Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To face the future you have to accept the past.
This tells the story of Bud Vogel played by James Cromwell (`The Green Mile', L.A. Confidential' and `The Artist'). Bud has been trying to put the past memories of his time during WW 2 behind him, then on Memorial Day in 1993, his grandson Kyle finds his old footlocker and brings it to his Grandpa. At first he is none too pleased and when he tells Kyle to put it back,...
Published 17 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that Good.
His movie has been getting lots of great reviews but in truth its just pretty average. Don't be fooled by all the action that is shown in the trailer because putting it all together it would cover approx 20mins of the run time.This movie is a drama about veterans and their famillies. Ps putting James Cromwell to one side the acting is also pretty average.
Published 16 months ago by lister


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To face the future you have to accept the past., 25 Mar 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Memorial Day [DVD] (DVD)
This tells the story of Bud Vogel played by James Cromwell (`The Green Mile', L.A. Confidential' and `The Artist'). Bud has been trying to put the past memories of his time during WW 2 behind him, then on Memorial Day in 1993, his grandson Kyle finds his old footlocker and brings it to his Grandpa. At first he is none too pleased and when he tells Kyle to put it back, Kyle answers `but what am I supposed to remember?' So he decides to tell the story of some of the objects or souvenirs in the box.

We also have a the parallel story of Kyle after he has joined the US Army and is on a tour of duty in Iraq circa 2005, where he is recounting his memories of that time to a lieutenant doctor. Both his life and the stories of his grandpa are told in flash back.

Military purists are going to find fault with the WW 2 depictions, especially as the budget did not stretch to a cast of thousands but the Iraq era action is actually very well done. This is not an action movie in any way at all so please avoid if that is what you are looking for. It is a touching tale of coming to terms with the past and with things you may not necessarily be at all proud of.

It is very moving in places and really well acted Jonathan Bennett (`The Dukes of Hazard' movie) as Kyle is both convincing and engaging and James Cromwell is always good. The young Bud is played by John Cromwell who must be related as they look so like each other. As I said there are a few plot stretchers too especially in the WW2 bits but all in all a very satisfying film about loss, life, love and being human in a war situation and it was a really rewarding watch - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that Good., 10 April 2013
This review is from: Memorial Day [DVD] (DVD)
His movie has been getting lots of great reviews but in truth its just pretty average. Don't be fooled by all the action that is shown in the trailer because putting it all together it would cover approx 20mins of the run time.This movie is a drama about veterans and their famillies. Ps putting James Cromwell to one side the acting is also pretty average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual war film..., 1 Jan 2014
By 
P. F. Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memorial Day [DVD] (DVD)
A thought provoking movie of the bond between grandson and grandfather and how their lives mirror one another during times of conflict. The sense of loss is the same even when a generation separates the two main characters in this story which features some quite reasonable action sequences and a good performance by James Cromwell.
Saving Private Ryan it's not, but well worth a watch especially at half normal price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memorial Day [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie Memorial Day lovely story I would tell anyone to watch it not just for men watch it and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memorial Day [DVD] (DVD)
Great War film, would suggest watching especially if your into that kind of thing! It's something you can watch more than once! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars better than i thought, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memorial Day [DVD] (DVD)
Well felt a bit let down at the start of this dvd, all changed though,got better and better, me and my missus realy enjoyed the rest of it all,good story telling, sad ending..would recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An original initial idea, some honest moments and a rather good ending - but in all a rather average film..., 23 May 2014
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I found this film watchable and by moments even quite good - but ultimately I felt a little bit disappointed. Below, more of my impressions, with some very limited SPOILERS.

Sergeant Kyle Vogel (Jonathan Bennett) is a young American soldier who serves in Iraq with the 34th Infantry Division. Briefly hospitalised for a not very serious injury, he strikes up a conversation with the resident military psychiatrist, Lieutenant Kelly Tripp (Emily Fradenburgh). Even if he is of course aware that this conversation is neither entirely accidental nor completely casual he accepts to play the game and tells the inifinitely patient psychiatrist a story from his childhood, about the one and only day when his grandfather (James Cromwell) accepted to share with him some of his own memories of service with 82nd Airborne Division in WWII. The film then mixes four story lines: Kyle's service in Iraq, Kyle's conversation with Lt. Tripp, Kyle's conversation with his grandafather and the WWII stories his grandfather tells him...

This is a rather well done film, but it is not entirely successful. Quite a lot of what we hear and see is quite clichéd and banal and ultimately seems... quite flat. War time adventures of both men are not very interesting - we saw ALL OF THIS like hundreds of times. In fact the really interesting parts of this film, those which I liked the best are the moments when we see the grandfather struggling with his progressing sickness and slowly overwhelming dementia, brief but clever exchanges between Kyle and Lt. Tripp and especially the very ending which is a kind of post-scriptum of the whole story...

In war time fragments only some elements were really good and original, like a brief scene in which we can see in April 1945 a veteran Waffen SS officer fighting against the Americans side by side with his young son who can't be older that 14... There is also one soldier in Kyle's squad who is a really peculiar and highly entertaining fellow. Fighting scenes are not really good and there is few of them anyway - there is however one sequence of a suicide bomber attack in Iraq which is very honest... Finally, there is a grand total of three good one-liners - not enough to carry the film, but still...

The most precious thing in this film is its respectful and grateful tone, as "Memorial Day" was clearly made as a tribute to all US soldiers who since 1941 served their country and fought bravely, risking loss of life or limb against really horrible regimes and cruel foes... It is also a respectful salute to those people from the Great Generation who are still with us, but who unavoidably wage their last fight even now, as those words are written - and this one can not be won...

Bottom line, this is a honest film, but nor really great. I liked it but I don't think I will keep the DVD. Advised to rent rather than buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memorial Day [DVD] (DVD)
A very good storyline if you like WW2 and modern day adventure/history. Let my mate borrow it and have'nt got it back yet!Need to watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memorial day Review, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memorial Day [DVD] (DVD)
This is excellent which covers the thoughts and feelings of soldiers without filling the film with loads of matcho gun fights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really enjoyable War film, that brings home the meaning of how war affects us, 4 May 2013
By 
waynefitz (Kildare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Memorial Day [DVD] (DVD)
MEMORIAL DAY
Director: Samuel Fischer
Starring: Jonathan Bennett, James Cromwell, John Cromwell, Charles Hubbell, Emily Fradenburgh, Jackson Bond and Mary Kay Fortier-Spalding
Certification: 15
Runtime: 1hr 48mins
Cinema Release: 15 March 2013 (US, April 2012)

A really enjoyable War film, that brings home the meaning of how war affects us.

Memorial Day is a dual tale of War, starting with WWII veteran Bud Vogel (James Cromwell) who tells his grandson in flashback scenes about of the trials and tribulations of War. These flashback scenes feature Lt Bud Vogel played by John Cromwell the real life son of James - which adds to the realism of the tales.

Filmed in a similar style to `Saving Private Ryan', these action scenes are well made and scripted. Where for every item young Kyle takes from his grandfather's footlocker a tale begins. Move forward to Bud's grandson Kyle (Jonathan Bennett) now serving in the second Iraq war as Staff Sgt Kyle Vogel. Kyle is wounded from an IED, and while he recovers in hospital recalls the tales to his medical practitioner under duress. Where he realises he has similar war experiences to that of his grandfather.

As reviewed in the May 2013 issue of An Cosantóir (The Defender) The Irish Defence Forces Magazine by Sgt Wayne Fitzgerald - dfmagazine.ie - military.ie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memorial Day [DVD]
Memorial Day [DVD] by Samuel Fischer (DVD - 2013)
2.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews