Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Memorable Television
'The Fall' is an Irish-British serial killer/crime drama series that was released in 2013 and was shown in the United Kingdom on BBC Two. The five part series is created by Allan Cubitt and directed by Jakob Verbruggen. The program received a fantastic response from the critics on its release. Combined with excellent viewership figures, the show became a surprise hit and...
Published 10 months ago by Mitun

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An inconclusive finale!
A rather difficult series to review as we thoroughly enjoyed The Fall, until it abruptly ended inconclusively!

The production is a slow burner and has been compared with the Scandinavian equivilants - with good cause. It builds up nicely, fleshing out the main story line and sub plots and held us throughout. I’d become tired of serial killer series, but...
Published 6 months ago by R. C. Harris


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!!!, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
EXCELLENT!!!!! really good television viewing!!!who wouldn't want to watch Gillian Anderson!!!! Is there going to be a further series? Hope so!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
The Fall is an outstanding drama , gripping throughout. The character development really keeps you guessing.. Can't wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quiet burner - and nice to see a woman as the main character!, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this on iPlayer first, and after the first episode found myself hooked, so it was a case of onto Amazon to find the DVDs. This is more intelligent than the usual cat-and-mouse, even if it is a little formulaic: Gillian Anderson adds a level of quality to it that makes that character three-dimensional as well as just plain different!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ... could not stop watching !!, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
This series is excellent but the ending a little surprising unless there is really a second series planned - hopefully !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Elayne Shapiro "music maniac" (Miami Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series with Gilian Anderson doing a great job as a take no prisoners detective. This will keep you very interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAW THIS ON TV FIRST, 8 Aug 2013
By 
DEE (CHESHIRE, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
BOUGHT THIS ORIGINALLY FOR A FRIEND OF MINE WHO LOVES ALL THINGS GILLIAN ANDERSON - THIS WAS A COMPLETE CHANGE OF ROLE FOR HER - FROM SCULLY TO BECOME A COP OF A DIFFERENT KIND !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars edge of the seat drama, 30 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this as missed the last two episodes on tv. Watched the whole series again with the same tension. Great acting and really exciting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasant viewing, 30 July 2013
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the full series on BBC 2 but I really don't know why. Unlike some other reviewers, I thought Gillian Anderson's performance was pretty good (demonstrating the character's emotional detatchment) and Jamie Dornan was extraordinary. The programme itself, however, made very uncomfortable viewing. The immediate aftermath of the first killing is shown in way too much detail (didn't so much make my skin crawl as try to jump off and run out of the room!). Much of the production seems like someone has done Film Studies 101 and got fixated on 'juxtaposition' (the killer's intimacy with the victims vs. Gibson's cold sexuality). I kept watching to see if it got any better. It didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Makes You Question The Plot For All The Wrong Reasons!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
After BBC's fabulous Hinterland ended, it left a big gap in my quota of UK crime drama. So in my search for a "replacement", I decided to purchase The Fall on the basis of its good reviews. But whereas Hinterland offered suspense, gothic menace and more twists than a drawer of corkscrews, the concept of identifying the killer from the offset of The Fall, was different if a little disappointing. Still, I perserved because I thought it might be interesting to see the contrast in how the murderer went about his normal/ abnormal life whilst the police enquiry tightened up around him. To it's credit, I found the camera panning in some of the shots to be a great use of direction, as it gave a queezy sense of voyeurism to the viewer. Overall, though the plot made me question it for the wrong reasons. It was so inplausible at times to be laughable and I never understood the motive for the killings. I hoped then that it might save itself with a mind blowing climax, but sadly it turned out to be one of the most unsatisfying and inexplainable endings since the Sopranos (Which, btw, I loved as a series and have since found explanation!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fall [DVD]
The Fall [DVD] by Gillian Anderson (DVD - 2013)
13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews