Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff
James offers us an entertainingly jolly, extremely readable account of all the trials and tribulations of becoming an English beekeeper. Not only is he combining this with a hefty workload as an international travel agent and being dad to a young toddler, he has to face the worried looks of his wife and friends as he turns into a complete bee geek. The book is written in...
Published on 8 July 2012 by Emily Heath

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Beekeeper
Bought for my husband who is a beginner to the role, he said its ok but did not learn anything from it.
Published 8 months ago by MamaMia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James offers us an entertainingly jolly, extremely readable account of all the trials and tribulations of becoming an English beekeeper. Not only is he combining this with a hefty workload as an international travel agent and being dad to a young toddler, he has to face the worried looks of his wife and friends as he turns into a complete bee geek. The book is written in diary format and follows his challenging journey during 2009 from complete bee novicery to getting his first pot of honey.

My favourite aspect of the book is that James is fearless in poking fun at himself. At a gangly 6'5, he creates a picture of himself as a clumsy Mr Bean style character, at one point falling down a flight of steps as he leaves his beekeeping classes. On another occasion he attempts to communicate with Polish beekeepers that he is a fellow beekeeper too by running around making buzzing noises and pointing at their honey - "As I walked away, I did turn back for one last look at these moustached Polish beekeepers and they were just looking at each other with a rather strange expression; one then shrugged whilst the other started laughing."

It is quite touching how completely absorbed he becomes in the bees, obsessively reading the nights away (a glass of red wine or whiskey at his side) and driving around trying to find out the local forage in his area. He also develops from being most interested in getting his first pot of honey to being deeply concerned with all the threats his bees and those across the world face. I think all of us beekeepers understand that feeling of wonderment at how much there is to learn, and how amazing these fascinating little creatures are.

By the way, if you choose to buy this book or indeed any other items from Amazon, please consider going through the Bumblebee Conservation Trust's Fundraising page at [...] first. Each time you access Amazon.co.uk via their link and make a purchase this brilliant charity receives a donation worth 8% of your total purchase, at no extra cost to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, Entertaining and a Good Read, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This little book is charming, entertaining and full of fun - however along the way we do learn some of the basics of bee keeping and the ups and downs of this most interesting hobby. It is obvious that the author has a passion for his subject, and is not afraid to admit the mistakes he made on starting out. Bee keeping is an adventure and it is interesting to read how the author juggled his extremely busy job, and family responsibilities alongside his new venture with bees.

Is this a book that will teach you all you need to know about bee keeping? No, it is certainly not going to do that, but there are many great books out there that do cover in detail the ins and outs of the craft; this is however, a good introduction for the general reader about starting such a hobby, some of the joys and pitfalls that come along and also the plight of the bees in the world today.

It is an easy read and a satisfying one - there is much humour nestled among the pages and I would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in gardening, bee keeping and nature. Few people realise the plight of the bees and the pollinators, who are being wiped out in droves by the pesticides that are commonly used today in all our countries - and few seem to know that if the pollinators are gone, then so is mankind. If this book encourages even one person to think more about the pollinators in our world, then it will be a job well done. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endearing and amusing, 3 July 2012
Lovely little book that will encourage any would be beekeeper to either take it up... Or run for the hills. As I read each chapter it reminded me of my early beekeeping exploits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ! please read ., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just wanted a little more information on Bees and beekeeping and l just clicked to read some of the book (l did buy the book wanted to read more!) and l thought the way
James told us about his journey was brilliant . James set out everything that you will face in taking on beekeeping and how to go about it Loved the book excellent read and l got a really good idea of what to expect on keeping Bees. Thank you James
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss this book., 24 Jun 2014
An absolute must read. Informative, entertaining and funny. Thoroughly recommended to both the bee keeper and any long suffering partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn and laugh at the same time, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I became aware of not only the fun of keeping bees but aware the responsibiliy of keeping these wonderful, little animals. I feel I'm now ready to go up one more rung on the ladder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a best seller could not put it down everyday finish it Sushi, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a few bee books but this was tops james is done everything that I am doing this year I also started in June iris.faulkner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, enlightening and a pleasant read, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Originally saw this in a search engine and bought it. Found it a enjoyable read and also has made me become more aware of bees,to the point of now buying feeders and putting bee friendly plants in my garden. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspirational Read, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James has described his first year as a bee-keeper in a truly entertaining and inspirational way.

Whilst other books will tell you the theory James' book tells you the truth about bee-keeping from first hand experience. It makes you realise that, if you're going to take up the hobby, it will an amazing, interesting and fulfilling time - with mishaps along the way.

Within the book there are a wide range of references to resources that you will find useful if you do take up the hobby, with a useful list of websites and twitter contacts at the end.

A truly great introduction to bee-keeping and it's really motivated me on to get my own bees!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading even if you don't plan to actually keep bees yourself., 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is quite entertaining and worth reading even if you don't actually plan to start bee keeping but just want to find out a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews