Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the box....
We are in the process of renovating a house that we have just purchased and have plans that were drawn up by a local architect as a basis for this work.

But our ideas are different from the original owners so needed some way of modifying the plans to see what fitted in with our ideas, and where it would fit.

We could have gone back to the architect...
Published on 11 Feb. 2013 by Phil

versus
32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No good for British users
I bought this because reviews had said how easy it is to use (for a CAD package). Unfortunately what was not mentioned was that all external walls are of American design only e.g. Wood with timber siding or brick with timber siding. I wanted to install walls of either double brick or brick and breeze block with 2inch cavity ( fairly standard in UK) . These type of walls...
Published 21 months ago by Frank Carroll


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the box...., 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
We are in the process of renovating a house that we have just purchased and have plans that were drawn up by a local architect as a basis for this work.

But our ideas are different from the original owners so needed some way of modifying the plans to see what fitted in with our ideas, and where it would fit.

We could have gone back to the architect and paid him loads of money to make countless amendments but Chief Architect seemed a far better idea.

Currently we are on the sixth amendment to our original ideas and feel that we are now at the stage when we can go back to the architect to get the original detailed drawings modified. This will let them confirm that our roof loadings, etc. conform to planning and building regulations but as this will be all they need to do our costs will be significantly less than if they had prepared multiple amendments for us.

Chief Architect is easy to use for someone (me) with very little design experience, allows edits and additions to be done simply by drag and dropping, and has a large database of items to use when designing your house.

Overall very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No good for British users, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
I bought this because reviews had said how easy it is to use (for a CAD package). Unfortunately what was not mentioned was that all external walls are of American design only e.g. Wood with timber siding or brick with timber siding. I wanted to install walls of either double brick or brick and breeze block with 2inch cavity ( fairly standard in UK) . These type of walls are not available and there is no way to define them unless you shell out about £100 for the Architect or Pro versions. I guess this is another case of an American company happy to sell to the UK but couldn't be bothered to change standard American profiles. There should at least be a warning that this is designed for the US market only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 May 2013
By 
C. Winson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
easy to use but very detailed, definitely worth buying even for small jobs. Was much more than i expected for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for high-level design, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
First of all I’d just like to say that I’m not an architect and therefore primarily wanted this software to explore various ideas for extending/remodelling my house which it does extremely well. The doll’s house view in particular is very useful for visualising the internal and external spaces that are created.

Pros
- Quick and easy to use
- Able to handle curved walls and rooms in the loft.
- Automatic alignment with walls above/below
- Stair tool for creating stairs, landings and stairwells
- Landscaping and furnishing tools
- 3D visualisation and walk-throughs

Cons:
- Heavily orientated towards US styles
- Doesn’t support latest building materials, such as SIPS or ICF
- Materials library is very dated, no good for contemporary styles
- Changing external walls afterwards is painful and can produce strange results
- Doesn’t handle houses with basements
- General lack of precision/detail
- No 3D printer support

In summary the software is ok for sketching out ideas, but lacks the precision and level of detail that an architect would need to create a set of working drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
i love this program because my boyfriend colud show me how our house is going to look like one day..not exatctly the same furniture but very similiar..he could measure everything.than u can have a look inside room..he is not that kind of person to use programs jsut like that.first he tried it, he didnt like it cause he tought it is too difficult but than he watched some youtube videos and ola la..our house is done( just on the screen)).but as this is done by amateur we have to give it proper architect.but i believe this is going to help him a lot as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you need help planning and visualising a costly home project then it is recommended., 27 Mar. 2014
By 
DJM "DJM" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
I bought this at around £50 as it seemed good value for planning and visualising a £50,000 home improvement project. The software is fairly easy to use although the interface can be unintuitive. The supplied library is fine for structural stuff, like walls, window, floors and kitchen units, but the furnishings are based on American designs, which means that they are very dated and limited to old and clunky styles. However the 3D walkthrough views of plans are great for the price and will significantly improve your visualisation of any major home improvements. Recommended.

Pros
Installs easily.
Doesn't crash
Fairly easy to use.
Very configurable. Every object, such as walls, tables, kitchen cabinets can be varied in size, materials used and colours. You can also add your own images to be used as materials and colours.
3D views are really impressive.
Good value for money
Can produce detailed, accurate plans with dimensions and notes.

Cons
Printing is limited and it is difficult to get good scale prints. It is ok for simple plans but prints of 3D views are limited.
It does take several hours to input your basic house plan. But then you can use this as a base for various plans.
Supplied libraries for furnishings are typically American, which means they are all very unsophisticated.
Its American so it doesn't understand conservatories, so you need to fudge it by inserting windows and heavily modifying them.
Expensive for small and simple projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Excellent - easy to use and shows the detail required in 3D to show non-technical people (wife) how the house will look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Monitor, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Really useful program. It has allowed me to explore alternative options for an extension project I am planning before having the architect draw up the formal plans. Downside is the US based library, but this can be worked around. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!!, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Great bit of software!! Really easy to use but needs to have the roofing features of the Pro version to make it a fully usable package. I was not able to satisfactorily finish my designs because of the restrictions of the roofing system which only uses the automatic roofing tools and wont let you manually change the roofs or fit large dormers into a loft conversion. Ended up buying the Pro version because of this (a substantial cost of £500+!!), but the pro version is head and shoulders better then this and will produce working scale drawings suitable for planning submissions, which is something this version does not offer. Buy this if you want to visualise your ideas and see how things will fit but if your wanting to be any more serious than that go pro!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the epitome of Architectural software, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
It gets better and better as you make use of it. This product deserve all the stars. The only problem I having whilst using it, was from my laptop ( my laptop video card need a proper update), apart from that it is a good buy any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC)
Chief Architect Home Designer Suite 2014 (PC) by Chief Architect (Windows 7 / 8 / Vista / XP)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews