Customer Reviews


762 Reviews
5 star:
 (586)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey: A Journey to the Highlands (Christmas Special 2013
Great show - good soap. Downton is a lovely series. Ending was a bit pants due to Matthew's character not wanting to renew his contract with the show, but understandable scripting. Unfortunate that the speed of his exit caught a lot of people by surprise.
Published 20 months ago by Sam Young

versus
87 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly disappointed
I must be honest, I was thoroughly disappointed with this Downton Abbey Christmas Special. There was virtually no plot, and when something did happen, I wished it hadn't and wondered why I hadn't switched the channel earlier. It's not that I'm not a Downton fan, I really am, and I was so excited for this episode, especially after last years triumph. In fact, if somebody...
Published 23 months ago by Madame Thenardier


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey: A Journey to the Highlands (Christmas Special 2013, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Sam Young (Nelson, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great show - good soap. Downton is a lovely series. Ending was a bit pants due to Matthew's character not wanting to renew his contract with the show, but understandable scripting. Unfortunate that the speed of his exit caught a lot of people by surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down at Heart, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Downton Abbey and enjoyed the previous Christmas Edition. This one was less enjoyable, but still worth buying and viewing.
It does feature sports and pastimes away from Christmas, so don't expect a huggy huggy Christmas all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly disappointed, 26 Dec 2012
I must be honest, I was thoroughly disappointed with this Downton Abbey Christmas Special. There was virtually no plot, and when something did happen, I wished it hadn't and wondered why I hadn't switched the channel earlier. It's not that I'm not a Downton fan, I really am, and I was so excited for this episode, especially after last years triumph. In fact, if somebody had told me two days ago that I would write a 3-star review for the Downton Christmas special I would have thought them mad. But this year something was missing, it didn't flow well: Julian Fellowes' writing has been reduced to cringe worthy muck and it had one of the most bleak endings there's ever been in a Downton episode (yes, up there with the Sybil episode - followers of the show will know what I'm talking about). I was left feeling utterly numb and truly wished I hadn't bothered with this episode. Hopefully things will pick up for series 4, but, in all honesty, it's hard to see how it will. Another reviewer mentioned that they think Downton has almost run its course which I would agree with; it's no longer a joyful programme to watch, instead I'm constantly anxious about how the episodes will end - there's a developing theme of plot-less episodes followed up by a dramatic final three minutes, which is rather unsettling. The whole way through this episode my family were saying to each other "something MUST happen in a minute". And it did, but not in a good way.
I would, however, highly recommend the 2011 Christmas special, which is fantastic, and I will continue to watch the fourth series in the hope that things will improve. But this episode will, unfortunately, be a disappointment for even the most loyal of Downton fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing end to the story, 3 Mar 2013
By 
M. A. James (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These episodes are always well written and the writer is clearly not afraid to tackle contentious issues as well as highlight day-to-day problems. How the various characters cope with changing times has perhaps been the main theme of the whole series. The greatest disappointment to this particular episode was its ending. It seemed the storyline was going to end on a high note for all the viewers to enjoy and savour with new potential stories for the next series. Then, right at the end, tragedy of the worst sort that left the viewer stunned in disbelief. Rather than setting us up ready for the next series, the ending has actually discouraged us from wanting to view the next episode. There has been quite a bit of tragedy through the various series in the past (and sadness has to be expected in any drama) and it has been very well acted by the cast, but the extreme circumstances of some of the tragedies has seriously dented the story's authenticity and changed the tone of the programme altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It seems to me that people who were fans of the first 2 (possibly 3) series are beginning to lose interest. Although I can see their viewpoint, I am not one of those people. The Christmas special for 2012 has been criticised for having very little content until the dramatic ending. However the same can also be said of the Christmas Special for 2011. I do not see the Christmas specials as the ends of a season but as fillers that mark the transition from one season to another. I for one am very interested to see what will happen in the next series: It seems once again the luckless Robert's world has been rocked with a certain accident and with the arrival of Rose to Downton in the forseeable future. I for one am interested to see how Julian Fellowes will deal with so many of the cast leaving. However, I do believe that the next season will be make or break for 'Downton Abbey'. As people have rightly pointed out, some of the most popular characters have moved on: William, Lady Sybil and now you-know-who. Will Downton Abbey still have enough to keep interest? I sincerely hope so, but I don't think the 2012 Christmas Special can be used to make a judgement one way or another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really a Christmas episode (POSSIBLE SPOILERS), 28 Dec 2012
By 
C. Rucroft "The little bookworm" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
As anyone who has read any of my other reviews knows, I am a great Downton Abbey fan. I could not wait for the 'Christmas special' despite knowing it was not set at Christmas. In this episode, the family have gone to Scotland for their Summer break and the servants have been left behind in Downton.

Firstly, what I liked. I loved the beautiful scenery of Scotland alongside the stunning abbey. The sub plot involving Mrs Patmore was lovely - it was nice to see her character take on a much bigger role in the show. The mentions of Thirsk, where I'm from, made my day.

Unfortunately, this episode left a very bad taste in my mouth. I had no idea that the character who plays Matthew was leaving but the whole episode had been planned around this. Mary had to have had a baby by the end so there was somebody to succeed Matthew, instead of it being this wonderful occassion considering their fertility issues in the last series. I didn't like that this was how the producers chose to start the special. It is blatantly clear following this that Rose is intended to become the next Sybil. She is possibly one of the most annoying characters yet they have chosen to bring her in full time from series four.

Matthew's death happened in the last three minutes of the show and felt terribly rushed, for a main character. It will be interesting to see how they open the next series - either the aftermath, with a repeat of the grief we've just had for Sybil or it will be six months later. Either way, we are going to see Mary return to the cold character she is grieving over her husband's death, which doesn't really make for interesting viewing. It's also, as I have said, remarkably similar to the Sybil/Tom/Baby Sybil storyline. All we need now is for the baby to be called Matthew...

I don't think this was a special for the fans, it was for convenience and I think it shows by the poor (compared to other specials) ratings. As much as I love Downton, I think we might be coming to the end of the road. Series four could well be the last...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 30 Dec 2012
How can a good TV series kill off two of it's main characters in less than a year, and still remain good? If all the actors want to leave, I can't say I blame them. This special wasn't special. Can you imagine Carson even considering employing someone like Edna? Mrs Patmore's 'relationship' with a bottom-pinching cad ended (yes, all two brief encounters of it). The whole plot was stupid and terribly rushed. Don't bother buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Christmas Glitter for Downton, 31 Dec 2012
By 
KI Girl (Kangaroo Island, Australia) - See all my reviews
I must say, based on the 2011 Christmas Special, I was looking forward to something uplifting to resurrect what I thought had been a rather dull, boring and drawn out Series 3 compared to the brilliance of the past two Series and special. Sadly I was not impressed and think that Downton has run its course. As others have commented on, to focus on the marriage woes of an unknown couple in Scotland, seems to reflect that there is no more storyline for the main stay characters. I understand that season 4 and the next Christmas special have been commissioned but feel if not for the last dramatic scene (which was such as to not leave anyone in the 'festive spirit') Julian Fellows would have nowhere to take the story - and perhaps he still doesn't. I love his writing and am a big fan - but all good things must come to an end... Lets hope they can go out on a high and not further dissappoint !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ummm, a Christmas Special?, 27 Dec 2012
By 
lizzie (north of north) - See all my reviews
I am a Downton fan, I must admit. I have watched and enjoyed all of the previous episodes, found the writing witty and the characters interesting. This "Christmas Special" makes me feel that it was written by someone else, as it had little or none of the characteristics of previous shows. Where were Violet's one liners? Where was a story? What was the point? The scenery was very nice, being in Scotland, but it was about the best part of the whole thing. The DVD is good, as always, the quality is fine, but this will not be a memorable episode for me. Last year's Christmas special was terrific, this one seemed like a show that was setting up events for a future series and therefore had little of interest in it. And the ending was a real letdown. I realise Julian Fellowes had little choice, but it had none of the pathos of episode 5 in series 3. Once watched soon forgotten this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This 2012 episode of Christmas at Downton was good but not as good as last years. Set mainly in the Highlands of Scotland, this special looked great and the story was quite good. I did however feel that there were too many corny moments this time and the story did drag a little but as usual there was a shock that I didn't expect, at least not in this episode.

The loss of a major character is usually moving but this time I felt little or no emotion as the actor that dies had strongly hinted that they may well move on to other things so it was a case of good riddance in a way. It will be interesting to see how things develop in series four but I do get the feeling that Downton is perhaps reaching the end of the road and Julian Fellowes needs to be careful in ensuring that the series doesn't go on for too long.

This was a good addition to the Downton story but not quite at the top of it's game. There is still some life left but it does need to tread carefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Downton Abbey: A Journey to the Highlands (Christmas Special 2012) [Blu-ray]
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews