Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low budget but smart & satisfying sci-fi
What if... you could see someone's memories? What if... you could walk around them in a virtual-world portal into another person's mind? What if... you couldn't get back into your own consciousness again?

That's the core theme of Extraction, a low-budget but intelligent speculative-fantasy. It's set in our universe, where an idealistic inventor hopes to help...
Published 19 months ago by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok..ish - interesting concept but quite predictable in the end
The film is based on an interesting concept: the new technology now allows us to enter into suspects' memories to see whether they actually committed the crime (although initially the technology was meant for psychological treatment purposes). When tested for the first time, something goes wrong and the engineer falls into a coma as he is stuck in the suspect's memories...
Published 20 months ago by keen-reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low budget but smart & satisfying sci-fi, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraction (DVD) (DVD)
What if... you could see someone's memories? What if... you could walk around them in a virtual-world portal into another person's mind? What if... you couldn't get back into your own consciousness again?

That's the core theme of Extraction, a low-budget but intelligent speculative-fantasy. It's set in our universe, where an idealistic inventor hopes to help treat dementia and similar conditions by accessing memories in this way. The result is a bargain-basement kind of Inception / Matrix universe - but one which is enlivened by an intriguing plot and some involving philosophy. How many best-of-intentions inventions really get used for the good of humanity? How far will the protagonist compromise his principles? And how certain can you be that what you remember happening is what actually occurred?
Extraction neatly uses SF to explore these themes - kinda reminiscent of a trapped-in-the-holodeck episode of Star Trek NextGen (which is a compliment, BTW). Don't expect any big budget FX or star turns, and be prepared to accept occasional irrational activities (like the Bad Man of Evil Empire - in this instance represented by the Dept of Corrections). However, the core characters are detailed creations who don't behave exactly as you might expect; a couple of nicely nuanced performances which highlight the blurred borders between the notional 'hero' and the obvious 'criminal'.
The are some excellent scenes - like the process of recovering memory at a crime scene, and when the trapped protagonist initially makes contact with his host. Sasha Roiz, who's on-screen for the majority of the movie, puts in an excellent performance -- especially when he's a spectator in memories and can't interact with other people including his family: capturing the essence of isolation without going gooily sentimental.

Enjoyable and through-provoking entertainment which out-performs its budget limitations.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraction - a remarkable movie., 28 April 2014
By 
M. John "jerrykan" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraction (Amazon Instant Video)
Didn't know what to expect as I'd never heard of this movie but the Amazon preview sounded interesting. Without giving anything away, if you like films like Primer, Chronicle, Pi or even The Matrix, I highly recommend this film. The central characters are all superbly played and I was particularly impressed with Dominic Bogart, a finely nuanced performance and really believable. Don't let the fact you've probably never heard of any of the actors - do give this a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraction (DVD) (DVD)
Firstly you have to stick with this movie,it was slow to get going ,but turned into an absorbing story. This film will appeal to people who like something different.A bit similar to " Inseption " if you've seen that one,but not so complicated.It was well acted and put together about a guy who invents a machine that allows you to go back to events in someones mind and be there, the only problem is what if something goes wrong with the machine. Another clever idea, yes worth a watch,and at a good price from the amazon seller which I bought as used, was in very good nick,a good delivery time too,Well worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, intelligent low-budget sci-fi, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraction (DVD) (DVD)
Have you ever seen an episode of the sci-fi series `The Outer Limits?' If you have, you'll probably be aware of the hour long science fiction shows which could be about anything out of the ordinary. You'll also probably be aware that they're pretty low budget and depend on the idea behind them as to whether they're good or not.

Luckily, for `Extraction's' sake, the idea makes the lack of budget and stars worthwhile. It's about a man who invents a machine to look into people's mind. The first thought from the authorities is `can it be used to ascertain guilt from potential criminals?' Therefore, they try it on a man accused of murder. However, nothing like this ever goes right and the inventor finds his consciousness trapped inside the accused man. Can he find a way out? And here we have our movie.

The direction is pretty standard. You may expect that being `inside someone's mind' may allow for some stunning `Inception-like' visuals. Well, there aren't any. It's a pretty linier story as he tries to make contact with his former family, but, if you can forgive its visual blandness, you should enjoy the ride. It's not a long film, which also makes it appear like an extended episode of a TV show.

The acting is good and it all ties up nicely, providing enough twists and turns along the way to keep you interested. Plus it even asks a few questions about `memory' and just how reliable it really is. All in all, if you like your sci-fi a little slower with no real action and more thinking, you should give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly surprising and future cult hit..., 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraction (Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
What an underrated movie!! Ignore Meteoritic and take a risk, well worth it. Proof that you can make a sci-fi without the bells, whistles, and super expensive sci-fi - and you'll be chuffed to know of a hidden gem within the indie film world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok..ish - interesting concept but quite predictable in the end, 31 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Extraction (DVD) (DVD)
The film is based on an interesting concept: the new technology now allows us to enter into suspects' memories to see whether they actually committed the crime (although initially the technology was meant for psychological treatment purposes). When tested for the first time, something goes wrong and the engineer falls into a coma as he is stuck in the suspect's memories. It won't be until 4 years later when he figures out a way to communicate with the suspect via his memories and together they will co-operate to get him out. The communication aspect was quite interesting but at some point the movie becomes predictable and the big twists served along the way...are not that big at all.

I would still recommend watching it (just don't buy it for £8...), it will certainly be a treat for psychology students and psychology enthusiasts. Keep in mind this is not some big Hollywood production and much lower budget is visible from the beginning. I actually think this gives this sci-fi movie more realism, but if you are accustomed to lots of special effects you might be disappointed here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Minority Report from the other side of the crime, 5 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Extraction (DVD)
I really enjoyed this. Definately reminded me of Minority Report, without the ridiculously high-paid stars. I did get a bit confused at the end - in the last 5 minutes where everything is revealed, and things were not as I'd believed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Shared memory invasion?, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraction (DVD) (DVD)
I do love scifi but this film left me cold. I tried to believe in the plot but it didn't do it for me, maybe way too convoluted.
Ok low budget is cool, but there are limits.
Shared memory, it still has to be credible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars fairly good film for a rainy afternoon!, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
S. L. Wilkinson (Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraction (Amazon Instant Video)
fairly mediocre film but it keeps your interest and doesn't have any massive holes in the plot. I enjoyed watching it, but it ain't gonna be in anyone's top ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great film which keeps your interest from the very start ..., 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraction (DVD) (DVD)
Well worth waiting for! A great film which keeps your interest from the very start to the very end! A brilliant idea and a great story line. I fully recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extraction (DVD)
Extraction (DVD) by Nir Paniry (DVD - 2013)
£2.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews