Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent ending to the Dark Tide duology
I daresay that, after the excellent Onslaught, I was anticipating this more then The Phantom Menace. Stakpole delivered a fine performance with this book, and it was a very touching tale.
The only problems I had with this book were that Stackpole, like in Onslaught and I, Jedi, seemed to detract from the main characters to make Corran (his own creation) look even...
Published on 31 Aug. 2000

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why do they do this to us?
I want to like this book. The situation is intruiging; there is some writing from the enemy point of view; there is destruction on a grand scale; and yet, I can't like it.
Once again, there's too much "Let's moralise about what we're doing and sidestep the issue that we're killing millions of people". Instead of the fast pace this book deserves, there's...
Published on 13 July 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why do they do this to us?, 13 July 2000
By A Customer
I want to like this book. The situation is intruiging; there is some writing from the enemy point of view; there is destruction on a grand scale; and yet, I can't like it.
Once again, there's too much "Let's moralise about what we're doing and sidestep the issue that we're killing millions of people". Instead of the fast pace this book deserves, there's too many cases where the characters simply stand around arguing over petty points. It also seems that, if you are not a Force user, you're not important: witness the lack of a Han Solo, Leia's diminishing role, and the lack of non-Forcy fighter pilots. Suddenly, one perspective on the whole conflict is lost.
Occasionally, the writing shows promise (the scene in which a bomb blows up is actually well-written) but in the end, the majority of it is poor. I say: bring back Timothy Zahn, Aaron Allston, Barbara Hambly and all the good writers. Banish Stackpole to the rubbish heap along with Anderson. I know I've said it before, but I have a point to make
And since when were we meant to look on th Imperials as good guys?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent ending to the Dark Tide duology, 31 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
I daresay that, after the excellent Onslaught, I was anticipating this more then The Phantom Menace. Stakpole delivered a fine performance with this book, and it was a very touching tale.
The only problems I had with this book were that Stackpole, like in Onslaught and I, Jedi, seemed to detract from the main characters to make Corran (his own creation) look even more the hero.
Apart from that though, I couldn't fault this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better than most, but still a dissapointment, 6 July 2000
By A Customer
Not since the release of Timothy Zahns Hand of Thrawn duology has their been as much anticipation surrounding the release of a Star Wars novel. In much the same way readers bought Vision Of The Future in their droves to find the fate of Luke, Mara and the rest of the Star Wars universe, many avid Star Wars fans bombarded book shops around the country for a copy of this dissapointing follow up. Dont get me wrong, Stackpole does well with the material given to him, and in any other circumstances, this book would have been a 5 star affair. However, with such an exciting and cliffhanging book to emulate, Ruin was never going to match up to expectations. Stackpole continued to struggle with the loss of one of the main Characters, Chewbacca ( In Vector Prime), and found it hard to convince the reader that all the old favourites should just happen to be together again. Han Solo only appears fleetingly in both books, probably due to the fact that he has nothing much better to do other than sulk over his friends death. Stackpole has also been forced to push the vong invasion further into the star wars galaxy to heighten the drama. At this rate, pretty soon, authors will run out of planets to write about. The lack of conviction in this book can also probably be attributed to the fact that this is Stackpoles last Star Wars book, at least for a while. For this reason, he seemed compelled to leave the world of star wars with some kind of major impact, but if he thought practically writing Corran Horn out of any believable comeback in the near future was a fitting finale, he was wrong. This is yet annother example of how one auther can shoot his successor in the foot. God help James Luceno!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exicting and intriging!, 22 Aug. 2000
By 
M Smedley (Bidston Village, Wirral, GB) - See all my reviews
This book is very much look onslaught but has a lot of nice touches, such as turning the imperials from a maybe eneamy to a good and trusted ally. The intervention of the chis fighter squadron is superb and totally unexpected.
there are few things I can fault in this book, the only two that I can bring myself to mention is the killing of the Elgos, (the cammassi) which I thought was sad and a waste as their is so much more that can be done with cammassi and elgos has alyways been seen as a figure head for them since I, Jedi. second the turning of corron from a light jedi to somone, who has tasted the dark side, but not been totally seduced, making a lot him a lot more grey than light. I don't think that it was needed as corron was doing a good job of keeping the jedi together by showing that to have what is seen as the better powes doesn't mean that you are a better jedi or warrior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NJO Dark Tide: Onslaught Pt.2 Review, 7 Jun. 2005
Again i really looked forward to this installment of the NJO. Again i liked the character devlopments of people like Jacen, Corran and most notably Ganner. I think he can be a real asset in the near future. As i said in my last review of the first installment Han Solo was pretty much nowhere to be seen and Kyp's faction seems to drifting further away from the rest of the Jedi.
I liked Anakins new friend in Chalko, and hopefully he'll make and appearance again, and also the relationship that develops between Luke and his niece and nephews is good. He appears to be the calm in the storm for them as they are growing up!
Have to say though, the first book went to legnths to introduce Danni Quee as a major player in this series, but where has she gone??
A very good book, hope this isn't the last we see of Corran tho!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great conclusion to duo, 17 Oct. 2007
awesome conclusion to the dark tide duo. Stackpole is a great action writer and you can feel every blow and parry in the one on one fights and every dive and swoop in the ships. Corran Horn's fight is very epic and the ending 4 chapters are amazing - just epic and the potential storylines emerging are very exciting. Jacen solo is slowly becoming disillusioned and i can't wait to read about his fall to the dark side. Horn stepped dangerously close in this book and the jedi are falling apart. NJO is so much better than the books that came before! The story arcs are just more massive then any other series in existence. This probably the best book in the series so for, but ive only read the first 3. Bring on Agents of Chaos!!! 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vengance is a dish best served cold, 19 Aug. 2010
The duology takes a dramatic turn, the disasters in the previous books can never prepare you for what the YV's have planned for their invasion.

Leia seeks help from the Imperial Remnant, who's Moffs are reluctant to help, Palleon may have other plans though.

The Camaasi Senator makes his way to the Vong to learn their ways to see if peace can be reached.

The Jedi in turn take all knocks from their cowardly politicians with a great spirit of unity. Despite the contempt from Kyp Durron and his followers they all do their part in the war against these extragalactic invaders.

Stackpole finishes with a climax that was not forseen, even through the force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book!, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - Dark Tide Ruin (Kindle Edition)
This story was very well written, all action sequences very well laid out and thoroughly entertaining to read. Bring on the next part of this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WWWWWWWWWOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWW, 26 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
A worthy continuation to the Drk tide seris, but not quie as good as Onslaught. Mainly because of the interaction with the Vong , negates a lot of the suspense and fear created in DT1. But stiill one of the best books out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read !, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
these are continuing tales following on from one another dating back all the way to the last film return of the jedi , a must read for any Star Wars fan !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - Dark Tide Ruin
£4.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews