Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful bit of kit!
OK - so I've bought this today and used it for the first time in my garden which is quite sizeable. Its about 30m x 40m so has quite a long set of edges to trim, both at the gardens outer edge, the edges around the house and the the perimeter of a swimming pool which is set into the garden. The AMW 10 base unit features a carry strap and handle which helps you guide the...
Published 18 months ago by Paul

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing!!
The other attachments (hedge trimmer and chain saw) are excellent, however the grass trimmer is next to useless for grass. When trying to cut long grass the strands get tangled round the spindle and the units starts to slow down. You have to stop every few minutes and remove the tangle. It does work well on weeds with thick stems
Published 3 months ago by Ian Black


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful bit of kit!, 3 May 2013
This review is from: Bosch AMW RT Grass Trimmer Attachment (DIY & Tools)
OK - so I've bought this today and used it for the first time in my garden which is quite sizeable. Its about 30m x 40m so has quite a long set of edges to trim, both at the gardens outer edge, the edges around the house and the the perimeter of a swimming pool which is set into the garden. The AMW 10 base unit features a carry strap and handle which helps you guide the AMW RT attachment around. The AMW RT attaches easily to the AMW10 unit quite easily (no need for tools) and you can get to work straight away. I was on the verge of choosing a petrol driven strimmer but didn't want the hassle of noise and all that goes with dealing with petrol when I saw this option from Bosch.

The motor seems very powerful, the 3 cutting sticks are very robust and ploughed through some dense weeds, some with very thick stems (3cm thick), without complaint. I have almost completed the gardens first cut and the sticks are still about 75% intact. The main reason I bought this product was because I was fed up with my old strimmer which seemed to gobble up spools and spools of line with little to show for it - you seem to get a lot of work done with the AMW RT cutting sticks without needing to replace them every 5 minutes.

OK - so that's the good - now the not so good - with the AMW RT system at times, when cutting some things, you get a kind of "grabbed on" effect, which pulls the head towards the item you are cutting causing control difficulties. Also, unfortunately, the AMW RT seems to ship only with the 3 pre-fitted cutting sticks - would it have hurt them to have you given a spare set in the box? Fortunately, unless you have a very large unkempt/overgrown area with hardcore weeds you are unlikely to need these replacements straight away. I would say that if you have a well kept lawn which is free of weed problems this tool is probably overkill for you.

So in short, if you have a lot of strimming to do, particularly involving weeds but you dont want to go petrol, this could be for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful electric strimmer, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Michael Hunter (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch AMW RT Grass Trimmer Attachment (DIY & Tools)
Nearly as powerful as the petrol strimmer I had in Italy. Copes with clearing really tough weeds even brambles and bamboo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing!!, 27 July 2014
By 
Ian Black (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch AMW RT Grass Trimmer Attachment (DIY & Tools)
The other attachments (hedge trimmer and chain saw) are excellent, however the grass trimmer is next to useless for grass. When trying to cut long grass the strands get tangled round the spindle and the units starts to slow down. You have to stop every few minutes and remove the tangle. It does work well on weeds with thick stems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch AMW RT Grass Trimmer Attachment (DIY & Tools)
STRONG EFFECTIVE ATTACHMENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch AMW RT Grass Trimmer Attachment (DIY & Tools)
After two goes, the internal flexible cable jammed, so I can,t separate the s trimmer from the motor!! So much for Bosch engineering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does not use strimmer string, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch AMW RT Grass Trimmer Attachment (DIY & Tools)
I have not found a price for replacing blades yet, it does not use string.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch AMW RT Grass Trimmer Attachment (DIY & Tools)
Awkward to use if you want to edge with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sep 2014
This review is from: Bosch AMW RT Grass Trimmer Attachment (DIY & Tools)
Completely as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bosch AMW RT Grass Trimmer Attachment
£49.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews