Customer Reviews


462 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (41)
1 star:
 (135)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A good watch, but nothing like the original.
This certainly polarized the reviews, eh? I was put off by the less enthusiastic reviews so waited until it was broadcast to watch it, but I did enjoy it. The original Sweeney it ain't but it does shock in the same way the original shocked the Z-cars generation so if that was the intention then well done. If you were after a shiny new version of the classic TV show be...
Published 14 days ago by Nick Bailey

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Sweeney
The obvious flaw with this movie is that it simply cannot decide what it wants to be. With cop and criminal shoot outs near the fountain in Trafalger square, it could be argued that it wants to be Mann's 'Heat'. With Ray Winstone making weapons from socks in a prison cell it may also want to be 'Scum'.

What it isn't is 'The Sweeney'. Gone is 70s London, being...
Published 10 months ago by Graeme Bottomley


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Sweeney, 1 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Sweeney (Amazon Instant Video)
The obvious flaw with this movie is that it simply cannot decide what it wants to be. With cop and criminal shoot outs near the fountain in Trafalger square, it could be argued that it wants to be Mann's 'Heat'. With Ray Winstone making weapons from socks in a prison cell it may also want to be 'Scum'.

What it isn't is 'The Sweeney'. Gone is 70s London, being replaced with modern tower blocks (the Police budget seems to be in good shape again). Gone is the character of old school detectives, being replaced with gangsters holding warrant cards.

This is Nick Love territory, which means we are once again treated to cockney hard cases, the only difference being the badge. They are typical Love cliches in a different setting, football hooligans from Hendon, criminals stereotypes on the right side of the law.

A modern telling of a tv classic requires a writer and director with versatility and that is what Nick Love always lacks. He is a one trick pony with a licence to make the same kind of movie over and over again...and nothing about this movie will change that opinion.

The naff modern Sweeney theme at the end is the cherry on a very cheap and tasteless cake.

If you like Winstone and cockney hard men flexing muscles, this is for you. If you are a Sweeney fan...watch your box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 78 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Average Cop Thriller, 6 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Sweeney [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As an occasional viewer of the original series and having watched the John Thaw movie version, this is nothing like the "Sweeney". Switching to a modern day setting doesn't help the cause, nor does the casting - Ray Winstone just plays his average hard man persona and Ben Drew is hopelessly miscast as George Carter. Gone is the wise-cracking sidekick, replaced instead by the foul mouthed oaf from Harry Brown. Mr. Drew needs to work on his repertoire a little bit if he wants to be more than a UK imitation of Eminem. They'd have been better off with Statham in that part.

The plot is largely predictable with stereotyped Eastern European bad guys, little in the way of "detective" work and a "shock" two thirds of the way through it was fairly obvious they have been building towards since the opening scene. Ray Winstone's "sex" scenes with a colleague young enough to be his grand-daughter make you squirm and there's a surprising number of "F" and "C" bombs for a 15 certificate movie.

Another rental only job, I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pull your trousers up you are being arrested, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweeney [DVD] (DVD)
When I went to see this at the cinema the ambulance service were bringing a corpse out through the doors as I arrived, I wondered if this was going to be an omen, and it pretty much was. I've seen porn movies with better plots. I don't want to say too much for the sake of those fortunate enough not to have seen it yet, but certain elements pushed reality just that little bit further than it could be comfortably pushed. Would Regan really steal gold? Could a few crooks successfully hold the Mets finest at bay between Trafalgar Square and St James Park, a shootout her majesty the Queen could have seen from an upstairs window at Buck House? Should the role of Carter really have been given to a rapper? As for the ballistics (no, I said ballistics)even a weekend paintballer will spot the errors, but I don't want to go into that as it would give to much away, and goodness knows this script doesn't have that much to give.

It goes without saying that it isn't a patch on the original, though to be honest even those 2 films weren't exactly robbed at Oscar time, still I had to see it, and in a strange masochistic way i'm glad I did. Ray Winstone did manage to get the famous 'get yer trousers on' speech in, sort of, and when you see his saggy Fruit Of The Looms you'll be saying the same to him.

I've given it 2 stars as it's entertaining in its own way, and i'd probably buy it if the price drops below £3. As for the DVD covers statement 'The Best British Action Movie In Years', if you lied like that to Jack Regan he'd drown you in your own sweat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time ,never mind your money, 22 May 2014
By 
Dean Calculator (newport, gwent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweeney [DVD] (DVD)
Just watching this on amazon prime ,and it is amazng.....Ly awful !,,,I love Ray Winstone and Plan B had a good tune a year or two ago ,and I loved the original Sweeney but this is shocking ! The script is the problem it is rubbish ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Terrible!, 10 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Sweeney [DVD] (DVD)
Terrible story, terrible acting, terrible casting.........

Ray Winstone plays his usual stereotype, with a 12 year old partner who just mumbles incoherently throughout the film, thus leading to you needing the sub-titles on to follow the flimsy story. Both play throw away characters who you wish profusely would meet an early demise.

As mentioned by other reviewers the sex scene between Ray and his grand-daughter was vile and nearly made me stop watching the film after the first 20 minutes. I actually soldiered on for a little while longer and then turned it off as the Drew fella wound me up far too much and I found myself praying for not just the character but the "actor" to........ mumble mumble mumble....... Aaaaaarrrrgggghhhhh

I think all copies of this movie need to be destroyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable Tosh, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweeney [DVD] (DVD)
If you can get this movie for a few pennies on the market place - then it is worth a watch, but only if you are a Ray Winstone fan. It has no essence of the original Sweeney, no believability, and nothing to set it apart from a hundred other movies...I really didn't care if the new Regan & Carter met their end in a hail of bullets....thus removing the potential for a sequel !! The screenwriters really shouldn't have skipped screenwriting 101 classes and set a more realistic love interest for Regan and made Carter look older than twelve. In summary, a bit of a turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Bad, 29 Oct. 2013
By 
Andy (UK Wickwar) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sweeney [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the worst films i have ever seen EVER. The acting, characters and plot is appalling. There are so many faults with this film it would take days to list them. If i had been unfortunate to see this at the Cinema i would have been demanding my money back. This film is up there with; Battlefield Earth, Highlander 2, The Happening, Batman & Robin, Jaws 3 4 5 etc Battleship and Death Proof. Don't waste your time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Oi You Muppet Show, 28 Jun. 2014
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Sweeney [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The third film spinoff of the hugely popular 70s cop show The Sweeney is so in thrall to mockney geezer clichés that it could almost be called The Oi You Muppet Show. At first misleadingly seeming a slight improvement on the first 1977 film but a considerable step down from 1978's Sweeney 2, as you might expect from cinema's high priest of big-on-DVD lad culture Nick Love it's full of macho swagger and attitude but never rings true for a moment, the script reading like a succession of 70s clichés as read by nice middle class children pretending to be cockney cops and robbers in the playground. When he's dealing with the blaggings and shootouts its capable enough, but all the laddish banter inbetween bits clumsily nicked from his favourite movies (Heat, Robocop, The French Connection) feels forced and often wildly unconvincing.

Despite a few laughable lines such as the immortal "Awmed wobbewy in pwogwess" thanks to the affected Ali G/Tim Westwood Jamaican accent (you'd think they'd at least hire someone who could pronounce Cawtew and Wegan properly) and some childish gangsta posturing that simply makes him look mentally handicapped, the wildly miscast Ben Drew does better than expected in the Dennis Waterman role while still never convincing for a moment that he's a highly promising cop, intelligent or otherwise, anymore than Hank Worden could have done. Ray Winstone isn't so lucky, reduced to a ridiculous unconscious self-parody of himself in John Thaw's size nines, phoning in the tired OTT monologues about the law being on the side of the slags and those ponces on high trying to stop him doing his job because they don't like the old school way he gets results while they sit behind desks. And the less said about his sex scenes with Hayley Atwell the better (was there ever a more blatant attempt at providing a film's target audience with unlikely wish fulfilment?). It's as if the director has a bet to see how ridiculous he can make Winstone look without him cottoning on. Bizarrely, aside from the always capably unpleasant Alan Ford, the most convincing performance comes from Damien Lewis as their cockney boss, and when an Old Etonian is the most believable cockney in a film you know something's amiss.

It's the kind of film that bends over backwards to get a villain into a car without his trousers so Winstone can utter the show's signature line "Get your trousers on, you're nicked" but which completely lacks the series' impression that its characters really did know their business. Which cuts to the quick of the problem: Love knows the catchphrases and knows the show has a potentially lucrative fanbase to tap into but he really doesn't understand how it worked. While you have to give him kudos on purely logistical grounds for managing to stage a big shootout in Trafalgar Square, it's so determined to out-Heat Michael Mann's Heat in the firepower stakes that it ends up making the Sweeney look like moronic gun happy incompetents who let all the bad guys get away and kill lots and lots of innocent bystanders in the process. When Steve Macintosh's standard issue cardboard cutout miserable internal affairs nemesis berates him for his criminal recklessness, rather than siding with Winstone you can't help but agree with him that the dangerous buffoon belongs behind bars. Which doesn't take long as he goes on a shortlived and spectacularly inept vigilante rampage, promptly followed by Drew going on a vigilante rampage of his own but somehow not damaging his career prospects despite being caught cold bloodedly murdering four people and trying to execute a fifth after torturing him. As the last half hour descends into little more than a pair of inept morons making one incredibly moronic mistake after another to keep the body count rising you find yourself wondering whether Love is a moron himself or just thinks his audience is. If it's the latter, the film's box-office failure despite a very modest budget shows how wrong he was.

The UK Bluray comes with several featurettes you probably won't feel like watching after seeing the movie but doesn't include the director's commentary from the US disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the sweeneys doin 90, cos they got no place to go, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Sweeney [DVD] (DVD)
This is yet another addition to the geezer school of British film making. A charmless remake of the classic series.

Ray Winstone is miscast as a supposedly loveable fascist, while Ben Drew is miscast as the protegy, about an eighth of his size. Messrs Mackintosh and Lewis are miscast as ineffectual senior policemen.

The film is nicely shot, it does zip along, with some half decent scenes, though mostly pale imitations of better scenes in better films. Much of the dialogue cannot be made out.

By the end I was rooting for the villains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Obnoxious, charmless, ugly., 19 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Sweeney (Amazon Instant Video)
Bear in mind I'm only reviewing the first twenty-minutes before I switched it off.

The film sums itself up with a scene in a lift, close to when I gave up on it. Uncle Ray, Hayley Atwell and the man Hayley is supposed to be married to all get in a lift together. Ray is sleeping Hayley - he's just had his grubby two minutes with her in a lavatory. They all ride the lift together and Ray's face sort of inflates and deflates in an effort to show how unfazed he is that he is sleeping with this man's wife. Eventually the husband gets out, and then Ray turns his massive head to Hayley and his lips start pulsating, throbbing, wobbling about. And credit to Hayley - she doesn't ruin this particular take by crying, or being sick in her mouth. 'Wa-hey!' we are presumably meant to think. 'Go on, my son! Give it to her! Show that bloke who has to wear a suit to work and work behind a desk who is boss. Get in there, Ray.' But thankfully the lift arrives at the floor, and Ray's undulating mouth goes unfed. Minutes later he meets the husband again - in a professional capacity, and asks to look at his bollocks.

Nothing about it so far had been thrilling, engaging, amusing or entertaining. It was mostly Uncle Ray swearing at people, perhaps in an effort to show how grim n' gritty this world is. I'm guessing we are supposed to be rooting for him, while he swaggers about eating chips and pulling lusty faces at poor Hayley Atwell - who has to lick his head in a, frankly, revolting sex scene in a toilet. He and Plan B strut about telling other people how to do their jobs, insulting pretty much everyone they come across - but they're tough geezers who go after the proper villains, so we should be fine with that. That's about it as far as characterisation goes. A bunch of wankers calling other people wankers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sweeney [Blu-ray]
The Sweeney [Blu-ray] by Nick Love (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews