Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good hood for it's purpose and good bargain also., 10 April 2013
By 
J. R. Fryatt (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC LH-52 replacement Canon ES-52 Lens Hood for Canon EF 40mm f/2.8mm STM Lens (Electronics)
This little hood, or rather the actual Canon one, get's dismissed quite often in reviews of the EF 40mm lens.I can see why in a sense as it's small dimensions don't promise much actual lens shading. However, after dithering for a bit I decided to get one and I have to say that it does actually appear to offer at least some hooding, so it's not entirely pointless. The amount of shading is not great, but a deeper hood would spoil the compactness of the lens. Some commentators have also said that it's pointless as it doubles the size of the lens. This is just daft - the hood is nowhere near as big as the lens, I don't know where they got that one from.
So, within the context of keeping the whole package compact, I think this hood is fine. It may not contribute a huge amount to flare reduction but every little helps, and it does shield the lens front element somewhat against touching, water splashes and so on.
In terms of the actual JJC hood, this looks to be perfectly good, nicely made and so on. And less than half the price of the official Canon one. Result!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right, 11 Dec. 2013
By 
G. Ward (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC LH-52 replacement Canon ES-52 Lens Hood for Canon EF 40mm f/2.8mm STM Lens (Electronics)
The JJC LH-52 lens hood fits perfectly onto my 40mm STM and is basically a direct copy of the Canon product, at a much more sensible price.

I was expecting the hood to be made of plastic but was pleased to discover it is metal, probably aluminium.

So the JJC hood as an item is great and makes much more sense than the Canon product. The only remaining question is how much use such a shallow hood is in the first place. I've found it inconclusive so far but convince myself it must be better than nothing at all. For less than a tenner who's complaining?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lens Hood for 40mm STN lens, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC LH-52 replacement Canon ES-52 Lens Hood for Canon EF 40mm f/2.8mm STM Lens (Electronics)
Lens hood works perfectly well and allows other filters such as polarising filters to be easily screwed into and out of the front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is a bargain price, 6 Nov. 2014
By 
M. Williams "Matt Williams" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC LH-52 replacement Canon ES-52 Lens Hood for Canon EF 40mm f/2.8mm STM Lens (Electronics)
Compared to normal lens hoods this JJC metal lens hood is insanely small, protruding a small distance in front of the relatively tiny 40mm f/2.8 STM Canon lens.

This is going to sound silly, but do you really know it's working? What I'm hoping is that it has just slightly increased the quality of photos I get with my 40mm lens - just cutting out a little bit of lens flare.

I have been getting beautiful photos recently so it's staying on my lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... this tiny JJC LH-52 Lens Hood to be an excellent, modestly priced replacement, 6 April 2015
By 
A. D. Balderstone "sandy b." (Lancashire - England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC LH-52 replacement Canon ES-52 Lens Hood for Canon EF 40mm f/2.8mm STM Lens (Electronics)
I have found this tiny JJC LH-52 Lens Hood to be an excellent ,modestly priced replacement, for it's more costly Canon counterpart : a very good buy!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC LH-52 replacement Canon ES-52 Lens Hood for Canon EF 40mm f/2.8mm STM Lens (Electronics)
The same quality as original Canon hood, at a fraction of their price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars value for money, 19 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC LH-52 replacement Canon ES-52 Lens Hood for Canon EF 40mm f/2.8mm STM Lens (Electronics)
Very good, high quality, I recommend 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC LH-52 replacement Canon ES-52 Lens Hood for Canon EF 40mm f/2.8mm STM Lens (Electronics)
Product fine, no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC LH-52 replacement Canon ES-52 Lens Hood for Canon EF 40mm f/2.8mm STM Lens (Electronics)
Very good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews