Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic epic from the master.
Bergman's "last film" (he came out of his cinematic retirement in 2003 to make Saraband, a follow-up to Scenes from a Marriage), which he himself described as "the sum total of my life as a film-maker" is the semi-autobiographical story of a year in the life of a well-off middle-class theatrical family. The length of the film is undoubtedly daunting, but this five-hour...
Published on 16 April 2006 by David Welsh

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, you need the five hour version
First to say: Fanny and Alexander is my favourite film of all time. But pretentious as it is to say this, you need to see the longer version. The difference is not just a case of a couple of shots being a bit shorter, it's not just a case of a couple of irrelevant scenes being taken away, it's not just indulgences for Bergman fans. The character of Emily Ekdahl has some...
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by Jim Todd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic epic from the master., 16 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bergman's "last film" (he came out of his cinematic retirement in 2003 to make Saraband, a follow-up to Scenes from a Marriage), which he himself described as "the sum total of my life as a film-maker" is the semi-autobiographical story of a year in the life of a well-off middle-class theatrical family. The length of the film is undoubtedly daunting, but this five-hour cut was the version shown on Swedish television (the cinema release was only three hours, but Berman wasn't happy with the cuts he had to make to get it down to that length), and is in four episodes each of just over an hour and so can be watched in 2 or 4 more manageable sittings. This is a beautiful and tender film which brings together all the main themes Bergman had been exploring throughout his nearly 40-year career in the cinema, and was his personal favourite of all the films he made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, you need the five hour version, 1 Jan 2011
By 
Jim Todd (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First to say: Fanny and Alexander is my favourite film of all time. But pretentious as it is to say this, you need to see the longer version. The difference is not just a case of a couple of shots being a bit shorter, it's not just a case of a couple of irrelevant scenes being taken away, it's not just indulgences for Bergman fans. The character of Emily Ekdahl has some crucial monologues that are cut which show her to be a very different and much deeper character. Two scenes -a conversation between the priest and the uncles and a dream that Alexander has- are two of my favourite sequences in any film, ever. Are they "integral" to the "plot"? No. They're just incisive and beautiful.

It's cool that this thing has been remastered! But get the region 1 boxset. It has the excellent making-of as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the of the finest films ever made, 6 Mar 2002
By 
Dr. R. T. Lambert "rogerlam" (Aberdeenshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is Ingmar Bergman at his best and most accessible.The film literally glows and the DVD version does this quality justice.
It is a very long film (5 hours), so watch it over two sessions. I guarantee after watching the first disc you will hardly be able to wait to see the second. One can only echo the quote from The Times 'Extraordinary cinematic magic'.
Surely it ranks besides the finest films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bergman's Final Masterpiece?, 9 May 2005
Please note that this is a review of the Criterion Collection five-hour television version, released on five DVDs.

The Film: If you have found your way here among the Amazon listings, then it is unlikely that you do not already know that this is one of the finest productions ever committed to film. No superlatives can exaggerate the brilliance and depth of "Fanny and Alexander". Here are Bergman and Nykvist working at the absolute height of their powers to produce the warmest, most visually rich and profound storytelling that they have ever given us. It is not as bleak as some of Bergman's earlier films (although there are some disturbing scenes) but the overall impact is uplifting and deeply moving. This is an unusual film that uses a large cast to tell the intricate story of an extended theatrical family in Uppsala in the early years of the 20th century. All of this is seen through the eyes of the two children; the Fanny and Alexander of the title. I saw the film on its' first release more than 20 years ago in both the emasculated theatrical release and in the five hour version made for Swedish television. I was stunned by it then and have been bowled over by it once again in this wonderful new release.

The DVD: I was amazed to find what else was included in this set when it arrived, as the description gave few clues. The presentation of the films is faultless; a real labour of love. The sound is superb and the whole thing has a visual beauty that is extraordinary. Even the Main Menus are finely done, in keeping with the tone and mood of the films themselves. The English subtitles seem good; although not perfectly accurate and Americanised in places. Not only do you get the complete five-hour television version on two discs (in four episodes) but you also get the complete theatrical version on another single disc. The five-hour version is unequivocally the one to watch. If the length bothers you, view it a bit at a time as four separate episodes. This is probably the best way to see the film, but I have to say that even at one sitting it doesn't seem long at all. I have sat through films of a fraction of the length that seemed much longer. The theatrical release cuts out the soul of the story. It seems a very odd idea to include it alongside the complete version, but this is probably to allow purchasers the chance to enjoy the extras. You might want to watch it for a fascinating and scholarly exposition by Peter Cowie (but only after you have watched the longer version). You certainly wouldn't want to watch it for the dubbing in American English! I'm afraid that I have never seen a dubbed foreign-language film that wasn't unwatchable and this is no exception.

So what's on the two additional discs? I will not list everything but within the cornucopia is Bergman's own illuminating "Making of ..." documentary, an equally intriguing interview with Nils Petter Sundgren that is roughly contemporary with the film and Bergman's recently-recorded (2003) introductions to several of his finest films. The discs are Region 1 NTSC encoded, so you need a suitable player and TV. The slip case and packaging are exceptional. Given the reservations expressed in earlier reviews about Artificial Eye's presentation of this film, you might want to explore this version.

I recommend this film, and particularly this superlative edition, unreservedly. Here is a true masterpiece of European cinema that has hardly been shown in our cinemas or on television. This is also a film so visually and thematically rich that it repays repeated viewings. Surely the best possible reason for owning a DVD player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Fanny And Alexander" on BLU RAY - UK Customers Must Check Their Versions For Playback Compatibility..., 22 Feb 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Considered by aficionados to be the jewel in BLU RAY's crown - the 2011 American Criterion release of 1982's "Fanny And Alexander" sports a whopping 3-DISCS that includes both the THEATRICAL RELEASE and the LONGER TV VERSION. The picture quality is so good that connoisseurs of transfers have called it 'benchmark' (5 out of 5). But for UK and EURO film fans - that's where the good news ends...

The problem is that like so many Criterion titles it's REGION-A LOCKED - so WON'T PLAY on the vast majority of UK BLU RAY players unless they're chipped to be a Multi-Region for 'BLU RAY' - and most aren't. And unlike their DVD counterparts (which are cheap to buy) 'Multi-Region' BLU RAY players are invariably very pricey.

There is however a Scandinavian issue of "Fanny And Alexander" on BLU RAY that will at least allow UK and EUROPEAN fans view the movie in its cut form.

Until such time as someone like Studio Canal or Cinema Classics reissues this - you'll have to do with the truncated version of the film on a Euro BLU RAY with funny writing on the back box...

Check the issue before you buy on BLU RAY...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True 20th Century art!, 24 Feb 2004
By 
Patrik Lemberg (Tammisaari Finland) - See all my reviews
THE MOVIE:
Having very little basis for comparison (since my only prior exposure to Bergman has been The Seventh Seal and Scenes From a Marriage), I don't feel qualified to judge this film against a "Bergman standard," but I do, however, doubt that he has directed another movie as perfect as Fanny and Alexander (F&A), although Scenes From a Marriage is close. Classic movies tha are great on the whole may suffer from bad acting, directing, or even whole scenes that briefly go out of focus. That, however, is not the case with this film. It draws one in and keeps one alert and interested throughout. The directing and acting is mostly superb.
The story revolves around a wealthy Swedish family who run the local theater in Uppsala, and the severe upbringing of siblings F&A in the early 1900's (the story begins on Christmas, 1907).
Bergman seems to have a unique talent for combining drama with horror, fantasy, and comedy--this I also found to be the case with The Seventh Seal, but in F&A, this talent is more strongly presented; one minute you can find yourself laughing at humorous --sometimes obscene-- acts and remarks, and the next you may find yourself feeling choked up or horrified. The film is very strong, very real, and strongly recommended to anyone who wants to experience looking at film on a whole new level.
THE DVD:
I hate not being able to give this movie five stars, but I can't because of Artificial Eye's unprofessional presentation of it. The movie itself merits full points - 100/100, but the quality of the DVD doesn't. This is the only release of the five hour (TV) version of the film yet. It is the three hour (theatrical/VHS) release that has won the Oscars, Golden Globe, Guldbagge, and BAFTA awards, but I strongly recommend the longer version - the story makes more sense. Five hours still doesn't feel too long. I could watch a five-day long version of this movie. The additional two hours were added to the theatrical release, by Bergman, for the TV-series "Fanny och Alexander". In the making of this film, TWENTY-FOUR hours of film footage was shot from the actual script, so there are still NINETEEN hours of unreleased footage from this film, that will probably never be released. Anyhow, the first copy I bought of Artificial Eye's release was defective. There was a synchronization problem throughout a whole 80+ minute chapter. I had to buy another one to see it in its entirety. I contacted Artificial Eye about the problem to determin whether this was the case with all their F&A discs, or whether I had just received a defective copy. I wrote three times, but never heard back from them.
Artificial Eye have not done a good restoration job of this film. All bass and treble disappears from the sound for about ten or fifteen minutes in the middle of chapter one. The sound can be very shaky at times. I have the three-hour version of this film restored by a Swedish company, in which both sound and picture are MUCH more acceptable. Another big problem with this disc is that the subtitles AREN'T optional! My mother tounge is Swedish, but I speak English fairly well. The subtitles bothered me, they were in the way, plus I found the translation to be very inaccurate at times. I suspect a lot of good points could be lost for someone who does not understand Swedish. Only every 10th or 20th curse word was translated throughout the film.
If you have the patience to wait for another company to release this "full" version - do it. If not, don't expect too much out of this. Technology has developed beyond Artificial Eye's presentation.
I cannot complete this review without giving affectionate appreciation to my friend Karen for recommending The Seventh Seal, thus inspiring me to watch this film--thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning - this is the shortened version, 11 Jun 2011
By 
Rune Kühl "Rune Kuhl" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bergman's Fanny and Alexander is a masterpiece not to be missed! But there are two versions of the film, the 5 hour TV version and the 3 hour cinematic version. The latter was made solely to help finance the complete film and is no match for the complete version. In fact there is no reason why the short version should be on DVD at all - so go for the long version or the box sets containing both versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to repeat, 22 Jun 2004
By 
Carles Miquel (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
Bergman's filmography goes beyond rules from the very start. He pushed himself and his actors above the boundaries then thought to be feasible. Books have been written. Extensive theses throughout the world. Huge amounts of ink spent on Bergman's work. Insights in the mind of a genius not always well understood nor loved by many.
But, pairing with one of the finest cinematographers of all times, he concocted many of the strongest brews in the history of cinema.
Fanny och Alexander may be his Masterpiece. He devouted uncounted hours to take this film where no other has ever even tried to go. Painstankingly crafted scenes and shots that may have, sometimes, been rehearsed an insane number of times, deliver a creepy, light and luminous, dark and incredibly finely woven tapestry of ideas in one film.
This work from Bergman can be and is, indeed, a benchmark to understand writing, storytelling, lighting, film sensitivity, bleach process, artistic performance, emotional shifts, colour and subtle sound recording.
The first time I saw this film was in 1986 on tv. I was quite young and I sat through five hours just wanting more. Longing... craving for more.
I searched for the film for years and couldn't find a copy, except for the original theatrical release, but I didn't want it. It was incomplete. In 2002 I found the dvd. Now, I know almost every line by heart. My students know it very well and, most amazing thing, they love it over many, many other films that show more recent technology. We go through the five hours with one "intermission" for tea or coffee, exchanging ideas and predicting where the story will go in the next chapters.
The output has always been the same: there's no film like this one. It excels in every small detail. It has some of the greatest actors ever in Sweden. Even Gunnar Johansson, ill, and old, gave all his strenght to his singing in one of the most moving theatre scenes in the film.
The chidren are superb. But Bertil Guve's part IS the film. His depiction of Bergman as a child is absolutely superb. Beyond any film with a lad carrying such a load on his shoulders. His anger, his fears, his desperation transpire Bergman's most ambitious project in a way that will make you laugh, cry or simply feel exhausted.
I don't want to finish without saying a word about Sven Nyvqist and music. Sven shot many Bergman's films and was his right hand. Bergman always considered his opinions as key decisions to make his films more gripping. Nyvqist deftly uses light and textures as no other cinematographer has ever done.
The score for this film is as essential as cinematography. An issue thet always was a most for Bergman.
If you want to live one of the most rewarding cinematographic experiences of your life, buy this film. You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bergman's stunning remembrance of childhood finally on DVD, 5 Mar 2002
By 
Mr. DS Graham "daniel_sgraham" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ingmar Bergman's multi-award winning film "Fanny & Alexander" is captured for the first time on DVD, and in it's complete 5 hour version. Widely considered his masterpiece, and for good reason, "Fanny & Alexander" is a magical depiction of childhood and family life, as told through the eyes of a young brother and sister whose parents are a renowned Theatre director and actress in Sweden circa 1900. Shot by the great Sven Nykvist, who won his second Oscar for Cinematography (the other was "Cries & Whispers"), "Fanny & Alexander" is a film of enduring warmth, humanity and humour and is in many ways the best introduction to Ingmar Bergman's work I could imagine. A stunning masterpiece rightfully presented in it's full glory on a crisply balanced DVD transfer, "Fanny & Alexander" is a treasure to behold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Will Stay With You Forever, 11 July 2008
By 
Mr. G. C. Stone "mgcs" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's now twenty years or so since I first saw this, yet scenes, feelings, images and ideas from it still float into view when I'm least expecting. Love,beauty,family, fear and dread, and a little bit of magic. This is not just a feast, it is a banquet - for the eyes, for the heart, soul and intellect.
A town square in the snow dotted with fresh, bright flowers - so beautiful an image that I remember almost gasping when it appeared on screen.
One the 20th century's greatest artists(in any field), working with one of the greatest cinematographers of all time - and performances that just stay with you. You will never be quite the same - but then, that's the whole point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fanny And Alexander [DVD]
Fanny And Alexander [DVD] by Ingmar Bergman (DVD - 2013)
£9.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews