Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screen Gem
I bought this monitor to go with a CyberPro gaming PC and it makes for a great combination as it's a bright panel with an even LED backlight that shows game graphics and video at good viewing angles.
Along with most other entry level screens these days the resolution is HD 1920 x 1080 by default, though this isn't a complaint, the screen is brilliant value and has...
Published 20 months ago by A John

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy monitor but terrible sound
I ordered this monitor to both be a bigger screen on which to watch movies from my laptop and to play PS3 games on. While the visuals are excellent and crisp, the sound quality is terrible. It has this annoying tinny quality to it and is very low. Luckily there are ports for external speakers and I had a spare set at home so the problem is solved now but for those buying...
Published 13 months ago by Mac


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screen Gem, 11 Aug. 2013
By 
A John (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI) (Accessory)
I bought this monitor to go with a CyberPro gaming PC and it makes for a great combination as it's a bright panel with an even LED backlight that shows game graphics and video at good viewing angles.
Along with most other entry level screens these days the resolution is HD 1920 x 1080 by default, though this isn't a complaint, the screen is brilliant value and has VGA, DVI and HDMI inputs.
21.5 inch widescreen at HD resolution is also great for excel spreadsheets and two pages of A4 side by side in portrait mode.
The screen controls are easy to use if you need to switch between inputs to connect a console over HDMI.
There are 5 built in preset modes for Scenery, Theater, Game, Night View, and Standard, but to be honest I've found standard is more than good enough.
Brilliant value for an entry level monitor at this size, definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy monitor but terrible sound, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI) (Accessory)
I ordered this monitor to both be a bigger screen on which to watch movies from my laptop and to play PS3 games on. While the visuals are excellent and crisp, the sound quality is terrible. It has this annoying tinny quality to it and is very low. Luckily there are ports for external speakers and I had a spare set at home so the problem is solved now but for those buying expecting excellent audio, please be aware of this. If you have external speakers available to you and have no problem dedicating their use to this, then this is an excellent monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant product, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI) (Accessory)
Came nicely packed, with both EU AND UK plug types (was dreading this, as another product I recently ordered came with an EU power cable when I live in the UK...) and works straight out of the box with no issues. Easy set up, outstanding picture quality and very smart looking.
P.S. For anyone wanting a more 'matte black' monitor, this isn't completely piano black glossy: it's only glossy on the front and top of the base panel, everywhere else it matte finish so is the best of both tastes and retains it's smart appearance.
A GREAT BUY, RECOMMENDED. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy buyer, 8 April 2013
By 
M. Eden (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI) (Accessory)
I bought this to replace an elderly 17"CRT, wow, about twice the amount of screen, was pleasantly suprised at the supplied cables, 3 pin UK & 2 pin Euro power cables, DVI, VGA and audio cables, no HDMI cable but I don't need one until I upgrade my motherboard. So I guess the DVI cable I bought separately can go back.
Set up was easy, clipped the base on, plugged in cables and off and running. Arrived promtly as expected with a Amazon stocked product.
The speakers are a bit weak and tinny as per other reviews but I expected that, they'll do fine for their intended occasional use save on desk clutter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI), 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI) (Accessory)
I will give this 5 stars, however, I do have a couple of niggles.

Firstly, as has already been mentioned, the sound is poor, even at maximum volume of 100, I can only assume that individual speakers may be much better, however, I have no room for such things and am not purchasing any just for this monitor.

Secondly, the menu icons at the bottom of the monitor for setting up and tweaking are extremely faint, I had to get a magnifying glass to see what they were when I unpacked the monitor out of the box, as it was impossible to read them even in broad daylight, and my eyesight isn't that bad. I was also a bit miffed that you can only set things up at arms length when the monitor was sat on a table, you have to fiddle with the buttons to obtain the best readings/settings, etc, then push the monitor away from you for a better ergonomical view, then pull it back towards you if you weren't happy and had to alter anything, I have it resting on a couple of big books as you can't alter the height of the stand, which is a bit of a palaver, I can tell ya......lol

Anyway, as to the monitor itself, it's top drawer, one of the best I've ever seen, the colours/lighting/various screen modes are superb, it's just like a brand new telly, vibrant and amazingly good at 21.5 inches widescreen, you can swivel the monitor up and down, very good for when you're lying on the sofa watching the football as the screen can be adjusted downwards by about 30 degrees, to enable you to see the picture clearly, so, well worth the money I purchased it for, another winner from Asus, at an affordable price, well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Above and beyond., 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI) (Accessory)
The LED display is fantastic, bright all day long and perfect for just about nay task (the different viewing modes really help).

Comes with both a European and UK plug and a few cables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great apart from 3 dead pixels just after 30 return expired !, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI) (Accessory)
Nice and clear and crisp image,

Use this to play DayZ and Assassins Creed Black flag,

The screen was faultless until as mentioned I got 3 dead pixels just over the 30 day return period,

Mildly annoyed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality at a low price, 29 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI) (Accessory)
Good quality pictures on this LED backlit monitor, especially for the money. Would benefit from better speakers but not an issue if connected to a separate sound system as I have done. Outer packaging an issue, pot luck if no damage on arrival!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good monitor so far, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI) (Accessory)
I've been only using it for an hour and after some simple brightness/contrast adjustments it looks very nice. From a student perspective, It's a good monitor for reading and typing. Arrived undamaged.

The power cable could be a bit longer;
The height cannot be adjusted, however the vertical angle can be adjusted, so that compensates for the height.
It's not a problem for me, but if you're looking for built in speakers, these ones are very quiet.

I gave 4 stars because of the delivery time. I ordered it via amazon prime, which suppose to come the next day (saturday, when I'm at home), however it only came on Monday, so it was very frustrating, additionally they didn't bother to update the tracking info for 2 days until I complained. The 'message alerts' are absent as well. As a compensation, my amazon prime free trial got extended by 1 month. Still not impressed with amazon logistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Budget Monitor, 17 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VE228HR 21.5-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 5ms, VGA, HDMI, DVI) (Accessory)
I've just set this up and its wonderful. For gamers or simply for web surfers this is great. It has everything. Lets go through it.

Picture Quality

Very nice indeed. Fired up Skyrim and its looks beautiful. Bright white pages like this one can be a bit much but the easy to navigate menu's make this easy to adjust. Only tiny criticism I can level against that is the buttons are not brightly labeled. You'll need to lean forward a bit to see what they do.

The Stand

Perhaps one of the best features. Even though its not height adjustable, that doesn't matter. The screen is raised higher than on many other monitors/TV's. You can also tilt it either forward or backwards compensating for the lack of a height adjustment feature. No more looking down at an uncomfortable angle for me! I can hit the desk on purpose and it doesn't wobble. Its doesn't wobble when using the menu buttons either. Very sturdy.

Sound

Far too quiet. It's not good enough for a serious gamer or movie buff. I'm not marking this down as many monitors these days come with rubbish speakers. Its pretty normal for these to be sub par. I use a proper set of speakers like any gamer should. So for me and many others this is a non issue.

Connections

Comes with one VGA, DVI and HDMI ports. It also comes with cables for all of these except for HDMI (doh!). I'm not marking that down, as again that's normal with monitors. Its also comes with both a UK and two pin plug.

Summary

Overall this is great for the price. The build quality feels nice. None of the minor cons are worth deducting a star for. Speaking of which the bezel is that 'dust and fingerprint magnet' glossy finish. However its another minor thing and from the looks of it the bezel maybe thin enough for a good multi monitor setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews