Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Tribute To Jimi.
The magnificent bluesman Gary Moore pays homage to the one and only Jimi Hendrix in London, 2007. A long time fan of Jimi, Gary has been an avid listener and learner modifying his playing to produce this outstanding set very much in the style of Jimi. At times the similarity in his tone and phrasing are eerily those of Jimi. The opening 'Purple Haze' riffs, the solo on...
Published on 26 Sept. 2012 by ACB(swansea)

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Moore's best sadly
I really loved the Gary Moore earlier tribute to Peter Green of Fleetwood Mac given his clear influence on the young Moore. I therefore looked forward to this CD's release thinking that if anyone could do a fitting tribute to a guitarist who for me is incomparable, then Moore might be the man. While it has taken many years to surface (recorded in 2007 and only being...
Published on 21 Nov. 2012 by Siriam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Tribute To Jimi., 26 Sept. 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blues For Jimi (Audio CD)
The magnificent bluesman Gary Moore pays homage to the one and only Jimi Hendrix in London, 2007. A long time fan of Jimi, Gary has been an avid listener and learner modifying his playing to produce this outstanding set very much in the style of Jimi. At times the similarity in his tone and phrasing are eerily those of Jimi. The opening 'Purple Haze' riffs, the solo on 'Foxey Lady' the timing and feeling on 'The Wind Cries Mary' and the use of controlled feedback, tremolo- driven vibrato with sustained notes, often bent particularly evident on 'I Don't Live Today'. Gary, as we know, has fingers that can play like lightening but always appropriately. The beautiful 'Angel' is played and sung in true Hendrix style with a little more of the Gary Moore stamp.

Gary is joined by Billy Cox and Mitch Mitchell on 'Red House', 'Stone Free' and 'Hey Joe'. The vocals on 'Red House' are shared by Billy Cox and Gary. This is right up Gary's street as he unleashes a flowing and longish solo with frugal use of the wha-wha pedal that is another highlight of the show. Mitch's drumming sounds a bit laboured (the three had only met the night before). He is more animated on 'Stone Free' where Billy Cox takes the vocals. 'Hey Joe' is another highlight reproducing the sound and atmosphere of Jimi's first hit with another exceptional solo. The final number is 'Voodoo Child (Slight Return)'. Gary's cracking opening using the wha-wha and prominent echo, crescendo chords and his guitar work and solo are amazingly Hendrix-like. His vocals are generally fine throughout the concert.

Gary is accompanied by the solid Dave Bronze on bass and Darrin Mooney on drums. This is a fitting bow to the genius of Jimi Hendrix. I can't think of any guitarist who could produce this sound as well as Gary Moore. It has taken 5 years for this to be released (along with the DVD) and we have lost both Gary and Mitch Mitchell meanwhile. This should have been out years ago. The consolation is that we do have it now. Tremendous stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corridors Of Power, 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Peter L. Crisp (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues For Jimi (Audio CD)
What can i say, if you want a full on in your face Hendrix set this one is for you. Not sure what Gary's mind set was at the time, there are a couple of "F" words during the concert thrown in for good measure, but gee with that in mind the power and emotion Gary Moore brings to the audience is spellbinding. I swear the Hendrix renditions are close to the original, although i guess there is nothing better than the original, but when Gary kicks into overdrive there is no one better!!! Great to see Mitch Mitchell and Billy Cox return for 3 songs, stunning!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars meeting of the masters, 25 Sept. 2012
By 
Bodhi Heeren (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blues For Jimi (Audio CD)
Perhaps this 2007 concert with Gary Moore playing the music of Jimi Hendrix would not have been oficially released if it wasn't for Gary's leaving his body in 2011. But anyway it's a pure delight also for Jimi Hendrix fans as Gary truly plays the classic tracks with conviction and adventurous spirit.

The repertoire almost exclusively focuses on Jimi's early numbers, the "Are You Experienced?" songs we all love, staying true to the originals he probably sat and played along to as a kid. At the same time he is Gary Moore and infuses his own unique style, not least in the long, beautiful "Red House".

Backed competently by Dave Bronze (Procol Harum, Eric Clapton a.m.o.)on the bass and Darrin Mooney (Primal Scream) on drums everything get a further infusion with the appearance of original Hendrix musicians Billy Cox and Mitch Mithchell for 3 tracks. Although Mithchell's playing is a bit rusty still its the "real thing" as Gary says.

Two late guitar heroes and a joy for lovers of power trio, clasic rock and the glorious days of psychedelic guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Moore, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi (Audio CD)
Gary Moore,s Blues for jimi, My wife bought me this on blue ray and i love it so much i just had to have the CD, all things said and done its Jimi Hendrix tribute made by another amazing guitarist that i have follwed all my life for early teen from thin Lizzy until his untimely death, with Hendrix Experience backing moore its a no brainer,
great CD/Blu Ray highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues for Jimi, Blues from Gary, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi (MP3 Download)
A good album, big shame its one of his last :( I suppose there will be reissues and re releases of his older stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Moore's best sadly, 21 Nov. 2012
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi (Audio CD)
I really loved the Gary Moore earlier tribute to Peter Green of Fleetwood Mac given his clear influence on the young Moore. I therefore looked forward to this CD's release thinking that if anyone could do a fitting tribute to a guitarist who for me is incomparable, then Moore might be the man. While it has taken many years to surface (recorded in 2007 and only being released after Moore's death in 2011) leaving a fear this was simply a clearing out of stored tapes and product, the added news that he was joined by Mitch Mitchell and Billy Cox merely upped the expectation levels.

Having now listened to it a few times, I fear I am unlikely to keep this CD. I find Moore too OTT most of the time (a great contrast to his Green tribute) though his choice of tracks from Hendrix's songbook is impeccable (including the wonderful "The wind cries Mary") and brave (choosing "Angel" and "Voodoo Child"). The fault is his guitar playing just does not have the range and subtlety needed to do justice or improve on the originals and live versus studio his voice is not at its greatest. His backing group for most of the set is adequate and not driving him forward as needed and sadly the appearance on only the end numbers of Cox and Mitchell does not greatly improve the chemistry. Mitchell in particular by this stage (2005+) from having seen him live with Mick Taylor was not in good physical shape and that is on show here.

The sad truth which this CD highlights is that Hendrix was a very unique performer (songwriter, guitarist and singer) and it is noticeable that very few of his songs have been covered with any success since his sad early death in the 1970s. The one notable exception for me is "Little Wing" by Derek and the Dominoes where they completely differed from the original in their treatment which is what is sadly missing in Moore's interpretations on show here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good addition to blues genre, 19 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. M. E. Herwin "Mike Herwin" (Stoke on Trent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi (Audio CD)
Blues for Jimi. Skilled guitar playing with a true feeling for the skills of Hendrix. A good addition to my blues collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Jimi by Gary, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi (Audio CD)
I grew up with Jimi Hendrix and still have the original albums. Absolutely love Gary Moore who is now sadly missed, so would have thought the music of Jimi played by Gary would have been a good mix. I have played this album once and was not impressed, sounded like it was thrown together at a tribute gig without much dedication to quality of play. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi (MP3 Download)
Another great album from them, easy to listen to as all of the songs are of great quality. Great music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Moore meets Hendrix, 7 April 2013
By 
Mrs. J. A. Leytham-gain (Lichfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi (MP3 Download)
This is a great album. Hendrix's music with Gary Moore's slashing style. It's live so turn it up, sit back, smile and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues For Jimi
Blues For Jimi by Gary Moore
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews