Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Taste of 80's He-Man, Best of the 1st Season, 18 April 2013
By 
D. M. Monid "davidmonid1" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
This is a nice budgeted title and a great way for newcomers to get into He-Man, for some hardcore fans though, it might serve as a genuine curiosity.

Brought to you by Classic Media (who currently owns the Filmation back catalogue as of 2013) and Universal; the company's current home media distributor; they cleverly captured the essence of the old BCI Eclipse set from America, though the original set was a 2 disc edition and it was the Best 10 episodes from both seasons of He-Man and the Masters of the Universe. This version is the 10 best episodes of Season 1 packed onto one disc and despite having 10 episodes all on one disc, the episode quality doesn't suffer.

These episodes were carefully chosen by James 'Busta Toons' Eatock; one of the top fan authorities on the most powerful man in the universe, who worked on various fan projects and who recorded some audio commentary tracks for the old Contender He-Man DVD's, which seem to be now out of print as I write this review.

James' chosen episodes do differ a bit from the BCI sets as two original choices of his 'Diamond Ray of Disappearance' and 'Quest For He-man' are no longer part of the line up; but here's what is on this disc;

1. Teela's Quest
2. The Dragon Invasion
3. Dawn of Dragoon
4. Evilseed
5. Prince Adam No More
6. The Dragon's Gift
7. House of Shokoti: Part 2 (No Part 1 here I'm afraid, sorry folks)
8. Double Edged Sword
9. The Region of Ice
10. Pawns of The Game Master

Of course some fans opinions on certain episodes may vary, but these are James' personal favourites from the first season and of which some should appeal to most fans of the show.

Seeing as though the Contender DVD's are no longer being produced, this is the only way to keep He-Man on the market at the moment. There are plans to release another 10 episode 'Best of' compilation featuring the best episodes from Season 2, hopefully if this sells well, that should be released and hopefully we'll see a release of the season sets by Classic Media/Universal.

For one disc with 10 episodes on it, it's definitely worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars but my boyfriend absolutely loved it, so no complaints, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Didn't realise it was a "Best of" when I bought it, but my boyfriend absolutely loved it, so no complaints!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD keeps my grandson happy for hours,the quality is very good ,I would recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983], 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I found some stored He-man toys in the loft! I bought the DVD so my Grandson could see who the characters were and what they did. He loves the information he can get from the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reception. I recommend the purchase. Very good price and value for money., 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Wonderful retro! Each of the ten section provides a real experience. A middle-aged people are familiar with the children and young people to recommend a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bit of nostalgia, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
As a big kid just turned 30 I fancied a taste of my childhood and wasn't disappointed, happy with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something to keep them off the computer games..., 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Can't beat he-man for old fashioned adventure. always have a moral at the end of the story if you can keep the jkids off the XBox long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By the power...., 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I gave this 5 stars although it hasn't been tried yet.
But I anticipate that it will be a blast from the past for someone's big 30 Birthday later in he year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filmation's He-Man, 31 Dec 2012
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
This DVD contains 10 episodes from the first season hand picked by one of the people who did the commentry on each volume I don't think these are the greatest of all but is still a good addition to season 1 this is nothing new every episode here appears somewhere in the nine volumes of season one released by Contender this isn't by Contender and has no extras.

As a kid of the 80's I think this version of He-Man is far better than the remake and attempts at continuing the series if just want to watch what someone else thinks are the landmark shows of season 1 this is for you only one bad thing it has part two of the only two parter every made but no part one I think that should heve been looked at before release.

On the whole a good buy a must for fans of the 80's series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Good price, great nostalgia gift for Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

He-Man and the Masters of the Universe - Best of Series 1 [DVD] [1983]
£4.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews