Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent rework
Dare's Calm Before The Storm is, to my mind, the high water mark of Dare's output and therefore I was looking forward to this reissue. Many people cite the early Bon Jovi sounding 'Out of The Silence', the debut CD, as the pinnacle but OOTS, although containing the sublime `Abandon', `Under the Sun' and `Into The Fire', is hampered by a split personality due to these...
Published on 1 Nov. 2012 by O-mindcrime

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure
I originally heard a couple of tracks online, some of the reviews were outstanding, especially the title track, little did i realize this is a re-recorded version of Calm before The Storm. As i found it difficult to buy the original album, i thought i would check the newly recorded works, well i am not sure if that was a good thing, a number of bands have redone some of...
Published on 27 Nov. 2012 by Peter L. Crisp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent rework, 1 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Calm Before The Storm 2 (Audio CD)
Dare's Calm Before The Storm is, to my mind, the high water mark of Dare's output and therefore I was looking forward to this reissue. Many people cite the early Bon Jovi sounding 'Out of The Silence', the debut CD, as the pinnacle but OOTS, although containing the sublime `Abandon', `Under the Sun' and `Into The Fire', is hampered by a split personality due to these fine songs rubbing shoulders with the schmaltzy AOR `Nothing Is Stronger Than Love', or the dreary `King Of Spades'. The split personality on the debut revealed a lack of consistent identity for Dare and this lack of clear focus was borne out by the one dimensional follow up `Blood From Stone', which rocked but lacked real depth.

Following Blood From Stone, Calm Before The Storm lay the blue print for the now quintessential Dare sound - a fine blend of rock, Celtic influences, haunting melodies and Darren's husky vocal style, all beautifully represented by album opener and highlight 'Walk on the Water', now in it's third published rework (the first being as a Bon Jovi 'Wanted Dead Or Alive' pastiche on the B side of 'We Don't Need A Reason' from Blood From Stone). The result is sublime but I had a number of reservations at the time. Firstly the production was very warm, which knocked the power out of the drums and cotton balled the guitars, and secondly the English version lacked `Cold Wind Will Blow', which could only be found on an obscure European issue (or on Youtube). This re issue lays to rest these two small problems. The production is crystal clear, the drums are distinct and heavier and `Cold Wind Will Blow' has finally made its well earned place on the rostrum. Other changes are some neat male vocal harmonies, a couple of minor lyrical updates and altered bridges (e.g. on `Cold Wind Will Blow'). There is a distinctly harder edge to both the guitars and the drums and the abundant guitar solos and runs are decidedly more eloquent and prominent than on the original. The acoustic guitar work is also notably more defined and clearer within the mix of each of the songs. A speeded up and heavier `Precious', the B side of the single Abandon, is now included whilst the Lizzy cover of `Still In Love With You' has been shelved, possibly for royalty reasons.

The question is: which would have been better, this or a remaster of the original? Cards on the table - I really like this re issue as it is fresh and immediate and has some neat new ideas that do add to the original versions (especially on, say, 'Ashes'). Also, for some reason I can't put my finger on, I prefer the front cover on the reissue, which seems slightly different...

There are a couple of niggles. The harder sounding drums and guitar have killed the dreamy, haunting edge to both the hymn like `Deliverance' and the floating `Cold Wind Will Blow' and transformed `Precious' from a wistful, delicate, love song to a straight forward, harder, AOR workout in order to fit in with the feel of the whole album. There is nothing wrong with these new versions but they do lack the `other wordly' aspect of the versions on CBTHS 1 and I would have preferred a simple remastering of these or a rework faithful to the essence and majesty of the originals. In that respect I will still play CBTS 1 (as opposed to CBTS 2) but this re work was a great idea and should be roundly applauded for the final result - simply put, if the original CBTS didn't exist this would cd be hailed as a rightful masterpiece.

In the right place, at the right time, this will have you welling up in places, and that's down to the sheer quality of the songs and the passionate performance - amazing CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare at their best, 11 Oct. 2012
By 
Andrew Mccubbin (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calm Before The Storm 2 (Audio CD)
This is a master stroke on Darren Wharton's part in given Dare and AOR fans a stronger Calm Before The Storm Album i believe having the orginal 98 cd the comparisons and studio production are greatly improved and including a new great song called Cold wind will blow, replacing Still loving you on the orginal .I only hope one day they can do the same with "Out of the Silence" debut album from way back in 1988.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Superb!!, 11 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Calm Before The Storm 2 (Audio CD)
After discovering Dare from their version of Thin Lizzy's Emerald on youtube I purchased the album 'Arc Of The Dawn' , which I absolutely love. I believe this new album was originally released 12 years ago, so decided to buy the new version. I must say, this is an absolutlely superb album. Maybe a little heavier than the previous album, but tracks like Calm before The storm, Ashes,Precious, just make my hairs stand on end.I'm buying Belief and Beneath The Shining Water next!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Opportunity missed., 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calm Before The Storm 2 (Audio CD)
When you wait several years for a band to release a new album, only to realise that their next CD is a remake of a previous one, then you would guess that your level of expectation might diminish as the release date becomes nearer. Dare have the knack of producing lovely melodies (Celtic in places) with subtle and moody gutar playing, and with darrens voice as soft as ever then this release brings a classic up to date with their most recent releases. I do however feel that this is a great opportunity lost, a CD with all new material would have been my preference, and with maybe the this CD as a bonus CD to accompany any new release would have left the fans feeling less cheated. I bought the CD knowing what I was buying, I am a fan, and I'm not disappointed in the quality of the work here, just disappointed that there is not enough new material contained - albeit I am still glad to hear the couple of new songs on this release.

Give us fans a full new album next time Darren, and please stay away from thinking about re-recording any old material unless you release it as a bonus disc with any new material.

Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anthemic, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calm Before The Storm 2 (Audio CD)
As always DARE product another anthemic album, have loved this band since day one and will continue to do so. The only album I didn't really take to was the more Irish one few years ago. Don't stop recording !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dare, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. A. Reid (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calm Before The Storm 2 (Audio CD)
Calm before the storm was brilliant and this disc is the same disc later in years. It is just slightly different in tone. I think the original is a bit rougher edged and I prefer that version but this is nice as well. It is a bit of an unneccassary purchase if you have the original version 1 but it is a good purchase nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DARE, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calm Before The Storm 2 (Audio CD)
Never heard of this band, but they are very good, walk on water excellent track, awsome lead guitar.
Try it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calm Before The Storm 2 (Audio CD)
Brilliant remixed version of the original album. Always a bit reluctant to buy a remixed version of an album I've already bought but this is brill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mostly improved, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this new version or rework is good,more clear,lyric changes,ok. downside is the last track deliverance.not as god as the original. so depending what mood i am in. more celtic original. more clear rework. better if a complete new album was available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD Review, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
Mrs. L. M. Kirkpatrick (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calm Before The Storm 2 (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed this CD. I have liked Dare from the very start and would recommend this group to anyone. Excellent CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Calm Before The Storm 2
Calm Before The Storm 2 by Dare (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews