Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars328
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2015
A dark, taught drama, not to be missed. Episode 2 definitely the best for it's unsettling depiction of the mechanistic handling of a dead woman by the emergency services and the forensic team, when she was alive and well only in the previous episode! Shows how fragile life really is and how suddenly it can be erased. The acting is brilliant, and the subplots credible and help put the main story in context. You'll definitely want to view the second series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
This takes a couple of episodes to get into but once you're into it it's quite addictive. You really want to get to know the characters more deeply and it can be quite scary at times. Don't watch on your own late at night is all I can say. Already ordered series 2 to see what happens next. Jamie Dornan and Gillian Anderson are great characters and you just need to know more about them. A great series to get you talking about. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 January 2014
Excellent thriller, had us glued to the tv for 2 nihhts and guessing right to the end, looking forward to the sequel.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
"Scully" turned very British and very attractive, I like the plot being placed in Irland and I enjoy the very quiet but still tense approach of the story line.
I really enjoyed all the acting and the diversity of the characters ... also the "normality" it was place in which most viewers can identify with as their common surroundings. Even the Irish have somethings to hide ... who would have thought.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Watched this off of the back of the Nordic noir big hitters. It's a different type of show with a disappointing hard to believe at times lead character. Focus is not on the victims family and how they cope in the aftermath of a murder, such as the Killing, but the antagonists family and how their lives will be altered forever when the secret is revealed - an interesting and gripping idea.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 3 April 2014
I did enjoy this thriller, although I did not like Gillian Anderson's portrayal of Stella Gibson. I found her patronising, sneering and generally unlikable. I thought the plot was well written and enjoyable, but was so disappointed with the ending. It reached no satisfactory conclusion for either of the story lines which wove through the series. Very very frustrating. Even if there is a second series, I would not be tempted to purchase it, as I have lost faith with the production team. Very very disappointing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
Great mix of Belfast troubles with American protagonist played by Gillian Anderson. She is brilliant as the hard-nosed detective challenging her male work colleagues on their perceptions of what is acceptable for male/female behaviour, as well as entering the mind of the serial killer whom she is pursuing. Can't wait for the next episodes - in the Autumn on BBC?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 June 2013
Although you may believe yourself incapable of being surprised any longer by a police thriller, this is unusual in revealing the serial killer's identity from the first episode, and in contriving to make him disturbingly sympathetic so that, despite being appalled by his manipulative, brutal and creepy behaviour, shocked that an apparently normal, caring father, husband and committed bereavement counsellor can be so evil, and therefore reassured by the occasional clear evidence of madness, a part of you also wants him to escape justice.

I agree with the praise for the quality of acting, in particular the impeccable playing by Gillian Anderson of SI Stella Gibson, the ruthless, ice cool female detective with her wry put-downs of male colleagues. Belfast provides a distinctive setting - hints of the aftermath of "The Troubles" and some dramatic sub-plots, although I would have liked the thread involving the first victim's husband to have been developed in more detail.

Although it is no doubt the author's intention, the murder scenes are almost unbearably violent and voyeuristic. You feel uneasy watching them, and perhaps even more so those where the killer is shown as a loving, if deceitful, father, hiding mementos of his crimes in the loft space above the bed of his observant and understandably disturbed small daughter. The lack of any explanation of the killer's deviancy until the final episode also seems to me to reduce the depth of the drama.

The one aspect I really dislike is the tendency to intercut scenes of say, the killer abusing a victim whilst SI Stella Gibson indulges in a one night stand. This ploy came across to me as by turns too contrived, tasteless or over-sentimental, as when we are shown clips of the killer's wife comforting young single mothers over their dying premature babies, whilst a pregnant woman is being murdered elsewhere by her husband.

This is powerful and well-made popular television, although I am not sure how good it is for the psyche of the watcher.

The final twists are ingenious and unpredictable, binding together several plot lines. The ambiguous ending which I cannot give away for fear of spoilers may leave many dissatisfied but succeeded for me in leaving it open to the audience to imagine "what happens next" and paves the way for the second series commissioned even before the showing of the first was completed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 7 February 2015
I'm afraid we gave up. Very disappointed since we'd heard so many wonderful things about it. Gillian Anderson looks like misery incarnate the whole time - no other facial expression. Sent us back to rewatch Prime Suspect, which I assume this is trying to replicate in some way. Obviously, this is just a matter of taste though - just didn't keep our interest.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
Superb acting, story line and atmosphere. Jamie Dornan's performance as a serial killer, while living a seemingly normal domestic life along with wife and young child is frightening. Gillian Anderson as the strong-willed female policewoman in a very male dominated world is wonderful to watch. Great, great television !!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Fall: Series 1 And 2 [DVD]
The Fall: Series 1 And 2 [DVD] by Gillian Anderson (DVD - 2014)

The Fall: Series 2 [2014] [DVD]
The Fall: Series 2 [2014] [DVD] by Gillian Anderson (DVD - 2014)

Happy Valley [DVD] [2014]
Happy Valley [DVD] [2014] by Sarah Lancashire (DVD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.