by Grade A


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Peak of boxed set TV?, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Technical details: I can't fault it. Worth pointing out that the Log Lady intros (which you can skip or play according to taste) seem never to have been digitally restored? But the episodes throughout are absolutely crystal clear.

Creative review: Successive generations have discovered this series for themselves, and will continue to do so. A landmark in television history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time Warp to the Past, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Brad Howes (Prague, Czech Republi) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big Lynch fan and I bought this to revisit the most incredible moment in TV history when Lynch hit the airwaves. The DVDs are nicely done and I was intrigued by the alternate ending. The interviews with Mark Frost were great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most haunting, and mistreated, show in the history of television, 16 Oct 2012
When Twin Peaks aired on television, none could have predicted how the murder of Laura Palmer would move not only the town's citizens, who knew Laura as a generous and good-hearted teenager, but also millions of viewers. Indeed, over thirty episodes, they would discover a community of five thousand citizens who hide, behind closed doors and curtains, dangerous secrets. With the investigation done by the FBI agent Dale Cooper and the Twin Peaks sheriff Harry Truman, they uncover those same secrets and try to answer the one-million dollar question.

Who killed Laura Palmer?

Though the main characters are Agent Dale and Sheriff Truman, Twin Peaks is an ensemble show since each episode narrates a complete day, which includes the lives of Twin Peaks residents, and the Laura Palmer investigation. For each episode, we witness characters' pains and joys of their lives, but we slowly find out that Laura herself was not who she was and that dangerous forces haunt the woods of Twin Peaks. Not only that, we also witness an awesome romance between Audrey Horne and Special Agent Dale Cooper, which gave to its actress Sherilyn Fenn the success she deserved.

As such, the show itself can switch emotions very quickly, going from drama to comedy, then towards pure terror. As such, the show is not your usual drama-investigation-soap opera. Even the music that Angelo Badalamenti did completely differs to what was done in the eighties and today. It haunts your heart as tunes like Falling, Audrey's Dance, Laura's Theme, and the Woods' Theme play in the background.

Though my favorite characters were Dale Cooper, Audrey Horne, Andy, Lucy, Shelly, the Log Lady, and the whole Palmer family, I have to admit that the most unforgettable remains BOB, played by the excellent Frank Silva, set dresser for the pilot and a David Lynch collaborator whose scenes in the show have spooked me for days. Especially the short ones he did in certain episodes.

About the other special Features, I appreciated everything this DVD set offers, although I wish they could have shown the funny Sesame Street parody of Twin Peaks.

As a final note, to everybody interested in Twin Peaks, it is important to know that the show's broadcaster, ABC, horribly mistreated the series. As explained in the making of, ABC was uncomfortable with the show narration and shocking content, especially coming from the director who did Blue Velvet, movie that shocked the public and industry with its sexual and sadomasochistic scenes. But what really unsettled the ABC bosses was the sudden popularity of a show that they had no hope in the first place. So they forced the creators to reveal the murderer's identity in the middle of the second season, which they unfortunately did. This was a foolish idea since it hurt the story's plot device and forced the creators to come up with less-spectacular storylines. As such, the Laura Palmer story goes for seventeen episodes (pilot included) and remains the best of what is in Twin Peaks. Of the last thirteen episodes, they feel to me like a jumble of good ideas that don't hit their full potential. Of course, the Windom Earle events are great, but what happens with Little Nicky, James and Irene, and the Pine Weasel doesn't strike the same chord as Laura Palmer's story. And with what happens with the Audrey Horne/Cooper romance, I prefer to stick with the first seventeen episodes who make a complete series by themselves. Speaking of that Audrey Horne/Cooper romance, Kyle MacLachlan explains in the making-of why he asked the storyline to be dropped. However, I tend to believe more the explanations Mark Frost, Bob Engels and Sherilyn Fenn said, especially after seeing on YouTube interviews with Sherilyn Fenn, and the "2011 Twin Peaks Convention Q&A Dinner Meeting", where Sheryl Lee and Lenny Von Dohlen talked about a certain cast member I will not name, but whom they found unpleasant. And to me, I think stopping that plotline due to some behind-the-scenes conflict hurt the show as much as the revelation of Laura Palmer's mystery. Especially since that romance was supposed to be the next major plot line of the second season.

So why the Five stars even though I think the last thirteen episodes are not up to par with the first seventeen episodes. Because the setting and universe this series presents remains unique and light-years to what is done on television. It also offered the chance for shows to tell their stories like movies instead of the usual talk-talk in television, and Twin Peaks, even years after its unfair cancellation, still remains in the collective mind of the public, of its fans, and of the industry. Indeed, shows like The X-Files, Lost, Desperate Housewives, Once Upon a Time, Riget, the Killing, movies like The Blair Witch Project, and video games like Alan Wake, Max Payne, and Deadly Premonition owe a lot to Twin Peaks. If there is one thing that makes them different from Twin Peaks, it is that they never repeated the same mistake that Twin Peaks did.

God knows what would have happened if the show had been done either in syndication, or on cable channels like HBO who started to bring out excellent series like Tales from the Crypt. Maybe Twin Peaks would have had its third, and probably final season, done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mesmerising journey into weirdness, 13 Oct 2011
I'm not going to say too much about the story for fear of giving anything away. All I will say is, if you haven't seen this you're missing a dark masterpiece unlike anything else you'll ever see. The first series is totally compulsive veiwing. The second is equally good with even more weirdness chucked in. Don't try to make sense of it, you won't be able to. Just sit back and enjoy a master film maker at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word - Incredible, 11 Jan 2011
By 
MR (Slough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Buy this and it'll probably be the best £X you've ever spent on a DVD. It's an amazing show that's not in the least dated and a wonderful DVD boxset put together with love.

As for the TV prog' itself it's incredible. Yes it may slip somewhat towards the middle of Season 2 but this is only when compared to its own high standards. If you've already seen it on TV buy this set and watch again and if you've never seen it then for shame - buy it and love it for what it is - a masterpiece of television drama without which we would never have had X File, Lost, Fringe... the list goes on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twin Peaks, 4 Jan 2011
Absolutely brilliant! Great to relive Twin Peaks again (18 years later!) The picture quality is great and sound is good (although have to increase volume for the Log Lady Intros.) Am watching 1 episode a night so far, to savor and enjoy it as much as possible, and I know that as soon as I have watched all 29 episodes and Bonus Disc with Special Features and Interviews, that I will have to start re-watching the whole 10 discs again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars damn fine box set!, 22 April 2010
I'm not going to go into too much detail about the content of the program itself: if you're reading this you're surely curious about Twin Peaks and the star ratings people give it should tell you all you need to know. Yes, it sags a little midway through season 2 but it picks up again in the last few episodes and is only 'bad' by its own very high standards. It has a unique atmosphere that many subsequent shows have tried to channel but always with limited success.

The box set contains Season 1 (Pilot included) and the longer Season 2 - previously unavailable in the UK due to rights issues far more difficult to interpret than any of Lynch's work! There's also a much more generous helping of extras than you'll find in the individual season sets. As well as little bits and pieces including Log Lady intros for every episode, deleted scenes, a SNL sketch etc, there's some good content produced specially for the Gold Box. The main attraction is 'Secrets From Another Place' - a feature length documentary that interviews an impressive selection of the cast and crew on basically everything relating to the series - from the pitch, and heading into the unknown with the pilot, through initial success and having to deal with being the hot show on worldwide tv, to discussions on why it didn't last, and who or what was to blame for the faltering momentum. As well as this, there are a few shorter pieces - the best of which is a more light-hearted retrospective discussion entitled 'A Slice of Lynch' - featuring Lynch himself discussing his memories of the show with cast members and his frequent collaborator John Wentworth.

The episodes themselves appear in newly remastered form, the most visible difference being the richer colour several reviewers have commented on already. 5.1 audio has also been created for the first time. Each disc features the usual 'play all' or 'episodes' choice as well as options for with/without the Log Lady clips. The pilot also includes the alternate international version, with an ending included to allow it to standalone (some of this footage later appeared in Series 1 - first time viewers should stick to the U.S original).

If you're an existing Twin Peaks fan who has been waiting on the definitive set or someone completely new to it, this set is as good a purchase as you'll ever make. All that stops it being truly 'definitive' is the exclusion of the big-screen prequel 'Fire Walk With Me', which can be had very cheaply in bare-bones DVD form. If I was really looking for a gripe with this set, the packaging is unimaginitive and slightly flimsy - but the content is as amazing now as it was in 1990, and the package of extras on top of that represents good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest TV Show of all Time, 26 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. M. J. Burgess "Martin Burgess" (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was 18 when this first appeared on TV. Quite simply it terrified me. And it still does. I still have nightmares where I'm being stalked by Killer BOB. Before Twin Peaks American drama was either soap (Dallas, Dynasty) or Saturday afternoon action (The A Team, Knight Rider). Twin Peaks changed all that. Because of Twin Peaks we had The X Files, 24 and everything in between. Before Twin Peaks, TV was seen as the poor relation to cinema. Now everyone in cinema wants to make decent, ground-braking TV and this is all because of Twin Peaks. It is safe to say that Twin Peaks is one of the most important TV series of all time. It should be watched by anyone and everyone that likes to laugh, be scared and be freaked out. As it was shot on film I hope that one day it becomes available on Blu-ray along with the movie. (There are supposed to be HOURS of footage cut from the movie that have yet to be seen). But that's all for the future. For now, I'm just grateful that FINALLY "Season 2" has a UK release. I had to get mine in the Netherlands! Now I have both seasons in one luscious, remastered collection. Pour yourself a "damn fine" cup of coffee, tuck into some cherry pie and lose yourself in Twin Peaks. Just remember to come back in one piece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cult masterpiece, 2 Oct 2012
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had never seen Twin Peaks before buying this and I bought it for my wife a couple of years ago, who had been a big fan of this back in the day.

It's taken us some time to watch all of it but it has been a pleasure to watch and deserves it's status as cult classic.

The simple premise of the FBI investigating the murder of a high school beauty mixed with elements of the supernatural in the hands of Lynch, the master of wierd, it's every bit as wierd and as brilliant you'd hope it might be.

I felt it went down hill in the second season but it definitely deserves a watch if you've yet to see it. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The owls are not what they seem....., 6 Feb 2008
By 
Andrew C. Madden "Mad Andy" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with the previous review the description of this boxset is very misleading. 'Fire walk with me' was the prequel movie made AFTER the second series - apparently from the ideas that would have been the third series before the "stoopid" studio management decided to can the project (are they the same stupid team who canned Firefly too?).

This collection includes both the US and international pilots. If you want 'Fire walk with me' its still available as a seperate release on dvd.

The box set is brilliant and is the same as the definitive box set listed as far as I can tell. The series kicked started the type of television series being made now - lost, heroes, x files, 24 et al. It was revolutionary and deserves a high place of honour in tv history.

Buy this set and the Fire Walk With Me film and see what all the hype was about. Well crafted, well surreal entertaining tv with plots, subplots, superb characters (including the Log lady) and dare I say it - damn fine coffee. Watch out for the cherry stalk bit - very sexy. Long Live Laura Palmer....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews