Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Remastering of a Great Film
Made in 1951 on a low budget, Scrooge remains one of the best film versions of the "Christmas Carol" tale. This is partly due to Alistair Sim's moving performance, and also the fact that this version gives more backstory than others, explaining how Scrooge got the way he is. George Cole gives a fine performance as the young Scrooge and Jack Warner is clearly enjoying...
Published on 18 Jan 2009 by Mr. Ross Maynard

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag of 'Scrooge' in b&w and colour
This is a review of the 2-disc Collector's Edition of 'Scrooge' Scrooge (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [DVD], a boxed set which includes both the original Black & White release from 1951, a 'Colourised' version of the same film, and a varied set of extras. I found this set to be a mixed bag of delights.

The 'digitally restored' black & white version is generally...
Published 21 months ago by Chappers


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Remastering of a Great Film, 18 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Made in 1951 on a low budget, Scrooge remains one of the best film versions of the "Christmas Carol" tale. This is partly due to Alistair Sim's moving performance, and also the fact that this version gives more backstory than others, explaining how Scrooge got the way he is. George Cole gives a fine performance as the young Scrooge and Jack Warner is clearly enjoying himself as the corrupt Mr Jorking. The film also boasts the radiant Carol Marsh as Scrooge's sister (with too little screen time but see her at her best in "Brighton Rock"), Patrick McNee, William Horden and (eye's peeled) Hattie Jacques as Mrs Fezziwig - with about 10 seconds of screen time.

This remastering does a very good job of improving the picture and sound - pretty low quality film stock was used (the film was made when post-war rationing was still in full force). This set also features a colourised version of the film which is well done (though the B&W version wins for picture quality and atmosphere). There are also two early silent film versions of the tale, two radio versions, and a surprisingly uninteresting interview with George Cole.

Often the film is very very moving - probably the most moving version of the tale; though at other times it does stoop to 1950's sentimentality (Bob Cratchit's family are a bit too sickly sweet). Overall it is a fantastic set and a must if you want a really atmospheric version of the tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasurable experience, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [VHS] [1951] (VHS Tape)
I have loved this film since I first saw it on television as a child, through worn out home video to a budget release some years ago.
I dragged a close friend along to see it last year when it returned to the cinema . A step that is always a risk in that one fears that it will not live up to expectations . I was thrilled that he was as moved by it as I was and continue to be.
Sim is faultless, the supporting cast superb and if you do not cry either at the death of Scrooge's sister ,feared death of Tiny Tim or the reconciliation then you are cold indeed!
Buy it in its spanking new remastering and you will have a treat that can be watched over and over again with renewed and increasing pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest version of 'A Christmas Carol', 1 Oct 2000
By 
Robert Lough (Houghton -Le- Spring, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
In my opinion this is THE definitive big screen version of Charles Dickens 'A Christmas Carol'. The acting is brilliant, and the dialogue is very convincing. Being shot in black and white gives this film the right mood and feel. I bought this DVD when it was released last year and if you did not buy it then, then I suggest you buy it now. It is the perfect Christmas film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE COLOURS ARE BETTER IN BLACK AND WHITE, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
Well ... for anybody with any doubt as to which version of 'A Christmas Carol' (and there are many) is the one most likely to stand up to repeated and repeated and repeated viewings, the best thing you can do is have a look at just a few of the favourable reviews on here of this extraordinary and magical film.

Detractors' comments (the very few) are not worth taking seriously, and it can safely be said that this utterly English production is a true classic of cinema. So what if it's over 50 years old ? What's the problem with that ? Dickens wrote the original story nearly 200 years ago, and we don't turn round and quibble that it's 'dated' or 'old-fashioned' ... we enjoy it for what it is. Some works is any medium are timeless. This is one of them. The production values are high, the design is superb, and the photography is stunning.

You can safely sit back and revel in this. Not least because of the delicious central performances. Alistair Sim is a remarkable character actor with one of the most expressive faces in film history: the slightest twist of his countenance allows the audience to see into Scrooge's very soul. You will suffer with the old miser, cry with him, fear with him, and ultimately laugh with him. This is true star quality - a rare thing indeed.

Worry not that somebody had the wonderful idea of improving upon the original by drenching it in colour. You don't have to have it, and why this silly fad has come into being at all, I haven't a clue. It smacks of a certain contempt for the audience's taste and judgement. As a discerning viewer, be above all that: steer well clear of the colourised version - however much of a technical marvel it may be - and remember what is often said about radio drama: the pictures are better. In the case of 'Scrooge' (1951), the colours are better - in black and white.

I suspect that this version of 'A Christmas Carol' will outlive most of the others. Rightly so.

Merry Christmas, Every One!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DEFINITIVE SCROOGE, 5 Jun 2008
By 
C. Kingswell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who still doesn't know the story of 'A Christmas Carol' should be boiled in his own pudding. Alastair Sim was the definitive Scrooge and always will be. But look no further. This is the 2-dvd set you have been waiting for. Everything has been restored, and not only does the set include the black and white and colorised versions but also a widescreen version which has been enhanced for widescreen monitors. For good measure, there is the 1935 film with Sir Seymour Hicks, although this copy looks old by comparison.
Extras include:
audio commentary by Marcus Hearn and George Cole,
George Cole remembers Alastair Sim,
Richard Gordon remembers George Minter and Renown Pictures,
before and after restoration comparison,
original American and British theatrical trailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great DVD, 28 Jun 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In 1951, veteran actor Alistair Sim (1900-76) starred in this black-and-white screen adaptation of Charles Dickens' classic book, A Christmas Carol. In 2002, Vci Home Video took recently discovered 35-mm original negatives, and digitally remastered them. This DVD contains both a black-and-white version (as it would have looked back in 1951!), and a colorized version, for those who prefer things in color. Also included is an old 1944 Max Fleisher cartoon of Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, and a nice introduction by Patrick McNee (who appeared in the movie as a young Jacob Marley).
This is a great movie, with great acting, and a very well produced production, and it's already one of my family's favorites. When you add to that the B&W/Color choice, this DVD became a must-buy for us! Overall, I found this to be a great DVD, one that is well worth the cost. My family and I all highly recommend this DVD to you and yours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Family Watching, 28 Oct 2009
By 
E. Brooker "nostalgia" (essex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw the original version, as a child, when it was released in the cinema and it has always stayed with me as the best version on film.I am not happy with the "colourised" version as I believe the Black & White is more atmospheric - but I am VERY biased.
My youngest son also got hooked on it from an early age -he is now 38 - and is still hooked so it does span generations.
I am not sure how a new generation coming to it now in B&W for the first time would react but try it near Christmas Time with the room darkened and you may be suprised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag of 'Scrooge' in b&w and colour, 9 Dec 2012
By 
Chappers "chappers" (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review of the 2-disc Collector's Edition of 'Scrooge' Scrooge (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [DVD], a boxed set which includes both the original Black & White release from 1951, a 'Colourised' version of the same film, and a varied set of extras. I found this set to be a mixed bag of delights.

The 'digitally restored' black & white version is generally very decent, with good clear image detail and sound. However the picture suffers from too much contrast between glaring whites and deep blacks, which I found a strain until I changed my tv setting to a dimmer mode.

The 'colourised' version on the 2nd disc is rather woeful, because the transfer has chopped off some of the original picture. This was most noticeable in the Jacob Marley & First Ghost scenes, where the top half of characters' heads were missing! No matter which tv setting I used - even on 4:3 ratio - I wasn't able to view the whole picture as it was meant to be. Given that I'd bought this double-dvd set so that I could occasionally watch the tepid colour version, I feel rather short-changed.

There are quite a few extras on the discs - none too exciting, unless you're interested in a rather bored George Cole trying to summon up memories of a film made 55 years earlier! Alas there are no subtitles nor trailers. If you want a full breakdown of all the extras, search through the previous reviews for Trevor Willsmer's excellent one of 17 May 2011.

This box set was published by DD Home Entertainment in 2005, so if you're just looking for a decent b&w print of 'Scrooge' you could perhaps try Scrooge [DVD] [1951] which was produced by the same company in 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VCI's 60th anniversary edition of Scrooge - one of the best black and white Blu-rays you'll ever see, 24 Dec 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For many, Alistair Sim's Scrooge is THE definitive one - he even reprised the role for Richard Williams and Chuck Jones' striking half hour animated adaptation from 1971, which is sadly not included here - playing down his usual bemused or befuddled whimsy remarkably effectively for something altogether more bitter. Still, good as this is, one can't help feeling that the definitive version of Dickens' story has yet to be made, although, despite going into far more detail than Dickens ever did about the early days of Scrooge and Marley to build up Jack Warner's part, this does offer one of the best. The budget limitations may make themselves known in a few scenes but there's still a good supporting cast of familiar British character actors (Mervyn Johns, Hermione Baddeley, Michael Hordern, George Cole, Ernest Thesiger, Miles Malleson, Kathleen Harrison, Hattie Jacques, Peter Bull and Francis De Wolff among them) and a great Richard Addinsell score as well that makes good use of folk songs like Barbara Allen and finds unexpected dark notes in Christmas carols warning that this isn't going to be all sweetness and light. And this version is indeed truer to the darker undercurrents of Dickens' 'Ghost Story for Christmas' than many adaptations, with the harshness of a Victorian winter keenly felt amid the deep and stark shadows.

Unfortunately the film's popularity has long meant that it can be hard finding a decent copy amid all the public domain releases of the title. Up until recently the best release was DD/Simply Home Entertainment's two-disc UK DVD set, but now VCI's region-free 60th Anniversary Diamond Edition US Blu-ray - packaged under the US title A Christmas Carol but bearing the UK title Scrooge on the print - beats it hands down with a truly remarkable black and white transfer that's astonishingly sharp, clear and, for the most part, detailed. There are minor flaws here and there - the film is sixty years old after all - but it's hard to recall seeing a better looking black and white film on Blu-ray, which is all the more amazing considering how many bad copies are floating around since the film fell into the Public Domain. Along with a remastered stereo track there's also the original mono soundtrack as well.

This carries over the audio commentary by George Cole and Marcus Hearn from the DD version but compliments it with an impressive selection of different extras: featurettes Dead to Begin With - The Darker Side of a Classic (the best of the extras by far, with Christopher Frayling discussing the time the book was written and the film was made and the different approaches to the story through the decades), Scrooge by Another Name - Distributing A Christmas Carol, The Human Blarney Stone - The Life and Films of Brian Desmond Hurst, The Alastair Sim Version - Too Good To Be Shown Only at Christmas and Scrooge Revisited (a tour the locations used in the film), lengthy introduction by Leonard Maltin (which can only be skipped by going to scene selection and pressing main titles), abridged versions of 1922 silent films Scrooge and Bleak House from the series 'Tense Moments with great Authors,' US and UK theatrical trailers, and a miniature reprint of the US marketing pressbook. The set also includes single-disc DVD version of the film with a 1939 radio version produced by Orson Welles and starring Lionel Barrymore and a bibliographic audio essay.

Even if you've already got a decent edition, this is well worth an upgrade. Do note, however, that this is VCI's second Blu-ray release of the film: the first was a very decent transfer, but this one knocks it out of the water and is the one to get - just make sure it's the 60th Anniversary Diamond Edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrooge, 14 Dec 2004
By 
D. J. Wilden "denise7248" (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films of all time. I cry every single time when the young Scrooge (played by George Cole later to be Flash Harry of St. Trinians and Arthur Daly of Minder) is told by his sister when she comes to his boarding school to collect him to come home for Christmas, that he will never be alone again. Then again when the Ghost of Christmas Past takes him to his sisters death bed and he hears what he missed at the time of her death, that she asks him to take care of her boy. It is a truly beautiful film, a perfect cast, It brings tears and joy every time I watch it, and I have read the book too. For me the film has no faults, I will never tire of watching it as it brings happy memories of my childhood and I still get the same pleasure from it as I did at the first watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charles Dickens' Scrooge [DVD] [1951]
Charles Dickens' Scrooge [DVD] [1951] by Brian Desmond Hurst (DVD - 2012)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews