Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is an excellent collection of interesting mixes and reworkings of Glass' work, very good indeed if you enjoy remixes and old works being changed, substantially in some cases. Very good and very interesting.
Published 15 months ago by ICB

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixing it
I really like Philip Glass so was a little disappointed with this particular double CD. The idea of remixes is an excellent one but the tracks here are of varying quality. The second CD is much better than the first but the overall impression is of a project that has not really come off.
Published on 21 Jan. 2013 by Hempnall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixing it, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rework: Philip Glass Remixed (Audio CD)
I really like Philip Glass so was a little disappointed with this particular double CD. The idea of remixes is an excellent one but the tracks here are of varying quality. The second CD is much better than the first but the overall impression is of a project that has not really come off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rework: Philip Glass Remixed (Audio CD)
The reworking fails to maintain the spirit and quality of Glass, much less add something to it. The result is without subtlety and interest and misses an opportunity to speak of Glass' music with a different voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong remixers for the job. Missed Opportunity, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
Chris M. Dooks "bovinelife" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rework: Philip Glass Remixed (Audio CD)
Awful indulgent slop of the worst kind, not one of the remixers seem to have caught the essence of Glass's works or taken us down some meaningful route. As for the mess that is Beck's contribution, I blame scientology. The Reich remixed CD is much much better and takes the listener through a postmodern experience. I just hope they don't start to do John Cage or Terry Riley in this way... It's odd, I only have to look at The Wire magazine for dozens of would be interesting collaborators that are reputable and would put their hearts into this, and not just phone in their responses...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rework: Philip Glass Remixed (Audio CD)
This is an excellent collection of interesting mixes and reworkings of Glass' work, very good indeed if you enjoy remixes and old works being changed, substantially in some cases. Very good and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New versions of music I adore and I love them, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. Jeffrey Farrell "jeffrey" (northwest county durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rework: Philip Glass Remixed (Audio CD)
It's great when you listen to something you have loved for years being reworked by someone you admire and they've made a whole new listening experience that makes you stand back in amazement at the different sounds you'd never imagined. Play it side by side with the originals and wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rework Philip Glass remixed, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rework: Philip Glass Remixed (Audio CD)
Brought this CD for my sons Birthday and he said that he is very pleased with this Album so I guess that this must be some album seeing that He is a musician himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rework: Philip Glass Remixed
Rework: Philip Glass Remixed by Philip Glass (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews