Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good idea not sure its got the legs
Not sure that this has the legs to transfer into a full blown novel maybe that's why Mr Reynolds did not go further with the idea. As a short story it works well enough and I quite enjoyed it but I would sooner Mr Reynolds went forward with his current projects. Still this is worth a read like all his stuff.
Published on 7 April 2013 by Nuff said

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not 300 pages!
Amazon advertise this book as being 300 pages but it's nothing of the sort. It took about an hour to read.
Published 18 months ago by Dr H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not 300 pages!, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammoth Books presents Sleepover (Kindle Edition)
Amazon advertise this book as being 300 pages but it's nothing of the sort. It took about an hour to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good idea not sure its got the legs, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammoth Books presents Sleepover (Kindle Edition)
Not sure that this has the legs to transfer into a full blown novel maybe that's why Mr Reynolds did not go further with the idea. As a short story it works well enough and I quite enjoyed it but I would sooner Mr Reynolds went forward with his current projects. Still this is worth a read like all his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammoth Books presents Sleepover (Kindle Edition)
I was a little disappointed to read that this was a short story as opposed to a full novel, but I very much enjoyed Reynolds' other short stories set in the Revalation Space universe, so I thought I'd give it a go.

Imagine the days when the camera isn't on Neo after Morpheus pulls him from the Matrix. Then imagine the film ending. That's pretty much this story. There's lots hinted here, but even within the confines of a short story, it just never gets going.

Titles like Zima Blue and Diamond Dogs set the bar just too high for this effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative and interesting, 15 Jun. 2013
By 
E. Nilsen-nygaard "einarnn" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammoth Books presents Sleepover (Kindle Edition)
Although just a short story, this was a compelling read. The idea behind the story was quite unexpected and original. The character development was great for such a short read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable novella set in a familiar Reynolds's setting, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammoth Books presents Sleepover (Kindle Edition)
This novella is typical Reynolds and while not set in the Revelation Space universe it has a similar style and is based on similar themes. Sleepers stored for the future that has turned out unexpectedly; a backdrop of an eternal war between powers humans cannot hope to defeat or perhaps even understand. I really enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is how to write a short story, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammoth Books presents Sleepover (Kindle Edition)
It has the lot, plot, direction good characters developed quickly an example of how to tell a good story. I am a huge fan of Reynolds because I think he is a master story teller and this is another example of him at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammoth Books presents Sleepover (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this short story. It gives a snipet of history before his first novel.
Wonder if he will write it into a novel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars space era fragment, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammoth Books presents Sleepover (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable glimpse of a potential future . Well written with believable characters but it is hard to see the concept developing further .worth the modest payment for an insight into the writing process . To summarise , an interesting idea whose journey took it up a cul de sac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good short story, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammoth Books presents Sleepover (Kindle Edition)
Has a good, interesting premise which well over a short story. It is fairly short though, so don't expect to get very deep into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammoth Books presents Sleepover (Kindle Edition)
Typical Reynolds- very good and convincing idea. Well worth reading and I hope it gets developed into a full book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mammoth Books presents Sleepover
£0.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews