Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life around us
Full of beautiful pictures this series is a repository of knowledge about life around us. Sir David Attenborough takes the audience on another wonderful journey.
Published 15 months ago by Talka

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars present
as this was a present I did not get to see it, but assume the recipient was pleased as they had requested it.
Published 11 months ago by grandma


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life around us, 3 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
Full of beautiful pictures this series is a repository of knowledge about life around us. Sir David Attenborough takes the audience on another wonderful journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
Another awesome job by Sir David and the BBC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! Have watched it's lots of times - love ..., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing ! Have watched it's lots of times - love all the close ups and filming of secret behaviour of all these insects etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another great series., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
Life in the underground represents another great BBC natural history series and who could present it better than David Attenborough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars creepy, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
Another brilliant DVD from sir David ,amazing how they get the footage if you don,t like spider and other creepy crawlies don,t watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived on time in good condition. As we live on a boat in the Med it is an excellent method of aquiring DVD's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bugging out, 6 Oct 2013
This review is from: Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
"Life in the undergrowth" is a five-part BBC series about insects, spiders, snails and other bugs. New recording technology makes the critters come to life in ways we haven't seen before. The whole extravaganza is hosted, as it should be, by David Attenborough. Full disclosure: I haven't seen the entire series, only the official sneak peaks posted by BBC Nature at Youtube. I'm scared stiff already! "This series will cure your arachnophobia" according to the promotion material. I can assure you that it didn't work on my humble self...

The bizarre 17-year life cycle of cicadas, literal wars between ants and termites, carnivorous larvae using silk threads to catch their prey, gall wasps, giant Asian honeybees, ants that live in the tidal zone (!) of a mangrove swamp...that's just some of the action in the undergrowth. My favourite are the blue wing butterflies, the larvae of which live inside ant nests for protection. However, a parasitic wasp has the ability to locate the hidden larvae inside the nests, trick the ants into attacking each other, and then lay its eggs inside the poor larva anyway! Another favourite of mine are the termites, the mounds of which are really gigantic thermostats?!

As David Attenborough points out, insects and other "bugs" would hardly notice our disappearance, but we would surely notice theirs - and the ecological disaster that would follow. As somebody pointed out long ago: God loves beetles. If you have the same strange appetite, "Life in the Undergrowth" will give you a real treat. Personally, I'm even more scared of creeping, crawling, flying things after seeing this, than I was before.

I'm bugging out, LOL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
My grandson of 7 just loved this birthday pressie. better than using my food boxes. Would really recomend this item .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love david attenborough, 19 Feb 2013
By 
J Windle (Bromsgrove, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
I love anything by david attenborough and this dvd is no exception. This was groundbreaking when first made and is still a great watch, especially if you have children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
Everything is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD]
Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] by Sir David Attenborough (DVD - 2012)
6.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews