Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining adventures
The stories from issues #1-4 of IDW's Star Trek comic book are collected as Star Trek Volume 1. There are two two-issue stories presented here - "Where No Man Has Gone Before" and "The Galileo Seven", both adapted from the original TV series' stories. These are very-well told stories, with good art and scripting. These characters really do feel like the crew from the...
Published 9 months ago by No More Mr. Mice Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a rehash for newer fans
As an 'original' Trekkie I might be a little biased that the older series was the best and that is certainly true. However I liked the film reboot and enjoyed its new take on the ST universe.
Don't get me wrong now, I understand that the writers still have to loosely follow the original arc, but I was a little disappointed that they didn't take a little more creative...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. C. Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining adventures, 26 Dec 2013
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Trek Volume 1 (Paperback)
The stories from issues #1-4 of IDW's Star Trek comic book are collected as Star Trek Volume 1. There are two two-issue stories presented here - "Where No Man Has Gone Before" and "The Galileo Seven", both adapted from the original TV series' stories. These are very-well told stories, with good art and scripting. These characters really do feel like the crew from the recent film(s), and the stories feel as if they are set in the same universe and continuity, helped by the fact that the films' writer and producer is involved with producing the comic, which has meant that stories that are referenced in the film "Into Darkness" appear in later volumes. These two stories take place after the first of the new "Star Trek" films.

THE SPOILER ZONE
Issues #1 & #2: "Where No Man Has Gone Before" sees the Enterprise approaching the boundary marking the edge of the Galaxy, where they find a distress beacon launched from the long-lost SS Valiant, which partially describes the incident that lead to the captain destroying his ship... And soon, after crossing the boundary, the same incidents start to occur again... Mixed in with the original story are `character-building' scenes for the `new' crew and their time-line, with Mr Scott trying to repair damage and wear-and-tear still in place from the battle with the Narada and the escape from the black hole; while Kirk discusses why he's brought two of is old friends from the Academy aboard as part of the crew. They will play a major part in the unfolding story.

Issues #3 & #4: "The Galileo Seven" is a straightforward retelling of the original TV story, again with some character-building scenes directly related to the `new' universe's crew, along with an amended ending that is more in keeping with the captain's new character; and Uhura's...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a rehash for newer fans, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. C. Richardson (Dublin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
As an 'original' Trekkie I might be a little biased that the older series was the best and that is certainly true. However I liked the film reboot and enjoyed its new take on the ST universe.
Don't get me wrong now, I understand that the writers still have to loosely follow the original arc, but I was a little disappointed that they didn't take a little more creative licence with this comic series. Most of the stories are as they were and are surprisingly cut short considering they used to be 50mins episodes.
However I still enjoy seeing the new crew take on original missions, just don't expect any major changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star trek vol 1, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
I have been looking for something like this for ever this is a great piece of work and o am looking forward to following the crew as the go were know man has gone before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
this was just as you would expect and a treat for trekky fans
well written easy read
classic star trek
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re imagined really well, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
As re imagining of the original series, these stories are easily recognisable to fans yet still make for a very enjoyable read and obviously to those not familiar with the original series these are new and really well told stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star trek, 23 May 2013
By 
June Kay Wrench "june2821" (coventry england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the story although it was similar to story with William Shatner as Kirk that I saw years ago in the original series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Trekkies beware,tiny print!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
As an avid devotee of Star Trek since it's beginning I was looking forward to reading this but did not realise it was in comic form and unfortunately the text is so small I can not read it. Ah! change font size I thought, unfortunately unavailable. So I will never know what the new star trek is like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Trek, 5 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Volume 1 (Paperback)
I ordered the product as a little gift to myself, as it was on offer. I shopped around online and it was the best deal available. The product arrived promptly and in good condition. The stories and artwork were of a consistently high standard throughout, spinning exciting new and surprising tales from original series season one episodes. The characterization, both in terms of likenesses and writing, were all well defined and fitting. Well worth a read for anybody who loves the original series of Star Trek or the J J Abrams movie / alternate timeline. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not good was a comic., 17 Aug 2014
This review is from: Star Trek Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
It turned out to be a comic not something I wanted to read, might have been better to say so on the main blurb of it.. it wasn't compatible with my kindle app either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re-imagined and re-vitalised., 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Volume 1 (Paperback)
Adapting the original series episodes with the "new" crew may seem like heresy to some, but this collection from IDW breathes new life into these stories.
Featuring "Where no man has gone before" and the "Galileo 7" it's a slim volume but well worth checking out, the re-imagining updates some of story elements for a modern audience and makes them fresh whilst still remaining faithful.
Characters react differently and in the case of the first story a certain character is missing altogether, but it didn't matter as the the teleplays are adapted so well and suit the new interpretations excellently.
Even if you only try this out of curiousity as I did, you'll be pleasantly surprised at how good this is.
Hopefully further issues will continue to build on the new movie continuity without falling foul of it as DC did in the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek Vol. 1
Star Trek Vol. 1 by Stephen Molnar
£3.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews