Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..?
I first could a glimpse of this movie while looking thru 'haunted' items on Youtube.
I saw Steve Waddington was in the cast so I thought this can't be too bad? All in all, it's a good film, with a few chilling moments. One actually raises the hairs on the back of you're neck. A good cast & a well presented story. Also, I must mention, a great attention to detail - a...
Published 21 months ago by RickAnne

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Pontefract Poltergeist.
When the Lights Went Out is written and directed by Pat Holden. It stars Steven Waddington, Kate Ashfield, Natasha Connor, Craig Parkinson, Jo Hartley and Martin Compston. Film is based on alleged real life events that were recorded in Pontefract, England, in 1974. After the Pritchard family moved into their new house on the Chequerfield Estate, poltergeist activity...
Published 22 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Pontefract Poltergeist., 9 Feb 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When the Lights Went Out is written and directed by Pat Holden. It stars Steven Waddington, Kate Ashfield, Natasha Connor, Craig Parkinson, Jo Hartley and Martin Compston. Film is based on alleged real life events that were recorded in Pontefract, England, in 1974. After the Pritchard family moved into their new house on the Chequerfield Estate, poltergeist activity reached such a level it has been called the most violent poltergeist haunting ever witnessed in Europe.

Director Holden, who made the criminally under valued Awaydays, helms his picture with genuine love and thought for the topic. Being related to the Pritchard family he had wanted to make the film for some time, it's a noble effort even though it never achieves all that it can.

There are two main problems that will ensure the film will stay rooted on the bottom shelves of DVD stockists and collectors. Problem one is that it is uncomfortable in mixing comedy with drama, something that practically kills a key scene in the last quarter. It's useful to understand that these Yorkshire folk are made of tough stuff, ready to offer a quip in the face of adversity, but it has to be pitched right and here it negates much of the pent-up terror.

The other key issue is that it's so stunning in its period design (this really deserves the highest praise for the makers), anyone from the 1970s is guaranteed to be spending much of the film pointing out things and reminiscing. I know I was! Garish wallpaper designs, toys like Slinky and Buckaroo, rum and pep and Babycham in the smoky pubs, The Sweet singing Little Willy and a hairy Noel Edmonds on Top of the Pops, these are just some of the things to make film fans who were reared in the 70s smile during this particular horror film!

As a tale it's creepy enough, the cold backdrop of a Yorkshire council estate suits the story no end, and in spite of a bad misstep when Holden uses CGI in the finale, the shocks and unease moments are nicely handled. While the human interest factor always remains high and there's a bit of thought within the writing to off set the normal question of "why don't they just move house?".

It's also well performed by the cast, with youngster Connor really shining bright, and with Holden keeping things brisk the picture never gets bogged down with pointless scene fillers. Is it scary? Away from the flares, wallpaper and hair styles that is! Well no it isn't really, it's more an effective ghost yarn than anything else. So needless to say, the bloodlust gore crowd or those expecting a battle between religion and demon, need not apply here. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..?, 17 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: When The Lights Went Out [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I first could a glimpse of this movie while looking thru 'haunted' items on Youtube.
I saw Steve Waddington was in the cast so I thought this can't be too bad? All in all, it's a good film, with a few chilling moments. One actually raises the hairs on the back of you're neck. A good cast & a well presented story. Also, I must mention, a great attention to detail - a fantastic 70's look & feel - A lot of us (you know who you are) of a certain age will be taken back to our childhoods. You will not be disappointed in this film if you're a fan of the genre. Remember, to enjoy the film, as though you're there. Happy hauntings :O)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my gosh!!!, 28 May 2013
I cant believe I only just saw this yesterday! I loved it so much! It's really well done and I was impressed that it was set in the 1970s I forgot in some parts it literally does look like something pulled off the shelf from that era. There weren't any modern slip ups in it, it literally looked as though it was set in that time it was flawless and amazing.
The movie is sort of suspenseful all the way through its pretty much a normal movie though it's not like most American found footage movies where you'll suddenly have a "Flippin heck!" moment! It's done very subtly so the activity is happening all the way throughout the movie. It starts out when the family move to the new house and their daughter, Sally is the first to discover the paranormal activity but her parents do not believe her at first then the spirit soon starts to make contact with both her parents and anybody whom enters the household!!!
There was a steady climb to the amount of cussing in the movie it started out clean or with a few subtle ones but then the F word and S word entered in a little more towards the end. I don't mind I just didn't think it was necessary. There aren't any scenes of nudity or anything like that so its pretty suitable anyone. Its not totally scary as I said its more a constant state of suspence which I enjoyed. I loved the ending just when you think your getting the cliché everythings okay now ending BANG it starts up again I LOVED THAT!!! :D I really enjoyed the movie and i'd recommend it to anyone. Its even good if your not fond of scary movies.
If you haven't already do check out the movie paranormal activity, believe the hype its awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly enjoyable. Nothing brilliant though., 4 Aug 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: When The Lights Went Out [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's OK. Hardly groundbreaking or terrifying but it was watchable. The story behind the film is quite interesting and I'm glad I watched it because, if for no other reason, it informed me of this piece of British folklore.

Don't expect the world and you won't be disappointed. It's no Exorcist, but it has a certain quaint British charm to it which makes it more enjoyable than a lot of other lack lustre American horrors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky, 2 Mar 2014
By 
S. Cook "stevetygertiger" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cracking ghost story but what impressed me most was the nice authentic1970's feel, from the browns and oranges of the clothes and décor to the blokes 'up the pub' with the 'missus' staying home sharing a bottle of Blue Nun.
Usually a depiction of the 70's is nothing more than a chopper bike and an old car stuck in the street, the whole feel of this chucked me right back to a time of three channels of black and white TV, flares and chewits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Film, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Miss B. D. Harris "Bernie H" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a good little film, I have watched it a couple of times now and would recommend this film to anyone who likes old fashioned ghost stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film., 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you for this film, I was going to buy it on blu-ray but it was way too much money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An uninspiring film but interesting back-story, 1 Nov 2013
It's a shame the film didn't make more of the back-story of the monk and the theories as to where this haunting came from. It should have avoided the special effects and jump scares and focused on developing the history, which would have made the film a lot more chilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the lights went out!!, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film based on a true story based in Yorkshire in the 70/s I thinks really really enjoyed this would defiantly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see a film in yorkshire, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a refreshing change to see a horror film set in yorkshire on a housing estate, wont give plot away, but i enjoyed this film, good characters, seen more frightening movies, but different things scare different people! Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When The Lights Went Out [Blu-ray]
When The Lights Went Out [Blu-ray] by Pat Holden (Blu-ray - 2013)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews