Customer Reviews


475 Reviews
5 star:
 (381)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Simply Does Not Get Better Than This.
I won't bore anyone by rehashing any of the scenes in the films. I'll simply state these things: the quality of the picture is superlative. I'm old enough to have seen these all as first-release films, and they not only look 100%, they SOUND 110% better than the originals. For collectors, this set is outrageously under-priced. The quality of the restoration is simply so...
Published on 7 July 2008 by James Caldwell

versus
82 of 96 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy it ONLY if you don't own it in DVD
First, I must say I believe this is the best trilogy in the history of cinema, with Godfather I and Godfather II among the 5 best movies ever.

So, if you are planning to purchase the trilogy for the first time, don't hesitate, go for it.

Take into account, nonetheless, that in terms of image quality there is no difference between the Blu-ray and DVD...
Published on 11 Mar 2010 by Sherlock the door


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Simply Does Not Get Better Than This., 7 July 2008
By 
James Caldwell "dr_bliss" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I won't bore anyone by rehashing any of the scenes in the films. I'll simply state these things: the quality of the picture is superlative. I'm old enough to have seen these all as first-release films, and they not only look 100%, they SOUND 110% better than the originals. For collectors, this set is outrageously under-priced. The quality of the restoration is simply so good, it renders me speechless - as it seems Coppola is as well on viewing the final work.

I have the 5 disc Blade Runner restoration set. This film, however, is so deeply ingrained in the Western World's movie-going psyche, that the restoration is something which will inure itself to modern-day mythology, and the psyche concerning Italian Americans/Gangsters. It a few words, it's fiercely beautiful.

Note that Godfather 1 is in Digital Surround sound now - for the first time. It looks and sounds perfect. This is definitely a work of love for those who did it, and a supreme pleasure for me, who bought it. The technology involved promises for a revolution in the restoration of damaged classics.

Any fan of these films MUST have this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


154 of 165 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 22 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. D. M. Pugh (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everyone seems to have reviewed the Steelbook Amazon Exclusive version of this. I actually prefer this version and it is the one I bought. For one thing I feel that cramming all the discs into one small case means that it gets lost on the shelf. A substatntial box means that it has more of a presence up there, and also it's not AS big as the original 2001 release due to the slimline individual cases, which I prefer than having all discs in one case because each story gets its own front image and synopsis on the back. The combination of shiny black outer-box with blood splattering gives a very stylish finish to the collection.
My only complaint would be that the box itself is probably the least durable out of the three (ie. this one, the 2001 release and the steelbook), but not if you take good care of it.

This is probably my number one film saga. Beautiful, dark, stylish. And not only that but compared to the 2001 release you are provided with the ultimate picture & sound quality and colour giving you the ultimate film-viewing experience. Truly the films could not have been more restored than they are here, and the Supplements Disc goes into detail on how this was achieved. Also Part II is on only one disc, which avoids the need to get up half-way through to switch discs, although it's worth noting that even though it's on one disc the word 'Intermission' appears for a brief moment in between where the the two dics would have to have been swapped. Presumably that's how it was shown in the cinema.

People always slate Part III but I think that when taking the three films as an entity it serves it purpose superbly. I love all three, and take them as one story - so trying to single one out is like saying I prefer the beginning or the middle or the end of the story. Parts I and II form the bulk of the Godfather story, and Part III serves as the epilogue. Part I begins with the introductions and then chronicles the end of Vito Corleone (Marlon Brando) and the rise of Michael (Al Pacino) as the new Godfather, as well as his transformation from someone who wants nothing to do with his father's business, to being far more ruthless than his father ever was. Part II serves as prequel and sequel showing the beginnings of Vito (Robert De Niro) and how he arrived at the beginning of Part I, as well as Michael at the height of his powers, his continued descent deeper into corruption as he takes the path he began in Part I to its inevitable end. Part III then is all about the guilt, regret and pain Michael feels because of his past sins and the man he became. The 9-hour long epic that is "The Godfather" then culminates in one of the most powerful film endings ever.

The ultimate film trilogy and restoration, with 4 hours of special features, provide the ultimate DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Buy, Well Worth It!, 17 Jun 2008
I've owned the previous 5-Disc Set of the Godfather (2001 Release), and I can safely say that the Coppola Restoration is well worth getting, especially at this price, and even better in this limited steelbook package.

I've compared the pictures of the two sets on a Plasma, and there is a huge difference between the two, the print on this new dvd set is far better than the other, a huge differnce in the brightness of the picture, enables the viewer to see clearly and slightly more of the picture.

In addition, Part 2 is in one Disc as opposed to two, which is great, as now we don't need to change the DVD mid-way through. Instead, they've devoted the extra 5th Disc on New Bonus Features which talk about the restoration, along with the original special features, from the previous set, being on Disc 4.

This is surely a great buy at this price at the minute; even if you have the previous set - this one is still worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLU RAY PQ: MOLTO BENE, 21 Jun 2010
Just finished watching all three Godfathers. Here's my brief lowdown on the blu-ray transfer (whether you want it or not):

Godfather 3: This has been remastered rather than "meticulously restored" like the other two films. It looks fine for the most part. Not a great hi-def film but perfectly adequate - except for some brightness fluctuations amongst the 'blacks' in a couple of scenes.

Godfather 2: This has been restored to a point that matches the quality of the third film. I've never seen it looking better. I was noticing subtleties for the first time.

Godfather 1: The original negative must have been in helluva state. The picture quality was variable. Out of the three films this would win the prize for the most grainy scenes. That said: It ain't all as bad as that. (A few scenes look like they could have been shot yesterday.) But if the other films were like it, it wouldn't be worth getting the blu-rays - just stick with the dvds.

There's also an interesting new 20min doc on the restoration process which explains what a state the first two films were in. (It took the pulling power of Spielberg to have them restored.) The irony is - the new interviews with the filmmakers recorded in HD look better than the actual films they were restoring!

In short - I have no regrets with my purchase as I wasn't expecting a miracle. So go and find the best on-line deal you can, and make them an offer they can't refuse.

Il vostro amico,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DVD you can't refuse, 28 Oct 2001
The Godfather Trilogy is, as a whole, the best achievement in filmmaking that's ever happened.
Brilliant stories, brilliant performances (Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, Diane Keaton, Robert Duvall and Robert De Niro stand out as excellent leads) and top class cinematography coupled with great scripts make Part I and Part II so compelling to watch.
The same should be said for Part III. I don't know why people criticise it so much. Granted it's not as good as the other two, and the casting of Coppola's daughter as Mary Corleone was a stupid mistake, but as a whole I think the film is excellent, especially the climactic finale. So why people hate it so much is a mystery to me too.
As for the DVD, well the picture is vastly improved. Having seen most variations of the VHS versions, I can say that they've worked hard to improve the picture and sound for the films.
The extras are amazing. With many lengthy featurettes, well over an hour's worth of deleted scenes for the first two films (and an alternate beginning for Part III) plus more, it'll take ages to watch fully.
So, let's see - 9 hours of the best film saga ever, with a whole host of extras - this is a DVD you can't refuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it while you can!, 5 Jun 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movies speak for themselves; Part I & II are classics, and the much maligned part III is still good in it's own right but obviously not in the same league as the first two. However get this limited "steelbook" edition while you can as it's very cool. I wondered how they were going to get all 5 discs into a slimline case but they managed it! Discs 1-3 are the movies. It's worth noting that Part II is now all on 1 disc (and it's all on one side, it isn't a "flipper"), whereas previously the film was spread across 2 discs. Disc 4 is all of the extras from the last boxset, and disc 5 is the all-new supplementary material. I already owned the previous boxset so wasn't sure if it was worth "double-dipping" for this release. However if you factor in the restored prints, new extras, Part 2 on being on 1 disc, the cool steelbook design, and a very reasonable price I'd say it's worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 Aug 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disc 1 The Godfather
Disc 2 & 3 The Godfather Part II
Disc 4 The Godfather Part III
Disc 5 Bonus Materials

For those perhaps too young, and for those who just haven't had the pleasure yet, this is the film box set above all others you should own. The first two films are two of greatest films ever made. Indeed The Godfather is ranked No.1 and The Godfather II is ranked No.3 in the IMDB.com rankings as of today. Bare in mind that these films were made over 30 years ago and that is some achievement.

Part 3 is not a bad film, and by normal film standards is pretty good. However in comparison with the first two its not in the same class, and doesn't merit repeated viewings in the same way as 1 & 2.

The bonus disc contains a lot of interesting stuff:
Behind the Scenes (on location, music, screenwriting, auditions, storyboards, cinematography etc),
Additional Scenes
Family Trees
Trailers
Academy Award speeches!
Biographies.

If that doesn't convince you that you're getting good value for money, then perhaps when I tell you the total running time of all 5 discs is 710mins will (thats almost 12hours). Unlike some boxed sets the box itself is not made of thin card, and is quite sturdy - looks good on the shelf as well.

Think I'll start from the beginning again now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cinematic benchmark, 5 Jan 2002
By A Customer
The Godfather on DVD has been a long time coming, and yes it is worth the wait. The picture looks crisp and clear and the sound transfer picks up every sound. All the perfomances are spot on. Al Pacino as Michael Corleone gives one of the greatest acting performances ever seen in this trilogy. Francis Ford Coppola manages to balance these perfomances with soem stunning set pieces which include Michael doing an asassination in a restaurant and the famous 'Toll Booth' sequence with James Cann. The Godather won best picture Oscar as did its sequel did 2 years later. The Godfather Part 2 is a better picture than the first. Al Pacino is even more darker and we also get to see the young Vito Corleone, played by Robert De Niro coming to America and it shows the rise of the Corleone empire. The Godfather Part 3 shows the end of the Corleone family and the repentance of Michael Corleone for his past sins. All these films combine the best actors,actresses,screenwriters,cinematography and Director to make up some of the best films of the past century. Also check out the bonus disc for all the extras about the making of the films and for Francis Ford Coppolas commentaries. A great package for all movie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which language? What's in the box?, 4 Aug 2009
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Soundtracks are in English, French and German for the film discs; English only for the Bonus Disc.
Film sub-titles are English, English SDH, French, German, Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, Finnish, Dutch and Turkish.
Commentary sub-titles are: English, French and German.
Bonus disc sub-titles are: Greek, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish and Hungarian.

There are 4 discs enclosed, "including all three films and over four hours of supplemental materials".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Boxed Set available, 26 Aug 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disc 1 The Godfather

Disc 2 & 3 The Godfather Part II

Disc 4 The Godfather Part III

Disc 5 Bonus Materials

For those perhaps too young, and for those who just haven't had the pleasure yet, this is the film box set above all others you should own. The first two films are two of greatest films ever made. Indeed The Godfather is ranked No.1 and The Godfather II is ranked No.3 in the IMDB.com rankings as of today. Bare in mind that these films were made over 30 years ago and that is some achievement.

Part 3 is not a bad film, and by normal film standards is pretty good. However in comparison with the first two its not in the same class, and doesn't merit repeated viewings in the same way as 1 & 2.

The bonus disc contains a lot of interesting stuff:

Behind the Scenes (on location, music, screenwriting, auditions, storyboards, cinematography etc),

Additional Scenes

Family Trees

Trailers

Academy Award speeches!

Biographies.

If that doesn't convince you that you're getting good value for money, then perhaps when I tell you the total running time of all 5 discs is 710mins will (thats almost 12hours). Unlike some boxed sets the box itself is not made of thin card, and is quite sturdy - looks good on the shelf as well.

Think I'll start from the beginning again now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather 40th Anniversary Collection [Blu-ray] [1972] [Region Free]
£69.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews