Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars23
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2012
Unfortunately this set is missing the following 7 episodes that should have been on the 'First Collection' set (like they were on the American region 1 version):

-The Curse Of Castle McDuck
-Launchpad's Civil War
-Sweet Duck of Youth
-Earthquack
-Home Sweet Homer
-Bermuda Triangle Tangle
-Microducks From Outer Space

However don't be put off buying this Second Collection (and the Third Collection) as both sets are correct and do indeed mirror what was released in the United States on Region 1. However the First Collection UK region 2 release is incorrect and missing those 7 episodes. I'd recommend buying both the UK Second and Third Collections, but also buying the region 1 'First Collection'/Volume 1 to have a full collection of all 75 episodes released so far..

If Disney UK had any decency, they would issue the missing 7 episodes as a bonus disc available if you buy both the Second and Third Collection sets. Either that or as an exclusive for the Movie Rewards club. Really there is no excuse for this and if they had done their research would have noticed their mistake!
44 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
This DuckTales set is a nice Region 2 copy of the region 1 DuckTales: Volume 2 set, with 3 extra languages Dutch, German and French, a step up above the Chip 'N Dale: Rescue Rangers Volume 2 release, however this set does feature very generic artwork, but it's a minor flaw.

As Blackiecats has mentioned the following 7 episodes that are on the U.S. Vol.1 set are not included in this set.

The Curse of Castle McDuck
Launchpad's Cival War
Sweet Duck of Youth
Earthquack
Home Sweet Homer
Bermuda Triangle Tangle
Microducks From Outer Space

However the episodes you do get are as follows (the case dosen't tell you, so you're going to have to view the discs or look at this :D)

Disc 1
Treasure of The Golden Suns: Part 1 - Don't Give Up The Ship
Treasure of The Golden Suns: Part 2 - Wronguay To Ronguay
Treasure of The Golden Suns: Part 3 - Three Ducks of The Condor
Treasure of The Golden Suns: Part 4 - Cold Duck
Treasure of The Golden Suns: Part 5 - Too Much of A Gold Thing
Back to The Klondike
Horse Scents
Scrooge's Pet

Disc 2
Catch As Cash Can: Part 1 - A Drain on The Economy
Catch As Cash Can: Part 2 - A Whale of A Bad Time
Catch As Cash Can: Part 3 - Aqua Ducks
Catch As Cash Can: Part 4 - Working For Scales
Merit-Time Adventure
The Golden Fleecing
Ducks of The West
Time Teasers

Disc 3
Back Out in The Outback
Raiders of The Lost Harp
The Right Duck
Scroogerello
Double-O-Duck
Luck O' The Ducks
Duckworth's Revolt
Magica's Magic Mirror / Take Me Out of The Ballgame*

*The last episode is actually 2 11 minute segments (similar to some Gummi Bears episodes), instead of a full 22 minute episode.

For under £10.00 you still get a decent set, which includes the five parter; Treasure of The Golden Suns, which shows us when Donald Duck joins the navy and leaves his nephews; Heuy, Dewey and Louie with their Uncle Scrooge and the four parter; Catch As Cash Can.

Overall a great set, though hopefully one day Disney will finally release the 7 missing episodes in the UK.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Six years after the first PAL release, Volume 2 of this iconic, much loved Disney show hits DVD, boasting 24 more episodes of fun, adventure and laughs. But the question is, how does this release stack up?

GOOD:
- The show is still as fun, entertaining and intelligence-respecting as it was all those years ago. The characters are memorable and fun (especially the always pun-tastic Launchpad), the stories, though short, are well paced and creative and there's a good mix of humour in the writing for both old and young viewers.
- For a £9 price tag, 24 episodes of a half hour show is a pretty good deal, spread across three discs, and if you want to marathon it and just sit with a bucket of popcorn, like one of those 'Afternoons' back in the day, Fast Play just runs through all the episodes, uninterrupted.

BAD:
-This DVD screams 'budget release', being in just one case with the flip over holder inside, all the discs being that all-too familiar & bland grey-silver combination that Disney has become fond of in the past few years. Heck, even the central front image of Scrooge and the nephews looks like a cheap 'Print Screen' job, with incomplete, fuzzy black lines around the characters.
-No features. At all. No commentaries, no interviews, no featurettes (which for a show often praised by critics and historians as 'significant' in TV and animation history, is very odd), not even subtitles! There's a few languages to choose from, but no subtitles. Why, I cannot even fathom, and it seems like a really weird, if not full blown, stupid thing to do.
-NO EPISODE LISTING. Not on the back of the DVD, not on the episode selection screens on any of the discs, not even a cheap little paper insert. Why? No, seriously, WHY?! If you're not going to bother with anything extra, the least you could do is tell us what the episodes are on the actual discs!
-The seven missing episodes from the first PAL set are not here either. What a great shame.

VERDICT:
While this DVD release is slapdash and just Disney's way of shutting up all the fanboys who have asked endlessly for another release, it doesn't change the fact that this is a very good show for all the family, with lovable characters, engaging stories and a very high fun and rewatch factor. If it's your first or thousandth time, Duckburg always promises a good time for every kid, no matter how old you are!
review image
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
i loved this show when i was younger and was so pleased that a second collection became available, the only thing that let this down is that unlike the first collection the disks are just plain not printed and the box cover isn't the greatest the american region 1 covers are much better. other than that no complaints.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
I wacthed this cartoon when I was young...Now I have the first, second and third collection....the complete collection...ducktales...on mornings...everyday here in brazil
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
I Just had a look at Volume 2 with Treasure of the Golden Suns. The quality is not great at all. Looks like it has been copied from a VHS or BETA MAX tape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Good price, just a pity that the entire collection can't be bought as a box set. Bought for my 2yr old but still brings back memories for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Some episodes are missing from the series but great memories relive my childhood again love Disney programmes and films and I always will
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
3 vol 24 episodes of fun filled tails from your
favourite disney charactors. Lots of fun and adventure
and laughter. Great!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
Just as I remember it from my Childhood. Ducktales is fantastic for kids of all ages. I would recommend it to anyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse