Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
574
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2013
As an occasional viewer of the original series and having watched the John Thaw movie version, this is nothing like the "Sweeney". Switching to a modern day setting doesn't help the cause, nor does the casting - Ray Winstone just plays his average hard man persona and Ben Drew is hopelessly miscast as George Carter. Gone is the wise-cracking sidekick, replaced instead by the foul mouthed oaf from Harry Brown. Mr. Drew needs to work on his repertoire a little bit if he wants to be more than a UK imitation of Eminem. They'd have been better off with Statham in that part.

The plot is largely predictable with stereotyped Eastern European bad guys, little in the way of "detective" work and a "shock" two thirds of the way through it was fairly obvious they have been building towards since the opening scene. Ray Winstone's "sex" scenes with a colleague young enough to be his grand-daughter make you squirm and there's a surprising number of "F" and "C" bombs for a 15 certificate movie.

Another rental only job, I'm afraid.
55 comments| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
When I went to see this at the cinema the ambulance service were bringing a corpse out through the doors as I arrived, I wondered if this was going to be an omen, and it pretty much was. I've seen porn movies with better plots. I don't want to say too much for the sake of those fortunate enough not to have seen it yet, but certain elements pushed reality just that little bit further than it could be comfortably pushed. Would Regan really steal gold? Could a few crooks successfully hold the Mets finest at bay between Trafalgar Square and St James Park, a shootout her majesty the Queen could have seen from an upstairs window at Buck House? Should the role of Carter really have been given to a rapper? As for the ballistics (no, I said ballistics)even a weekend paintballer will spot the errors, but I don't want to go into that as it would give to much away, and goodness knows this script doesn't have that much to give.

It goes without saying that it isn't a patch on the original, though to be honest even those 2 films weren't exactly robbed at Oscar time, still I had to see it, and in a strange masochistic way i'm glad I did. Ray Winstone did manage to get the famous 'get yer trousers on' speech in, sort of, and when you see his saggy Fruit Of The Looms you'll be saying the same to him.

I've given it 2 stars as it's entertaining in its own way, and i'd probably buy it if the price drops below £3. As for the DVD covers statement 'The Best British Action Movie In Years', if you lied like that to Jack Regan he'd drown you in your own sweat!
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
If this wasn't called 'The Sweeney' you wouldn't know it was based on the TV series as it bears no relation to the classic series whatsoever. Apparently it took six years to make. Unfortunately in all that time they seem to have lost sight of what this film was supposed to represent. It ultimately fails in just about every way. What they seem to have done is create a very average action/crime thriller (Danny Dyer type), and then given it the title 'The Sweeney' simply to sell it. That's it. The ultimate insult is the inclusion of a mangled and butchered version of Harry South's classic theme at the end; it sounds like a tape getting chewed up and ruined by a tape deck. Ironically this seems to symbolise what they have done to the whole Sweeney franchise. Shame.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 December 2012
This should not have even been attempted - John Thaw & Dennis Waterman were AND are THE Sweeney. We paid money to see this in the cinema and the comments among the others present said it all - and that was about 10 minutes into the film. The fact somebody even thought this a 'good idea' is beyond belief. Won't wait for Sweeney 2... End of story.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
This film does not work.... Which ever way you look at it it fails.
As a 'homage' to the tv series it fails miserably
As an updated/reimagining of the series it fails
As a stand alone thriller that simply uses the title of the old series it fails.

The script is cringingly awful as is some of the acting at times.
There is no plot, no coherent story, not even the slightest nod to any kind of authenticity
Piss poor dialogue, piss poor direction.
A complete waste of time energy and talent.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
The obvious flaw with this movie is that it simply cannot decide what it wants to be. With cop and criminal shoot outs near the fountain in Trafalger square, it could be argued that it wants to be Mann's 'Heat'. With Ray Winstone making weapons from socks in a prison cell it may also want to be 'Scum'.

What it isn't is 'The Sweeney'. Gone is 70s London, being replaced with modern tower blocks (the Police budget seems to be in good shape again). Gone is the character of old school detectives, being replaced with gangsters holding warrant cards.

This is Nick Love territory, which means we are once again treated to cockney hard cases, the only difference being the badge. They are typical Love cliches in a different setting, football hooligans from Hendon, criminals stereotypes on the right side of the law.

A modern telling of a tv classic requires a writer and director with versatility and that is what Nick Love always lacks. He is a one trick pony with a licence to make the same kind of movie over and over again...and nothing about this movie will change that opinion.

The naff modern Sweeney theme at the end is the cherry on a very cheap and tasteless cake.

If you like Winstone and cockney hard men flexing muscles, this is for you. If you are a Sweeney fan...watch your box set.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Just watching this on amazon prime ,and it is amazng.....Ly awful !,,,I love Ray Winstone and Plan B had a good tune a year or two ago ,and I loved the original Sweeney but this is shocking ! The script is the problem it is rubbish ...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 November 2015
A word of warning. If, like me, you have an affection for the classic 1970s show then under no circumstances succumb to the temptation to watch this film. How bad could it be? The answer is "Very". Unlike successful film adaptations of classic TV shows (e.g. The Brady Bunch Movie, The Adams Family, Starsky and Hutch) this adaptation of The Sweeney has virtually nothing common with the original show, apart from retaining the names of Jack Regan and George Carter. Where John Thaw and Dennis Waterman brought dark humour, chemistry, world weariness and humanity to their hard cop roles, Ray Winstone's Regan (and I'm a Winstone fan) is a boorish, swaggering, sweary, thug - a repulsive individual. Ben 'Plan B' Drew is even worse as Carter. He sleepwalks through the film and is one of the least convincing cops I've ever seen. The plot, such as it is, is ludicrous. A great shame, as an updated version of The Sweeney had the potential to be something special. This film is a brainless succession of predictable set pieces. The only surprising thing about it is that The Sweeney work out of a spacious, hi-tech corporate office in the City and not a police station.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
You'll have me crying in a minute - so bin it!

They want me to write 20 words or more regarding this utter crap! Well you could buy it and drive a Focus ST over it!. Or burn it! Shred it! Send it to your local gangster to give em a laugh!

Done! Sorry for me mood, but I've had no dinner son!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
I was really looking forward to this film. I thought Ray Winstone would be good as Jack Regan. How disappointed I was. Why remake a film but do little to make it resemble the original? The producers would have been better off doing something completely new. OK, maybe for someone who has never seen the orignial Sweeney this may have been of interest, but I think this attempt was pants. Talking of pants. RW's delivery of the immortal words 'Get yer trousers on, your nicked!' John Thaw must be laughing his head off somewhere. I really like Ray Winstone but this was not his best I'm afraid.
I should think Patrick Mower (now of Emmerdale, not that I watch it)) must also be having a laugh. I was watching an episode of the tv series Special Branch (made by Euston Films in 1973/1974 before they made The Sweeney tv series) and was surprised to hear DI Haggerty (Mower) say 'Get yer trousers on, you're nicked! Incientally, if you like The Sweeney tv series I recommend Special Branch, the later series not the studio bound first attempt with Derren Nesbitt.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.