Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (226)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasurable experience
I have loved this film since I first saw it on television as a child, through worn out home video to a budget release some years ago.
I dragged a close friend along to see it last year when it returned to the cinema . A step that is always a risk in that one fears that it will not live up to expectations . I was thrilled that he was as moved by it as I was and...
Published on 24 Nov. 2000

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag of 'Scrooge' in b&w and colour
This is a review of the 2-disc Collector's Edition of 'Scrooge' Scrooge (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [DVD], a boxed set which includes both the original Black & White release from 1951, a 'Colourised' version of the same film, and a varied set of extras. I found this set to be a mixed bag of delights.

The 'digitally restored' black & white version is generally...
Published on 9 Dec. 2012 by Chappers


‹ Previous | 116 17 1827 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a real christmassy film, 18 April 2013
By 
S. Hart "shirl" (hayling island) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
As a scrooge fanantic, i love this version of Dikens tale. it has a lovely Christmassy feel. Not that true to the book but still very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
highly recommended would buy similiar items again,good price and arrived promptly very pleased with product has met all my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic story with a classic actor., 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
Many have played Scrooge but Alistair Sim is the benchmark, the definitive Scrooge, nobody does it better. A 'must watch' at Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scrooge dvd, 11 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
great dvd of its time my mum loved it....... alistair sim is a superb actor........
and you cant beat the black and white films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
good old Christmas story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars humbug???, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens' Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
A CLASSIC!!!! a GEM!!! read the book every Christmas since1950 same old copy.A Christmas delight. Get the message I like it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
There have been many films of Scrooge over the years, but not one better nor has anyone come near to Asitair Sim's portrayal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black and white is definitely better and more convincing than the coloured version, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens' Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
Black and white is definitely better and more convincing than the coloured version. Purely for those who are into nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
an old masterpiece in inself, i will always have this dvd in my collection and i will always watch it with my grandchildren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Must!, 11 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Charles Dickens' Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
An old favourite. For me, nothing tops this version of the fine Dickens' novel. Alastair Sim was born to play the role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1827 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charles Dickens' Scrooge [DVD] [1951]
Charles Dickens' Scrooge [DVD] [1951] by Brian Desmond Hurst (DVD - 2012)
£9.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews