Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another rewarding SF collection
The 5th Megapack has a higher proportion of modern stories and fewer of the `classic' SF staples from the 1940s and 1950s than its predecessors, but once more offers readers a varied collection of entertaining tales at budget price.

These stories range from the traditional spaceships and suns adventure by Keith Laumer to the challenging proposition of...
Published on 12 Oct. 2012 by Mondoro

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Collections are always a bit of a gamble but generally if there are a couple of good stories in there it makes the purchase price worthwhile. Entirely down to personal taste but unfortunately I found nothing in this one to make even its bargain basement price justifiable
Published 24 months ago by S. Grainger


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another rewarding SF collection, 12 Oct. 2012
By 
Mondoro (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
The 5th Megapack has a higher proportion of modern stories and fewer of the `classic' SF staples from the 1940s and 1950s than its predecessors, but once more offers readers a varied collection of entertaining tales at budget price.

These stories range from the traditional spaceships and suns adventure by Keith Laumer to the challenging proposition of alternative universes in Nourse's `Circus', varied dystopias like Robert Sheckley's society, in which consumer debt continues across generation, uncomfortably close to today's reality, and the chilling world of the final story, Schweitzer's `Fire Eggs'. The cleverest stories are Sheldon's `This is Klon Calling', with its cunning twist at the end, and Pamela Sargent's little dig at authors' agents, who are out to cheat their clients whatever the universe they are in. The only story that does not work logically is Raphael's `Code Three', (1964) which anyone familiar with multilane motorways will unpick quite easily. Once again the editors have chosen several light-hearted, humorous stories to balance more serious fare: `The Big Bounce' and the amusing `Starship Mechanic'. I enjoyed especially Westlake's 'Risk Profession' with its Asimov-style denouement.

More power to the elbow of the Wildside Press and their SF Megapack editorial team. Let's hope we don't have to wait too long for the 6th Megapack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Megafifth of Science Fiction, 8 Oct. 2012
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
This is the fifth Science Fiction Megapack, following the success of the first four volumes, The Science Fiction Megapack: 25 Modern & Classic Tales by Masters, The Second Science Fiction Megapack, The Third Science Fiction Megapack, and The Fourth Science Fiction Megapack. There are 25 stories in this collection.

Six of the stories were particularly enjoyable to me. Your mileage may vary.

Jay Lake and Ken Scholes' "The Starship Mechanic" opens with Penauch, a many-appendaged alien, working in an otherwise ordinary Borderlands bookstore. With its ability to repair almost anything, it is surely missed from wherever it came from.

Carol Emshwiller's "Grandma" explores the post-retirement lifestyle of a superhero. I like to think the creators of The Incredibles read this story while doing their background research.

Cory Doctorow's "I, Robot" has no relationship to Isaac Asimov's much longer I, Robot beyond its title. A policeman and his son become involved with a group of robots. There is more diversity than one expects.

Grania Davis' "Jumping the Line" will appeal to anyone who has stood in line at the Department of Motor Vehicles. Bi and his parents' family are in line. It moves slowly across the landscape with no remembered beginning and an unknown, perhaps nonexistent end. Nothing is more important than keeping your place in line.

Alan Nourse's "Circus" is an extended restaurant conversation between two men who have just met. The first man tells an improbable story of arriving from very, very far away. The second man believes it.

Darrell Schweitzer's "The Fire Eggs" explores a future Earth with a pervasive and inexplicable alien presence. Large, luminous, floating egg-shaped objects appear all over the planet and just stay in place for decades. A good explanation does not present itself.

This is a very good collection of older science fiction stories. If you are a science fiction fan, I recommend buying it and reading it. If your taste runs to more current work, I suggest either Gardner Dozois' The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Ninth Annual Collection or David Hartwell and Kathryn Cramer's Year's Best SF 17.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A consistently pleasing series, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
This fifth volume in the Science Fiction Megapack lives up to expectations. Good stories which are a pleasure to read. The Megapack series of Science Fiction stories has been my find of the year for 2012. Each of them has provided stories which are thought-provoking, entertaining and endlessly fascinating. I have all five of the volumes on my Kindle and hope that there are more in the pipe-line. Any SF fan would be pleased to own any of them. Dive in and fill your boots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Varied entertaining collection., 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
There are some very good short stories in this collection which kept my interest throughout the read.
Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
I have always liked science fiction and these Megapacks are very good value for money on the Kindle. It would be better if it was possible to go to an index of stories and select a specific one from that index but that's an issue with the Kindle rather than the content of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4/5 as a person who likes science fiction, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
Some of the stories were a bit bizarre - one I scrolled through only reading a few words each page but, on the whole, enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like old sci-fi this is a good one to have around., 5 Dec. 2012
By 
Latenighter (South-East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
Good value for the money - some very well-known authors here. As you would expect, some stories are more enjoyable than others, but that's a matter of taste, I thought all well-written and worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
I like these Megapacks. They have a decent mix of old and new(ish) stories which keep me entertained for as long as it takes me to read them. Some of the concepts and details (smoking anyone?) age the stories to a degree but that's acceptable for an anthology.

And the author specific packs are a good way of looking into someones work.

Excellent value for money and well worth 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi Megapack 5, 5 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. Nicholas Wright "Nick Wright" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
I have purchased a number of these "Megapacks" and have been delighted with the quantity and quality of each one. These are just the thing to have on your kindle to read when you have a spare half-hour or so and don`t want to get pulled into a bigger story. (You know the feeling when you don`t want to put a book down?).
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack (Kindle Edition)
A great collection of short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fifth Science Fiction Megapack
£0.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews