Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Start
I'm surprised that nobody else has posted a review yet, but that's why I'm here now I guess. WvA was made as a sort-of replacement for The Sarah Jane Adventures after the wonderful Elisabeth Sladen passed away. The main plot of the show is pretty much in the title, with aliens harvesting the magic from wizards as a kind of energy supply. The series is made up of 6...
Published 23 months ago by JustAnotherTimeLord

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just Awful
This tried to replace the much-missed Sarah Jane Adventures following the death of Elisabeth Sladen.

It failed, despite having some strong names in front of the camera and behind it.

The biggest problem for me was that, while the SJAs would occasionally have silly moments (farting Slitheen), they still maintained a parity with the parent programme...
Published 6 months ago by Scousebadger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Start, 21 Dec 2012
I'm surprised that nobody else has posted a review yet, but that's why I'm here now I guess. WvA was made as a sort-of replacement for The Sarah Jane Adventures after the wonderful Elisabeth Sladen passed away. The main plot of the show is pretty much in the title, with aliens harvesting the magic from wizards as a kind of energy supply. The series is made up of 6 2-parters, all of which are really well made, even if they all share a few flaws, but it's its first season so it's to be expected. The main characters consist of Tom and Benny, who are likeable enough, but we sometimes have to wonder why they're suddenly such good friends despite the bullying Tom gives Benny at the beginning of the series. The second story of the season 'Grazlax Attacks' is in my opinion the best as it is a nice little monster story that reminds you of movies like 'Gremlins'. The season has an emotional and satisfying last story that promises more in the second season. Overall, I found this first season to be funny, exciting and very entertaining and cannot wait for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good family viewing., 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizards vs. Aliens (Bluray) (DVD)
Very good family viewing, in keeping with Dr Who and Sarah Jane adventures, full of great special effects and stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 4 year old loves it..., 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 4 year old loves Doctor Who, but having watched all the new series box sets, i wanted something else for him. He was reluctant to swap out DW, but once it started he was hooked. great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing series!, 3 Nov 2013
By 
R. Adams "rick1138" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series is great, much in the same spirit as The Sarah Jane Adventures which is to be expected. The leads are excellent and the stories are easy to follow and understand. Highly entertaining and rewatchable for kids (and big kids!) alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun., 3 Jun 2013
By 
N. Moore "paneuro99" (Orihuela, SPAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD, that has subtitles, is superb entertainment. Well done BBC! I use it with my kids who are learning English and they lap it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my son adores it, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought it as a birthday present after my son (10) loved watching it on TV... he adores it and watches it over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising hit, 9 Jun 2013
By 
L. Smith "lornasmith52" (Cross Hills, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny, clever, brilliant! Bought this out of curiousity. Did not even realise it was an RTD effort. Watched it on a sunny Sunday afternoon. OH endorses everything I say ... We enjoyed every minute. The young leads were very good, younger people watching this must have found new heart throbs. Some might suggest the cast is a little PC but the humour, tension and back stories of the main characters make this an enjoyable and well worthwhile spend. Looking forward to the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Number one series!, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grandchildren absolutely love this DVD - they are now looking forward to the next series on the television, can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wizards vs Aliens Series 1, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wizards vs Aliens Series 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just Awful, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This tried to replace the much-missed Sarah Jane Adventures following the death of Elisabeth Sladen.

It failed, despite having some strong names in front of the camera and behind it.

The biggest problem for me was that, while the SJAs would occasionally have silly moments (farting Slitheen), they still maintained a parity with the parent programme that meant children watching were not treated like idiots.

This was not the case with WvsA. This came across like a hastily-cobbled together Harry Potter clone with sci-fi elements chucked in. Plus Brian Blessed giving us "pantomime villain on LSD".

I know this show has its fans, but all it did was make me miss the SJAs even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wizards vs. Aliens (Bluray)
Wizards vs. Aliens (Bluray) by Scott Haran (DVD - 2012)
£10.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews