Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, moving and brilliant ........, 3 Aug 2013
By 
A. Acar (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallipoli - The Frontline Experience - narrated by Jeremy Irons and Sam Neill [DVD] (DVD)
Have just watched this very interesting but very sad DVD -
I was as moved by this great documentary, as I was when I visited Gallipoli.
Very nicely put together and Jeremy Irons narration is fabulous - an inspired choice.
Pictures and footage with some hauntingly moving music .. shocking to think of all those young lives cut short on both sides ... a lost generation .. we need to remember them, and learn the lessons of war.
So glad I bought this. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucid recounting of the horrors of war as experienced by the ordinary soldier, 27 Dec 2012
By 
DF McCleland (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallipoli - The Frontline Experience - narrated by Jeremy Irons and Sam Neill [DVD] (DVD)
As the subtitle alludes, the focus of this newly released production is not the strategic or general's eye view of the battle but rather the experiences of the humble soldier in the frontline.

This expedition was doomed to failure from the outset. The very premise on which the initial battle was conceived was flawed viz the capitulation of Turkey by the simple expedient of sailing some English & French battleships up the Dardanelles to Constantinople i.e. modern day Istanbul.

How naïve! More likely it was a reflection of the British & French's contemptuous attitude to the Turk's perceived capability.

Without much ado, the Allies found themselves in an extremely precarious position having lost 3 battleships without causing any discernible effect on the Turks.

They were forced to retreat literally with their tails firmly between their legs.

To compound the initial foolish decision, the Secretary of State for war, none other than Lord Kitchener & the Lord of the Admiralty, Winston Spencer Churchill brushed aside all opposition & committed the Allies to the landing of troops at Gallipoli on the Dardanelles.

Due to the dearth of available troops, the burden fell disproportionately on the Anzacs as the Australian & New Zealand troops were colloquially known.

It is at this point that one is introduced not only to the inhospitable & impenetrable landscape but more importantly, the various troops from all sides of the conflict whose progress will be followed. Given the time elapsed since the event, no survivors remain. Rather the immediacy is created by the use of letters & photos as the medium.

The inexperienced & luckless Anzacs drew the short straw in being allocated the most treacherous & craggy section of the littoral.

The DVD takes ones through the numerous missteps in the battle, the brunt of each inane decision ultimately being borne by the lowly frontline soldier. Each horror visited upon these soldiers is revealed in all its gore with emaciated corpses strewn across a barren landscape.

Ultimately without contrition both Kitchener & Churchill are relieved of their respective commands & the troops unceremoniously withdrawn from the Ottoman Empire leaving behind 200,000 bodies of their colleagues & their Turkish adversaries.

Naught attained for such a human sacrifice!

Definitely a superior production with little usage made of stock film footage so beloved of certain productions but rather an admixture of extant footage - some not in good nick - contemporary footage of the actual battlefields interspersed with expert's commentary. Finally intertwined & woven like a silk thread, the stories of the dozen or so participants add a human dimension albeit melancholy. The ultimate fate of each of the selected participants serves as the denouement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very thought provoking, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallipoli - The Frontline Experience - narrated by Jeremy Irons and Sam Neill [DVD] (DVD)
The most moving, thought provoking and beautifully made film describing the impact of the Gallipoli campagne on the men who fought there. The commentary and music are so well interwoven together. Very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gallipoli, 4 Aug 2013
This review is from: Gallipoli - The Frontline Experience - narrated by Jeremy Irons and Sam Neill [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my mum as she is going to gallipoli this summer, the film was full of detail,very graphic but extremely informative and extremely moving - excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent summary of the Gallipoli campaign, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallipoli - The Frontline Experience - narrated by Jeremy Irons and Sam Neill [DVD] (DVD)
A very good documentary of the battle, which does an impressive job of capturing the perspectives of the different nationalities that were involved. I read and watched stories from the Australian perspective in my childhood, and it is only in more recent years that I've gained a better understanding of the Turkish experience. Few of the Ottoman soldiers were literate in this era, but the documentary has used the available letters from Turkish troops to great effect.

The video provides a very balanced view of the awful conditions; the many futile attacks and leadership errors; and the gritty courage of so many men on both sides. The final scene is a reading of the longest surviving letter that was written by a Turkish soldier in the campaign, and is very poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Stevenage, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallipoli - The Frontline Experience - narrated by Jeremy Irons and Sam Neill [DVD] (DVD)
I have bought a lot of DVDs on historical military subjects, and generally they are vintage film or photos threaded together with cheap re-enactment and clumsy graphics. Not here. This is an absolutely brilliant film with the highest production values and expertly crafted to really give a feel of what it was like to be at Gallipoli.

Certainly it gives a good narrative of the history of the campaign, and one of it's greatest strengths is that its takes all viewpoints, not just of one side or the other. But it also has many readings of letters and diaries of those that were there, along with film and photographs of the battles. There are modern reconstructions, but they are tasteful and not intrusive, and what is more they are done with excellent regard to historical accuracy and also with a very high standard of art worthy of any major feature film. The English narration is brilliant, done by the always good Jeremy Irons, and the readings are also perfect.

This is the first time that I have been inspired to reviewed anything on Amazon, and trust me, I buy a lot here. This DVD is probably one of the best and most surprising purchases I have ever made here, and anyone with an interest in this particular part of World War I really must watch this fine example of how documentaries on military history should be done.

With lots of positives and absolutely nothing to criticise, I agree with the rest of the reviewers here in easily giving it five stars. Impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must viewing for anyone planning to visit Gallipoli, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallipoli - The Frontline Experience - narrated by Jeremy Irons and Sam Neill [DVD] (DVD)
Very good condition - content was very comprehensive whilst maintaining the neutrality of humanitarian issues on bothe sides
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shows that Gallipoli was just as bad as the Western front, 31 Aug 2014
This review is from: Gallipoli - The Frontline Experience - narrated by Jeremy Irons and Sam Neill [DVD] (DVD)
Well worth watching.Shows that Gallipoli was just as bad as the Western front,if not worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallipoli - The Frontline Experience - narrated by Jeremy Irons and Sam Neill [DVD] (DVD)
Not Churchills fault of course!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Austrailia and New Zealand we owe them a lot, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. P. A. Robinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallipoli - The Frontline Experience - narrated by Jeremy Irons and Sam Neill [DVD] (DVD)
This documentry shows how important the Commonwelth was to our history and what we still owe to them. I if we owe anything like as much to Europe?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews