Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius
They are back and what a return.
Without doubt one of the most underrated bands of my generation but who consistently produce a class product.
Had the pleasure of being at the album launch at King Tuts in May and it sounded good then... you have delivered!
I am a huge fan of James Grant (check out his solo work) and never thought I would see another Love...
Published on 1 Oct. 2012 by ally69

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is not Strange kind of love. It is okay....
A kind of boring but, now it's in the collection and it stays there. I love Strange kind of love and think it is one of maybe 10 records that is going to the coffin....

Sorry for the poor spelling...
Published on 14 Dec. 2012 by Ĝivind Petersen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 1 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Debt (MP3 Download)
They are back and what a return.
Without doubt one of the most underrated bands of my generation but who consistently produce a class product.
Had the pleasure of being at the album launch at King Tuts in May and it sounded good then... you have delivered!
I am a huge fan of James Grant (check out his solo work) and never thought I would see another Love and Money release...thank you for seeing sense (if i ever find out the name of the friend who after a solo gig asked JG the question..would it really that bad to get back together I will gladly by them a pint)
Anyway the album. Ten songs of supreme quality. Songwriting at it's very best. Smacking tunes with JG vocals shining through with the harmonies of the beautiful Monica Queen.
Highlight a bad track that does not deserve a place on this album and I will highlight a FOOL
Every track a winner, however, I love the haunting sound of The Desired. So far the stand out track for me but so much competition.
A musical masterpiece.....much appreciated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly, truly stunning, 7 Nov. 2012
By 
Mrs. K. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Debt (MP3 Download)
Love and Money and in particular James Grant have produced yet another beautiful album. Since their debut they have gone from strength to strength. After such a long time away you have to wonder what the quality would be like. I suppose the quality of James Grant's solo work never left it in doubt. It constantly annoys me to see talentless idiots on X factor week in week out when this country has such talented singer song writers and bands that never get the credit they deserve. All 10 tracks are fantasticly crafted, produced and sung. Well done L&M.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still got it after all these years, 22 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Debt (Audio CD)
It's incredible that one of my favourite bands from my teenage years manage to get back together some 20 years later and produce this. I've been listening to `A Strange Kind of Love' for weeks now waiting for this to be delivered and it's just incredible. Well worth the two decade wait. The same band you always loved but with a more modern, fresher approach. This one will be on my iPod favourites and CD player for some time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love and Money as good as ever., 10 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Debt (Audio CD)
My favourite Love and Money album is Dogs in the Traffic and I don't think it's lost it's edge over the years. For me this is it's perfect partner. James Grant's liquid gold voice continues to soothe, haunt and hypnotise you throughout. Some real classics for me, with my favourite being "This is the last time", although there is isn't a weak track on here.

Class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Album of the year - without a doubt!, 19 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Devil's Debt (Audio CD)
A truly fantastic album, every track is a joy. As one reviewer has already said, it's difficult to find a duff track. Love and Money produce intelligent pop music - great tunes, vocals and lyrics. It is exactly how a classic album should sound. A very rare event in this day and age.

In short THE album of the year, 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Debt (Audio CD)
Nice to get this.. I saw L&M live a few months ago and they played a few songs from this album. Y ou can see where their musicianship has developed with this album and James Grant as usual comes up with some well written songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to greatness, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Debt (Audio CD)
Unmistakeable voice! Great lyrics! A very good come back album. If you like this look for their older stuff you won't be dissapointed! GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love & Money return.., 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Thomas K. Johnston (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Debt (MP3 Download)
..and what a return it is.

Every track a gem as you would expect from an established songwriter like James Grant. At once moving, but also exploring new ground, this is a fabulous album from one of Scotland's finest bands.

5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You wait 20 years..., 23 Nov. 2012
By 
Craig Sullivan (Kingsburg, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Debt (Audio CD)
... and one of your favorite bands as an adolescent delivers a grown-up album that makes you feel like no time has passed at all. The mark of great artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Return, 5 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Devil's Debt (Audio CD)
After 20 years away Love & Money have produced another stunning piece of work. Buy this and enjoy it, simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil's Debt
The Devil's Debt by Love & Money (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews