Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect analogue recording
If you want to discover what AAA (Analogue tape recording, Analogue mixed, Analogue Mastered)recordings are all about then buy the vinyl copy of this superb album. The sound quality and music are fantastic. Who needs MP3 anyhow(for the car maybe!!)
Published 18 months ago by ian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag
The legacy of Neil Young's prolific and often distinguished output can be defined in terms of its unpredictability and variable quality. It's the idiosyncratic approach Young has to his art in which he feels compelled to follow his muse, that endears the man to many of his die-hard fans. Young's work, which is in equal parts brilliant and indifferent - frequently within...
Published 15 months ago by Daniel Margrain


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect analogue recording, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychedelic Pill [VINYL] (Vinyl)
If you want to discover what AAA (Analogue tape recording, Analogue mixed, Analogue Mastered)recordings are all about then buy the vinyl copy of this superb album. The sound quality and music are fantastic. Who needs MP3 anyhow(for the car maybe!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Neil Young gem, 29 Oct 2012
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Psychedelic Pill (Audio CD)
This is an excellent Neil Young album, which is a relief to be able to say because I didn't think much of Americana, his last one. This album, like Americana, features Crazy Horse but is a completely different piece of work and it's terrific - in places I think it comes close to his best, which makes it something really special.

The overall sound and feel is vintage Neil Young. There are the hauntingly melancholy tunes, the thoughtful, quirky lyrics and the great chord sequences which made albums like Harvest and After The Goldrush so great, combined with the controlled, distortion-driven power of the brilliant Rust Never Sleeps. (Am I showing my age here?) This album is also a reminder of what a great band Crazy Horse are. The sound is terrific, there is some great guitar work and they are tight and gutsy so even Born In Ontario, the only slightly weak song on the album, still sounds really good.

Neil Young is often meditating on experience and aging here, but he still sounds young and fresh and still has more power and guts than a lot of artists half his age. Several of the tracks are very long; Driftin' Back lasts nearly half an hour and other tracks are over 15 minutes. This, of course, is typical Neil Young - refusing to bow to convention and doing whatever makes musical sense to him at the time. He has always done this and it can be dreadful (it sometimes has been in the past) but nearly all the time here it's great. The huge Ramada Inn is a masterpiece in my view, and more conventional shorter tracks like Twisted Road may well end up in the list of Neil Young Classics.

There is little self-indulgence and a huge amount of real musical substance. Driftin' Back could perhaps do with a little trimming, but it's still a really good track. The last half of Walk Like A Giant will probably get the skip-to-next treatment from me, but its first eight minutes or so are quite brilliant.

You have to hand it to the man - he doesn't mess about and within six months of releasing the mediocre Americana he has come up with a real cracker which I think will stand among his finest albums. If you're not already familiar with Neil Young this may not be the best place to start but if you are I suspect that, like me, you will love this. Very, very warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 15 Jun 2013
This review is from: Psychedelic Pill (Audio CD)
I'm a big Neil Young fan... there's no denying it, and I love all his work with Crazy Horse, live and studio. I enjoy his acoustic stuff too, but Weld is higher up my list than Harvest - just to give some context to this review. That said, I'm not the type to big up all his work, 5 stars for everything and all that. I have owned all his albums at some point (LPs of Buffalo Roam, JTTP and TFA included) and some I've gotten rid of (Hawks & Doves, Passionate etc.), I enjoyed Le Noise, I didn't enjoy Chrome Dreams 2 and Living with War. I like Re-ac-tor and Zuma, I don't so much like Stars N Bars and Freedom.

But this album... one of the few that on first listen I knew it was going to be one of his best, and it really is. I enjoyed Americana, and appreciate Crazy Horse played on that too, but this feels like the reunion. Americana was the warm up with some great tunes, but here they have found their voice with melodies on almost all the songs that range from the raw of Welfare Mothers, to the harmony of Mother Earth.

The songs:

Driftin' Back - Weighs in at just short of 28 minutes, and is a wonderful transient tune and melody that you can listen to, daze to, work to, or sleep to. The lyrics aren't up to much... they reference his book and gripe with music quality here and there, but that's Neil! It's a strange choice as opener to the album, baring in mind that this song is longer than the whole of Everybody's Rockin' and won't fit on one side of an LP, but it kind of works and it doesn't feel like an effort.

Psychedelic Pill - The 21st century Cinnamon Girl. The tune is almost the identical to 'Sign of Love' from Le Noise, and put to much better use here. A really great semi-synthetic rock-out tune.

Ramada Inn - Widely described as the highlight of the album which I didn't see at first but having seen him play it live in Birmingham on Tuesday, I certainly put it right up there. I suppose, along with Driftin' Back, they have that slightly softer heavy rock that only Neil can do... think Cortez from Zuma. Lyrics of love, interpretable by each to their own, but a really excellent song that sounds wonderful live, and hopefully will appear on a live Alchemy album at some point.

Born In Ontario - Definitely the weakest song on the album for me. I'm not saying it's a bad song... but it has a corny, country feel and feels well out of context. Like it would be 'filler' on Harvest or Old Ways or something.

Twisted Road - May make a hypocrite out of myself but I love it. Neil reminiscing about days and artists gone by as he does. It still feels like it came from a separate 'Harvest/Old Ways' style session and is out of place, especially as this is start of disc 2, but the melody and lyrics really are quite pleasing.

She's Always Dancing - An amazing 8 minute jam, really quite unlike any other song that springs to mind. The lyrics teeter towards being T-Bone at some points 'She likes to burn x4' as a verse for example, but the tune, the jam and the vocals from the Horse ('she wants to live without ties that bind her down' sung so similarly to 'there's a mansion on the hill') make this a NY&CH classic.

For The Love Of Man - A heartfelt solo effort from Neil. A nice song, nice lyrics, and has a Needle and the Damage feels to it but kind of kills the mood of the album in between two really quite heavy songs.

Walk Like A Giant - Love it. Favourite Neil Young track right now, and has been since I first heard it. The first song he's released since Ragged Glory that feels like a full on overdriven, grunge assault of feedback. Probably only comparable to 'Shots' from Re-ac-tor in terms of the feedback solos. It showcases Crazy Horse at their very best, harmonising in a way we haven't heard since Ragged Glory/Weld and providing backing vocals bordering doo-wap at times that date back to the original, Everybody Knows this is Nowhere. The lyrics are also fantastic, especially if you've read his autobiography - feelings of regret, mistakes, loss but an overwhelming sense of energy and drive to keep going. The only complaint is the ending... a good 5 minutes of feedback, a 'giant stomp' sequence. This would be a fine way to end an album, and it's poignant and fits the tone.

Psychedelic Pill (Alternate Mix) - It's always nice to have a bonus track. But as mentioned above, the album, as a piece of art, feels like it should finish at the end of Walk Like a Giant. This is simply the same as track 2 but without the Le Noise style effect... I don't like it as much, but I suspect many will like it more.

All in all a wonderful album. The only negative I have is the continuity throughout. The sheer length of the first song is impractical for LP, the ordering of songs is not what you'd expect given the length of some tracks and the bonus track feels very much tagged on at the end. But, whether Neil likes it or not, we're in an MP3 era. Many will download this, and many will buy the CD to rip onto an MP3 player - from there, none of this is an issue. Many, myself included, will pick out their favourite songs and create a different album every day made up of all his great work. And that's what it's about, the music, and the music is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar meatfeast, 27 Nov 2012
By 
K. Thomson (Northern Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychedelic Pill (Audio CD)
This is a great album if you love Neil's guitar playing. His voice still sounds just like it did over 40 years ago. 3 of the songs clock in over a quarter of an hour long each, but they are all great. You lose track of the time. In fact there's no dead weight on the whole double album. Crazy Horse sound better than ever. Buy the album, do not download it - Neil hates the poor quality from MP3s: You only get 5% of what he puts in. If you buy it, you get it all.
Only one problem: the print in the lyric booklet is so tiny that I need perfect light to read it. Most people I know would need reading glasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOUNGS PILL SHOULD BE ON EVERYBODYS PRESCRIPTION, 29 Oct 2012
This review is from: Psychedelic Pill (Audio CD)
First ao all,the moan,when this was first advertised as being priced at£22.29 why do Reprise keep doing this ,the same happened with Donald Fagens new album,they charge the earth for the first few weeks,then hey presto the prices fall,and the final result?many fans left out of pocket.
This album has been availiable in parts on various websites for the last few weeks or so,and in consequence the tracks are familiar.
This according to the advertising on the front cover,is the first recording of original material in over a decade by neil young and crazy horse.
Finally before the review starts,track one lasts longer than the entire Jeff lynne album!
CD ONE(51.43)
1.....Driftin' back......Starts of with an acoustic guitar and clear vocals,than the electric guitar solo comes ,this could have been on any of Youngs classic albums ,it is that good,it has not got the drive that propelled "like a hurricane"into the stratosphere,but that doesn't matter,it is still strong.
"things that bother you drift away,to maybe return as a shadow not so big" twenty seven minutes snd thirty seven minutes long.
2.....Psychedelic pill....."Age has nothing to fo wwith having a good time,some girls are a lot older than you,but they are still girls,and carry the spirit and he torch,the dark night exists that they cannot bring light to" is a very phase heavy rock song.
3.....Ramada inn......"remembering the long grade,you tke the time to count your friend" Starts like "Hurricane" with thumping guitars and drums,this sounded great when i first heard it,it sounds even better now,long and rambling,but enthralling at the same time.
4......Born in Ontario....."When where you ar from keeps returning to you maybe its time to go back" A good old country rock song((Neil Young style to bring this Astonishing first Cd to an end,this has hilarious lyrics

CD TWO(35.58)
5......Twisted road....."Somewhere ahead your friends reach out with thier own memories.to me this has a slight resemblance to "Cowgirl in the sand2 and is a tribute to Bob Dylan.
6.....She's always dancing....."even now,though dhe's away her music fills the air,her kindness toward others lingers,she's always there she is with you". a perfect summer festival type of vibe,you could even dance to it!!
7.....For the love of man....."some things can never be understood,these are the things that keep returning making you wonder". a slower song to calm things down.
8.....Walk like a giant....."In the face of failure,when there is love,there is always hope,you might ask yourself "Why would i walk like a giant"We return to the more rockier theme,this shows Neils excellent whistling technique.
9.....Psychedelic pill......Brings the whole album to a glorious end.
This year has seen three major releases by Young,the previous two were excellent,but this astonishing five star album is even better!!!.

RELEASED 2012
REPRISE

NIEL YOUNG.....GUITARS,VOCALS,PUMP ORGAN,STRINGMAN,WHISTLING
PONCHO SANPEDRO......GUITAR,VOCALS
BILLY TALBOT......BASS,VOCALS
RALPH MOLINA......DRUMS,VOCALS
DAN GRECO.....TAMBOURINE BELL

VALUE FOR MONEY.....£££££
PRODUCTION.......CLEAR AND CRISP
BEST TRACKS.....DRIFTIN' BACK,RAMADA INN,BORN IN ONTARIO,SHE'S ALWAYS DANCING,
PACKAGING.....LARGE HARD CARD GATEFOLD SLEEVE WITH BOOKLET.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Young, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychedelic Pill (Audio CD)
I have the entire Young collection and can therefor relate to the music on this cd, it's classic Neil Young but will not appeal to all fans. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly good!, 30 Oct 2012
By 
Arthur Dooley (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Psychedelic Pill (Audio CD)
What a great surprise.The Godfather of Grunge and dirtbag C&W knocking out a classic album at a time when most of his contemporaries are going through the motions and treading water. This to me is one of Neil's best albums. Certainly...for me anyway...in his all time top five. From the opening 27 minute track..TWENTY SEVEN minutes!...It's instantly engaging and driving in it's fusion of soaring,jangling guitars and Ralph Molina's tight skins.
Think Cortez the Killer..Powderfinger..Like a Hurricane..Sweeping and epic in it's imagination and execution. 80 minutes long and classed as a double album, Psychedelic Pill opens up the senses and takes the listener to the heights of aural pleasure. Strong medicine indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Driftin' Back To His Best, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: Psychedelic Pill (Audio CD)
Neil Young triumphantly returns to the style of music from his best period of the likes of Zuma, American Stars 'n Bars and Rust Never Sleeps. The whole experience is a delight and a bit of a surprise. Don't let the length of some of the tracks put you off, it is wonderful. The stories are vintage Young and the guitar work is exemplary. Check out the variety in pace and length but I promise you will not be bored. This album was produced at the same sessions as Americana apparently and it shows. The Horse have seldom been tighter, bass lines so strong and the harmonies are striking. Buy it, especially if you are a Neil fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hats Off To The Mixing Men, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Red Mosquito (Horton Bank Top) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Psychedelic Pill (Audio CD)
A lot has been written about the outstanding music on this album but what about the mix? The balance and the way in which this album has been set up is perfect to my ears. So hats off to Neil Young and John Ranton for one of the best mixes I've heard in a long long time. I know it's personal but to have the bass drum and the bass guitar together in the foreground is a delight. The other drums sit nicely behind and the cymbals are tucked away in the background. I'm not a fan of over cooked cymbals in my music and it would suit my taste if drummers hardly used them. The guitar separation is outstanding and NY's vocals hang sweetly in between.......Perfect. The music was recorded and mixed to analog tape before being transferred to digital. I don't know enough about studio techniques to say whether or not this is usual or significant but the end result is perfection. This is a review for the CD and not the vinyl, which I'm tempted to buy given the quality of the digital format. I've spoken (written) in praise of the sound quality and the production. The music speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Masterpiece, 14 Jun 2013
By 
M. Conroy "markconroy" (Wigan UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychedelic Pill (Audio CD)
I've had this album a few months but only gave it a cursory listen but after seeing Neil Young & Crazy Horse the other evening at the LG in Birmingham I decided to get my head around this forgotten masterpiece and boy I'm glad I did.Neil's voice is as fresh as 30 years ago (as it was at the LG too) and he again asserts himself as one of the greatest guitarists ever, Crazy Horse rack up the grunge as only they can.
Not one bad track on here, Ramada Inn is outstanding as is Drifting Back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychedelic Pill
Psychedelic Pill by Neil Young (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews