Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Memorable Television
'The Fall' is an Irish-British serial killer/crime drama series that was released in 2013 and was shown in the United Kingdom on BBC Two. The five part series is created by Allan Cubitt and directed by Jakob Verbruggen. The program received a fantastic response from the critics on its release. Combined with excellent viewership figures, the show became a surprise hit and...
Published 5 months ago by Mitun

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An inconclusive finale!
A rather difficult series to review as we thoroughly enjoyed The Fall, until it abruptly ended inconclusively!

The production is a slow burner and has been compared with the Scandinavian equivilants - with good cause. It builds up nicely, fleshing out the main story line and sub plots and held us throughout. I’d become tired of serial killer series, but...
Published 1 month ago by R. C. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars gripping, ralistic, disturbing, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
a great thriller with several sub plots and a fantastic performance by Jamie Dornan as Paul Spector. Every episode had another revelation and let you hope they get him soon. Corruption, personalities and the benefit of the doubt got in the way more often than I liked. And then an ending that wasn't one :( - aarrghh! I can only hope Season 2 is as good as this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the fall, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
l absolutley loved the series. Will be looking forward to the next series keep up the good work. Beverley Bourke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cerebral thriller, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Annette Radocaj "Annette" (Tumbi Umbi,NSW,Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
So nice to see Gillian Anderson in this mini-series, she plays those buttoned-down characters well. Scary killer bringing home the saying , you can't judge a book by it's cover. Would have liked more clarification as to his motivation + hopefully there will be a satisfying resolution in the ? next series. Though the outcome to me was obvious, it may not have been to others and leaves the ending ambiguous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this item as a gift for my husband. He is well pleased with it and it arrived in good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uneasy sits the addicted reader, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Although you may believe yourself incapable of being surprised any longer by a police thriller, this is unusual in revealing the serial killer's identity from the first episode, and in contriving to make him disturbingly sympathetic so that, despite being appalled by his manipulative, brutal and creepy behaviour, shocked that an apparently normal, caring father, husband and committed bereavement counsellor can be so evil, and therefore reassured by the occasional clear evidence of madness, a part of you also wants him to escape justice.

I agree with the praise for the quality of acting, in particular the impeccable playing by Gillian Anderson of SI Stella Gibson, the ruthless, ice cool female detective with her wry put-downs of male colleagues. Belfast provides a distinctive setting - hints of the aftermath of "The Troubles" and some dramatic sub-plots, although I would have liked the thread involving the first victim's husband to have been developed in more detail.

Although it is no doubt the author's intention, the murder scenes are almost unbearably violent and voyeuristic. You feel uneasy watching them, and perhaps even more so those where the killer is shown as a loving, if deceitful, father, hiding mementos of his crimes in the loft space above the bed of his observant and understandably disturbed small daughter. The lack of any explanation of the killer's deviancy until the final episode also seems to me to reduce the depth of the drama.

The one aspect I really dislike is the tendency to intercut scenes of say, the killer abusing a victim whilst SI Stella Gibson indulges in a one night stand. This ploy came across to me as by turns too contrived, tasteless or over-sentimental, as when we are shown clips of the killer's wife comforting young
single mothers
over their dying premature babies, whilst a pregnant woman is being murdered elsewhere by her husband.

This is powerful and well-made popular television, although I am not sure how good it is for the psyche of the watcher.

The final twists are ingenious and unpredictable, binding together several plot lines. The ambiguous ending which I cannot give away for fear of spoilers may leave many dissatisfied but succeeded for me in leaving it open to the audience to imagine "what happens next" and paves the way for the second series commissioned even before the showing of the first was completed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intricate Criminal Chase, 10 Jun 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Writer Allan Cubitt's 'The Fall' has been a polished production under the direction of Jakob Verbruggen. The acting, music and photography are excellent. We know the serial killer Paul Spector (Jamie Dornan), his profession as a grief counsellor, his wife and family from the off. This is a portrait of a man who is obsessed with ritualistic killing. His evil deeds are meticulously planned and graphically portrayed. They make for uncomfortable viewing and I would imagine divided opinions. After a laboured start, the Belfast drama takes us through the torture and violent voyeurism of a perverted murderer, whose hunger for the release of his pent-up desires lead him perilously close to detection. Detective Superintendent Stella Gibson (Gillian Anderson) is something of an ice-maiden, obsessional, calculating but outwardly honest. A striking piece of acting. There are unresolved issues involving police corruption and a shooting.

Spector manages to fool his wife and employees. His daughter is not so na´ve, nor upsetting the Shanklin residents a wise move. Spector makes errors as the authorities draw in. They have built up a thorough psychological profile with a few important leads thrown in. The let down in an otherwise superbly addictive thriller was the announcement of a follow-up second series after the third episode. This could mean the serial killer was not going to be wrapped-up or the personnel (Anderson) and her colleagues, especially Archie Punjabi, would embark on another unrelated crime chase. No spoilers. The series was captivating and sophisticated even with the unsettling and disturbing scenes. Exciting viewing full of suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE FALL OF GREAT TV 2013, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
The bbc put out a lot of promotion adverts for this show and thats what what made me watch it simple enough and also i was suffering the loss of Of ITV1's Broardchurch and needed a tv fix. Every monday night i was fixed in front of the tv it should have been called gripped not the fall as a viewer thats what i was. The rather lovely looking Jamie Dornan plays our family man Paul Spector with a dark hidden secret he's a seriel kller and DCI Stella Gibson aka Gillian Anderson is brought to Belfast to find the killer of these murdered women. As the viewer we know who the killer is right from the off but the the police have no clue and as time goes on the clock is closing in on spector. I think Gillian Anderson is really great but the show in my opinon belongs to Jamie Dornan he is terrifying and disturbing to watch as spector man who does terrble things and plays a devoted husband and father with such ease great casting. This is one of the best pieces of tv in a long while and so the ending didnt please everyone but i look forward to season 2 can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Disturbing, 13 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
There had been a lot of controversy about The Fall, but I don't really see why. The main character is not overly villainised, but then again how many times have we heard "He was such a nice man, kept himself to himself". The West's were apparently ideal neighbours!!! My main problem with the show was how just as it gets going, the 5 episodes are done and we have to wait and hope for it to be picked up again for another season (which I believe it has). But not exceptional TV by any stretch of the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thinking Man's Mystery, Along the Lines of Prime Suspect, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Carolina Beach, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
THE FALL, (2013), is a British television series, a BBC production of a psychological mystery that stars the beauteous Gillian Anderson, an Emmy« and Golden Globe« winner as Agent Scully of The X Files - Complete Season 1-9 . Anderson plays steely Detective Superintendent Stella Gibson of London's Met, who has been sent to Belfast, Northern Ireland to help solve a high-profile murder. But she recognizes the work of a serial killer, and stays on in Belfast to work the case. However, we realize Paul Spector, the charismatic killer, outwardly a loving family man and caring grief counselor, as played by Jamie Dornan, Marie Antoinette , has already targeted his next victim, the comely young attorney Sarah Kay. Also starring are Archie Panjabi, (The Good Wife - Seasons 1 and 2 ) and John Lynch, (In The Name Of The Father). This dramatic thriller was created by the greatly talented Allan Cubitt, Prime Suspect: 2 . The entertainment consists of a 306 minute box set, five episodes on two DVDs, and a behind the scenes featurette. My TV found subtitles, which were welcome, considering the local accents. The entertainment is intended for mature audiences.

What we have here, clearly, is a suspenseful tale of two lone hunters, killer and detective, circling each other. Each is mesmerizing, as played by highly-talented actors. We also have the city of Belfast as the killing ground, with a starring presence. It is no longer the city many viewers will remember from its murderous Troubles decades ago, but quite a presentable modern city that has its own charm. Still, it apparently remains home to tough guys aplenty. At one point, Spector ventures into the Shankill neighborhood, where streets once ran with blood, and is reminded by the locals that this is the Shankill and he should not be there. Ever again. The title of the entertainment may be another reference to the Troubles: the Falls, another area where blood once flowed.

The five episodes all bear titles taken from the medieval Italian poet Dante's THE INFERNO:

Disc 1
Episode 1, Darkness Descends.
Investigation into the murder of a Belfast architect of prominent family goes cold, Gibson is sent down from London to help. But the killer is already stalking his next victim.

Episode 2 Darkness Visible.
The attorney is found dead in her home. Gibson is certain the crime shows a serial killer at work; she convinces the local police to put her in charge of the investigation. Spector has taken keepsakes from his victim, and is furious when he suspects the flirtatious teenaged babysitter has snooped in his office.

Episode 3.Insolence & Wine.
Gibson's relationship with detective James Olson comes under scrutiny in the wake of his assassination. Meanwhile, she holds a press conference to alert the city that three recent murders may be linked. Spector, on a visit to his in-laws' house, finds an empty shack; he feverishly fantasizes about the victim he's picked to take there.

Disc 2
Episode 4. My Adventurous Song.
As the sordid details and big local names attached to Olson's death come out, the investigation takes its toll. On the other hand, Gibson catches a break: the killer contacts one of his victim's families.

Episode 5. The Vast Abyss.
The grisly aftermath of Spector's latest attack foils his plans. He is frantic and infuriated, flees the crime scene, hastily disposes of evidence, all while trying to placate his wife and the babysitter, and keep his home life from falling apart. Gibson inches nearer to discovering his identity.

At one point, Spector writes down lines from THE HOLLOW MAN, a famous poem from the greatly-honored Anglo-American poet T.S. Eliot, and thanks to IMDb users for helping in their explication.

"Between the idea
And the reality
Between the motion
And the Act
Falls the Shadow."

So there we have the falls again. Also the Shadow, another name for a ghost, or specter. Further, the poem states the world ended "not with a bang but with a whimper." As does the series we see. So it seems clear writer/creator Cubitt was inspired by THE HOLLOW MAN.

A thinking man's mystery, along the fondly-remembered lines of PRIME SUSPECT. We found it rich, multi-layered, engrossing viewing in this house. But beware: some of the crime scenes are disturbing; they do involve nudity, violence. And this British mystery does move slowly, by American standards. Nevertheless, I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fall, 27 Nov 2013
By 
J. Hussey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Gillian Anderson! Never seen the X Files so WOW what an impact. she could well become the new Helen ( Prime Suspect )
First class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b16150)

This product

The Fall [DVD]
The Fall [DVD] by Gillian Anderson (DVD - 2013)
ú19.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews