Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miami Vice still delivers
Before purchasing this box set, I had only seen a few episodes of Miami Vice on Satellite tv. I was worried that it might be a bit outdated. Well.. it's far from stale, and is full of quality from the actors to the stories. The lead stars( Don Johnson & Philip Michael Thomas ) are perfect in their roles - and make for a great crime fighting team. Each episode is like a...
Published on 5 Nov 2009 by L. Cory

versus
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles
The box looks nice, the video quality is nice, but the whole product is crippled by the lack of subtitles. The first season has subtitles, but for the rest, it seems like they were just forgotten about. It's a shame, this would have been a killer product if a little bit of care and attention had gone to it, but with such a bare-bones video-only treatment, I cannot...
Published on 15 Jan 2011 by Samy Merchi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miami Vice still delivers, 5 Nov 2009
By 
L. Cory (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Before purchasing this box set, I had only seen a few episodes of Miami Vice on Satellite tv. I was worried that it might be a bit outdated. Well.. it's far from stale, and is full of quality from the actors to the stories. The lead stars( Don Johnson & Philip Michael Thomas ) are perfect in their roles - and make for a great crime fighting team. Each episode is like a mini-movie - with the production values, acting, and overall atmosphere being of a very high quality. I've been totally captivated by the show - and with over 100 episodes - there is a hell of a lot to enjoy.

The picture quality is fine( although the pilot is a bit dodgy ) Don't worry that the titles are rough looking - as the actual episodes look good. I don't see any reason to moan about any aspect of the package. If you're looking for a crime drama that has a cool vibe, lots of action, and a distinct flavour, you'll love Miami Vice. Also, if you have a thing for 80s style, you'll enjoy it even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 29 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you were a fan of Miami Vice, then this ticks almost all the boxes. Every episode at your fingers... and the only thing missing is the extras (the making of...)which you had on the series box sets. Pity that! If these were included too, then this would truly be a 'complete' set. Still, good value though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miami Vice - The Complete Collection (Slimline Packaging) [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
We love this box set. We bought this as a trip back to the eighties but watching the DVDs we have realised how brilliant this show was. I certainly appreciate how dramatic the stories are more now than i did back then. The music is great, the women's fashions totally outlandish but god the guys are cool. Having a blast revisiting this. Buy it, you won't be disappointed. It comes in a cool box and would make a great gift idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miami Vice has still got it, 3 Feb 2012
By 
Traveller (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
After watching the first series of this collection it made me realise how many of today's police shows lack quality and originality. The acting is very good and you can tell that the people involved are passionate about their roles. There's also some cool appearances from a few Hollywood actors who appeared during the early days of their career. I think in the 80's men had the rub of the fashion, the sharp suits and outfits in the series were amongst the best you will see for that era. Some of the scenes feel more like music videos such as those featuring Crockett driving his Ferrari though the midnight streets of Miami. The soundtack is simply awesome. Some of the episodes are like cut down versions of the movie. The shooting scenes are typical of shows in the 80's, they haven't aged well but there only a small part of the show and didn't affect my overall enjoyment. The episodes 'smugglers blues' and 'definitely miami' are the standout episodes for me. Looking back at the 80's, there were fewer television channels available than today, which probably goes some way to explaining the reason for the high production quality and attention to detail that Miami Vice received. Infact it's hard to see another police show quite like it for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate cop show of the 80s, 1 Feb 2012
When you think back and remember the 1980s, you imagine the music, the fashions and the TV programmes we all loved. It would be impossible to ignore Miami Vice for these three things.

Miami Vice is the American TV series that was the brainchild of Michael Mann who has gone on to carve out an impressive film director career in which he now ranks high on the Hollywood raider for some of the excellent films he has put together in the last twenty years.

However in 1984, Mann put together a police series with a difference. Up until that point there had been a number of popular cop shows in the states including Starsky & Hutch, Cagney & Lacey, Hill Street Blues, T J Hooker and Chips to name but a few. Mr Mann's police series was to take cop drama to new heights by introducing a style and rhythm that would include featuring hit songs of the era and the latest catwalk fashions. Thus Miami Vice was born.

The stars of Vice have much to play in the success of the show. Don Johnson was up until that point a jobbing actor who had had a string of unsuccessful pilot shows under his belt. His role as the well tanned, cream suit wearing, chain smoking Sonny Crockett together with his prize Ferrari Daytona, his gold rolex and pet alligator Elvis made him one of the most recognisable people in the world at the time. Phillip Michael Thomas played equal measure as the cool, smooth, sassy, sharply dressed Riccado Tubbs. The two heros are supported by a small cast of decent actors who remain with the show from start to finish. Some recognition goes to Edward James Olmos who is outstanding as the humourless, no-nonsence Marty Castillo (boss to Crockett & Tubbs) complete with an undertaker's wardrobe and a face like a mexican bandit about to kill you - a man of very few words!

This is an excellent box set that contains all 111 episodes of Miami Vice that were aired over five seasons between 1984 and 89. The earlier episodes (particularly season one) are outstanding, however some of the later episodes (in particularly season four) leave a lot to be desired. The final year of the show saw a bit of a change in pace and style but did produce some impressive episodes. An excellent package and well worth the value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Showtime!!, 7 July 2009
By 
Mrs. C. A. Wilde (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely fabulous. Miami Vice does not date (apart from the enormous car phone!!) & could easily be shown as a current series on TV - even the fashion does not really look out of place as most of the characters are pretty eccentric anyway - the music & the way it is filmed is totally superb. No one else can come close to the wonderful performances of Don Johnson, Philip Michael Thomas & Edward James Olmos - not even Colin Farrell & Jamie Fox. If I had the money I would finance a new series - it is simply a winning formula & no other series has come close to matching it. Miami Vice will live forever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still better than most things on peaktime tv, 17 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the "mtv music video" way the series was shot, the attention to look and sound has made sure this series was an instant classic. the music may be "era dated" as are the clothes and cars, but as "the best of the best" were chosen it is completely watchable all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s at its best, 3 July 2011
I have read varying reviews of this box set so here is mine
considering how old this series is and of course being from the era before DVD
i think the mastering of it is first class
the video quality is great the sound sound excellent
if you liked the series then is is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love DJ, 23 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh the memories and the absolute joy of watching this series again from start to finish it has to be the best cop series ever (in my opinion). Great location, fabulous leading man I was totally lost in it all over again. Excellent value for money I would recommend this to anyone who remembers Miami Vice and the 80's with affection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, 15 Jan 2011
By 
Samy Merchi (Turku, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The box looks nice, the video quality is nice, but the whole product is crippled by the lack of subtitles. The first season has subtitles, but for the rest, it seems like they were just forgotten about. It's a shame, this would have been a killer product if a little bit of care and attention had gone to it, but with such a bare-bones video-only treatment, I cannot recommend this product to anybody who is hard of hearing, has language problems, or otherwise just likes to have subtitles. If you couldn't care less about subtitles, this is an amazing product. But for the 4 billion people on the planet who are not native English speakers, you're better off getting the season sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews