Customer Reviews


603 Reviews
5 star:
 (497)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Simply Does Not Get Better Than This.
I won't bore anyone by rehashing any of the scenes in the films. I'll simply state these things: the quality of the picture is superlative. I'm old enough to have seen these all as first-release films, and they not only look 100%, they SOUND 110% better than the originals. For collectors, this set is outrageously under-priced. The quality of the restoration is simply so...
Published on 7 July 2008 by James Caldwell

versus
84 of 98 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy it ONLY if you don't own it in DVD
First, I must say I believe this is the best trilogy in the history of cinema, with Godfather I and Godfather II among the 5 best movies ever.

So, if you are planning to purchase the trilogy for the first time, don't hesitate, go for it.

Take into account, nonetheless, that in terms of image quality there is no difference between the Blu-ray and DVD...
Published on 11 Mar. 2010 by Sherlock the door


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Simply Does Not Get Better Than This., 7 July 2008
By 
James Caldwell "dr_bliss" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I won't bore anyone by rehashing any of the scenes in the films. I'll simply state these things: the quality of the picture is superlative. I'm old enough to have seen these all as first-release films, and they not only look 100%, they SOUND 110% better than the originals. For collectors, this set is outrageously under-priced. The quality of the restoration is simply so good, it renders me speechless - as it seems Coppola is as well on viewing the final work.

I have the 5 disc Blade Runner restoration set. This film, however, is so deeply ingrained in the Western World's movie-going psyche, that the restoration is something which will inure itself to modern-day mythology, and the psyche concerning Italian Americans/Gangsters. It a few words, it's fiercely beautiful.

Note that Godfather 1 is in Digital Surround sound now - for the first time. It looks and sounds perfect. This is definitely a work of love for those who did it, and a supreme pleasure for me, who bought it. The technology involved promises for a revolution in the restoration of damaged classics.

Any fan of these films MUST have this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 22 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. D. M. Pugh (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everyone seems to have reviewed the Steelbook Amazon Exclusive version of this. I actually prefer this version and it is the one I bought. For one thing I feel that cramming all the discs into one small case means that it gets lost on the shelf. A substatntial box means that it has more of a presence up there, and also it's not AS big as the original 2001 release due to the slimline individual cases, which I prefer than having all discs in one case because each story gets its own front image and synopsis on the back. The combination of shiny black outer-box with blood splattering gives a very stylish finish to the collection.
My only complaint would be that the box itself is probably the least durable out of the three (ie. this one, the 2001 release and the steelbook), but not if you take good care of it.

This is probably my number one film saga. Beautiful, dark, stylish. And not only that but compared to the 2001 release you are provided with the ultimate picture & sound quality and colour giving you the ultimate film-viewing experience. Truly the films could not have been more restored than they are here, and the Supplements Disc goes into detail on how this was achieved. Also Part II is on only one disc, which avoids the need to get up half-way through to switch discs, although it's worth noting that even though it's on one disc the word 'Intermission' appears for a brief moment in between where the the two dics would have to have been swapped. Presumably that's how it was shown in the cinema.

People always slate Part III but I think that when taking the three films as an entity it serves it purpose superbly. I love all three, and take them as one story - so trying to single one out is like saying I prefer the beginning or the middle or the end of the story. Parts I and II form the bulk of the Godfather story, and Part III serves as the epilogue. Part I begins with the introductions and then chronicles the end of Vito Corleone (Marlon Brando) and the rise of Michael (Al Pacino) as the new Godfather, as well as his transformation from someone who wants nothing to do with his father's business, to being far more ruthless than his father ever was. Part II serves as prequel and sequel showing the beginnings of Vito (Robert De Niro) and how he arrived at the beginning of Part I, as well as Michael at the height of his powers, his continued descent deeper into corruption as he takes the path he began in Part I to its inevitable end. Part III then is all about the guilt, regret and pain Michael feels because of his past sins and the man he became. The 9-hour long epic that is "The Godfather" then culminates in one of the most powerful film endings ever.

The ultimate film trilogy and restoration, with 4 hours of special features, provide the ultimate DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two of the all-time greatest films, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say that hasn't already been said about this masterpiece. The first two films are as good as it gets in terms of storyline, characters and music. Pacino, Brando, DeNiro, Duvall, Cann, Cazale, Keaton, Strasberg are only some of a great ensemble of actors at the top of their game. The final act, although overshadowed by it's two predecessors remains a very good film in it's own right and completes the epic story of Michael Corleone very well.

The Godfather was the first blu-ray I watched and I was delighted with what I saw. 18 months on and with repeated viewings I can safely say this is one of the best blu-rays in my collection. The restoration undertaken resulted in superb video and sound. Some people have complained that there is too much grain and the image isn't sharp enough; on the contrary this is how the film was intended to look. If only all classic films could be restored with the treatment this trilogy received, film enthusiasts would much happier. The fourth disc is excellent for fans that are passionate about the series with in-depth documentaries and interviews with cast and crew.

If you owned the DVD Collection and are unsure about whether upgrading, I would highly recommend you doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DVD you can't refuse, 28 Oct. 2001
The Godfather Trilogy is, as a whole, the best achievement in filmmaking that's ever happened.
Brilliant stories, brilliant performances (Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, Diane Keaton, Robert Duvall and Robert De Niro stand out as excellent leads) and top class cinematography coupled with great scripts make Part I and Part II so compelling to watch.
The same should be said for Part III. I don't know why people criticise it so much. Granted it's not as good as the other two, and the casting of Coppola's daughter as Mary Corleone was a stupid mistake, but as a whole I think the film is excellent, especially the climactic finale. So why people hate it so much is a mystery to me too.
As for the DVD, well the picture is vastly improved. Having seen most variations of the VHS versions, I can say that they've worked hard to improve the picture and sound for the films.
The extras are amazing. With many lengthy featurettes, well over an hour's worth of deleted scenes for the first two films (and an alternate beginning for Part III) plus more, it'll take ages to watch fully.
So, let's see - 9 hours of the best film saga ever, with a whole host of extras - this is a DVD you can't refuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Buy, Well Worth It!, 17 Jun. 2008
I've owned the previous 5-Disc Set of the Godfather (2001 Release), and I can safely say that the Coppola Restoration is well worth getting, especially at this price, and even better in this limited steelbook package.

I've compared the pictures of the two sets on a Plasma, and there is a huge difference between the two, the print on this new dvd set is far better than the other, a huge differnce in the brightness of the picture, enables the viewer to see clearly and slightly more of the picture.

In addition, Part 2 is in one Disc as opposed to two, which is great, as now we don't need to change the DVD mid-way through. Instead, they've devoted the extra 5th Disc on New Bonus Features which talk about the restoration, along with the original special features, from the previous set, being on Disc 4.

This is surely a great buy at this price at the minute; even if you have the previous set - this one is still worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it while you can!, 5 Jun. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movies speak for themselves; Part I & II are classics, and the much maligned part III is still good in it's own right but obviously not in the same league as the first two. However get this limited "steelbook" edition while you can as it's very cool. I wondered how they were going to get all 5 discs into a slimline case but they managed it! Discs 1-3 are the movies. It's worth noting that Part II is now all on 1 disc (and it's all on one side, it isn't a "flipper"), whereas previously the film was spread across 2 discs. Disc 4 is all of the extras from the last boxset, and disc 5 is the all-new supplementary material. I already owned the previous boxset so wasn't sure if it was worth "double-dipping" for this release. However if you factor in the restored prints, new extras, Part 2 on being on 1 disc, the cool steelbook design, and a very reasonable price I'd say it's worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 Aug. 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disc 1 The Godfather
Disc 2 & 3 The Godfather Part II
Disc 4 The Godfather Part III
Disc 5 Bonus Materials

For those perhaps too young, and for those who just haven't had the pleasure yet, this is the film box set above all others you should own. The first two films are two of greatest films ever made. Indeed The Godfather is ranked No.1 and The Godfather II is ranked No.3 in the IMDB.com rankings as of today. Bare in mind that these films were made over 30 years ago and that is some achievement.

Part 3 is not a bad film, and by normal film standards is pretty good. However in comparison with the first two its not in the same class, and doesn't merit repeated viewings in the same way as 1 & 2.

The bonus disc contains a lot of interesting stuff:
Behind the Scenes (on location, music, screenwriting, auditions, storyboards, cinematography etc),
Additional Scenes
Family Trees
Trailers
Academy Award speeches!
Biographies.

If that doesn't convince you that you're getting good value for money, then perhaps when I tell you the total running time of all 5 discs is 710mins will (thats almost 12hours). Unlike some boxed sets the box itself is not made of thin card, and is quite sturdy - looks good on the shelf as well.

Think I'll start from the beginning again now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE set, 22 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a bit of an impulse purchase on my behalf, but I'm not the least bit sorry that I did buy it.

The trilogy is absolutely masterful, there's no doubt about it. I won't go into reviewing the films themselves - the other reviews speak for themselves - but I will say that they (1+2) rank among the best films I've ever seen. And though the 3rd doesn't quite match up to the first two, it's still a great film (although slightly marred by the involvement of a certain Coppola. She really is dreadful).

The transfers are great - vibrant colours (when the moment allows it) and great shades. To fully appreciate this, watch the documentary about the restoration included on disc four, which has a good selection of extras (sadly, the deleted scenes haven't been restored, and look somewhat like VHS-quality). Just watch for example the scene in #2 of Michael looking from his house out across the lake! Absolutely stunning - and the filmography here is very much the cause of this. Amazing.

All in all, I can't recommend the set enough. Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cinematic benchmark, 5 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
The Godfather on DVD has been a long time coming, and yes it is worth the wait. The picture looks crisp and clear and the sound transfer picks up every sound. All the perfomances are spot on. Al Pacino as Michael Corleone gives one of the greatest acting performances ever seen in this trilogy. Francis Ford Coppola manages to balance these perfomances with soem stunning set pieces which include Michael doing an asassination in a restaurant and the famous 'Toll Booth' sequence with James Cann. The Godather won best picture Oscar as did its sequel did 2 years later. The Godfather Part 2 is a better picture than the first. Al Pacino is even more darker and we also get to see the young Vito Corleone, played by Robert De Niro coming to America and it shows the rise of the Corleone empire. The Godfather Part 3 shows the end of the Corleone family and the repentance of Michael Corleone for his past sins. All these films combine the best actors,actresses,screenwriters,cinematography and Director to make up some of the best films of the past century. Also check out the bonus disc for all the extras about the making of the films and for Francis Ford Coppolas commentaries. A great package for all movie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


118 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which language? What's in the box?, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Soundtracks are in English, French and German for the film discs; English only for the Bonus Disc.
Film sub-titles are English, English SDH, French, German, Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, Finnish, Dutch and Turkish.
Commentary sub-titles are: English, French and German.
Bonus disc sub-titles are: Greek, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish and Hungarian.

There are 4 discs enclosed, "including all three films and over four hours of supplemental materials".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather 40th Anniversary Collection [Blu-ray] [1972] [Region Free]
£95.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews