Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied my curiosity and closed the saga nicely!
After reading "Papillon" I was chuffed to note there was a sequel, "Banco". The book is like a series of short stories, each one enlightening and further showing the spirit and determination of this remarkable man. The style and fluency of the writing continues on from "Papillon", and it is almost as unputdownable. "Papillon" leaves you wanting to know more and "Banco"...
Published on 17 Feb 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first
It was interesting to see how Papillon continued after he escaped however this was not as good as the original. What really irritated me were the huge number of typos. When you pay for an electronic book you expect it to have been proofed properly.
Published 11 months ago by Rosemary Hafeez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied my curiosity and closed the saga nicely!, 17 Feb 2005
By A Customer
After reading "Papillon" I was chuffed to note there was a sequel, "Banco". The book is like a series of short stories, each one enlightening and further showing the spirit and determination of this remarkable man. The style and fluency of the writing continues on from "Papillon", and it is almost as unputdownable. "Papillon" leaves you wanting to know more and "Banco" gives you the chance to see how the rest of his life panned out. I have consequently been fascinated with all things related to the penal colony and have read a couple of other books written by men who have been condemned there: "Dry Guillotine" by Rene Belbenoit and "The Convict" by Felix Milani.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fitting climax to an extraordinary tale, 3 July 1999
By A Customer
"Banco", by Henri Charriere is the true tale of what happened to our hero after he had finally managed to escape from the clutches of the brutal French penal system. It is clear that Papi had lost none of his lust for life as he attempted to become an honest man in the various countries of south America. Although not always successful, Papi displays a dignity of spirit which we could all hope to learn from. An amazing man, and an amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banco completes Papillon's struggle to climb up the drain, 29 July 1999
By A Customer
Banco completes Papillon's struggle to climb up the drain into which the brutal French penal system had pushed him. It's the story of a man that, after 13 years in prison, discovers how to function in society and how to earn his living without resorting to murky schemes. It's also the story of a man that starts a new life and fights for it, giving up the idea of revenge that had sustained him during his time in prison. In the end, Papillon avenges himself by turning up in Paris and reliving every instance of his fake trial. He realizes then that he's the winner, that he has won against all odds... Banco!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The extraordinary life of Papillon is continued..., 2 April 2004
After having read the first book i decided it was time to watch the film again. Whilst purchasing the dvd on this site i also notice there was a second book, something i did not know about. Of course i purchased straight away and did not regret it. The book is brilliant and written in that same excellent and memorable style of the first book. You would have thought after having finally be released his life would be so much better, but there are yet more trials and tribulations awaiting Papillon in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sequel rather than a stand alone, 26 Sep 2010
This book continues the story where Papillon left off although this is shorter than he original it is no less enthralling. The book deals with life after the penal colony when Papillon has been granted his freedom. The book lacks non of the skill and honestly in writing that the first book had. If you loved the first book then you will need to read this book in order to complete your story. The only criticism that I have of the book is that I believe you could not easily read it as a stand alone book it clearly is a sequel and needs to be read in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as Papillon but a cracking read. I would love to be able to verify some of the stories but if they are true Papi defniatly is a legend. He just keeps picking himself up and through his zest for life overcomes so many obstacles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banco: The Further Adventures of Papillon (Kindle Edition)
The thought of making the most of your life Is inspired in the knowledge of others suffering. Fantastic follow up to Papillon, here you meet the real Henri and what he truly is, an honest, charming and intriguing individual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Papillon the Sequel, 6 Dec 2010
Banco is a sequel to Papillon and as such it should not be directly compared to Papillon itself, this would be a mistake.
Banco provides the further adventures of Papillon but most importantly it provides an holistic view of Henri Charriere himself. This book provides more insight into the personality of the man; it describes his youth, where he came from and what shaped him, his mental approach to prison and through his further adventures, what made him the person he finally became. It describes how he has come to terms with his persecutors and how he has overcome his relentless pursuit of revenge upon them and in the process 'freed himself mentally' as well as phyisically.
Banco provides the complete story of Henri Charriere as a person; a `must read' to fully understand him and the rest of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good follow up tp papillon, 22 Feb 2009
By 
James A. Craik "bronzedgod" (north east UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read Papillon over 20 years ago and when I informed my father who gave me most of my books I was going to read Banco straight after it he said not to bother as it was not up to much.
20+ years later I got myself a copy as I had nothing to read and I must admit, my old man was wrong, it is a very good book.
Well written and a good tale being told. I enjoyed every page and would recommend it to anyone who has read papillon. A few twists in the tale and many a plot, it keeps you interested throughout.
I only wish my life was as colourful without the trips to prison and the beatings etc.
If you enjoy biographies or prison type books, give it a try, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel to Papillon, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banco: The Further Adventures of Papillon (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoyed Papillon then you should look this up. It follows on from the first book left off and details the further adentures of Papillon. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Banco: The Further Adventures of Papillon
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews