Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.39
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2012
Heard a good chunk of the new album last week at Sound Control in Manchester and JJR rocked like the MC5, The Clash and Little Richard put together so I happily bought the album itself.
Not only does in no dissapoint it is superb, more consistent than Burning Your House Down with in opinion, a better selection of songs and not a second wasted in its trim, but superb 36 minutes. The production is excellent too, remaining clear and focused and providing space for all the instruments and of course, those vocals.
If you're a JJR fan this will provide you with a hefty dose of what you're after. If you've heard of the JJR and curious just ask yourself if youre looking for a hellacious, rowdy, swaggering, spit n sawdust rock n roll then you've been looking for the Jim Jones Revue. Now you've found 'em, join the revolution brothers n sisters!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
As a pianist with a rock guitarist husband, this album was pure heaven for us! Only one bum song on the whole album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
The Savage Heart is another great rocking album form this excellent UK garage rock n roll band.
Jim Jones bangs out the lyrics in his usual unrestrained manner, working them with great support from the rest of the band.
Piano interludes from new member Henri Herbert blends well into the band style (if you can peg them into one!) and is a great addition to the set.
Gritty, snarling and raw rock - this third album is sure to please!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I love the Jim Jones Revue - a great band who play rock 'n' roll loud and fast, with a swagger. This album starts off in that vein with the magnificent Its Gotta Be About Me. After that however, this album then sets about a very different feel - slower, more laid-back, more intense. The songs are good, and its still unmistakeably the Jim Jones Revue, just not like you've heard them in the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
JJR's 'Burning Your House Down' was a blistering blast of garage rock n roll, all snarled vocals, rockabilly stomp and buzzing energy. 'Savage Heart' is much the same but lacking the strong singles that its predecessor boasted. If you're a fan of JJR and the garage rock revival in general already then you'll still find much to enjoy here, but at a disappointingly lean 35 minutes it feels like we didn't get a full album here.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Having seen them live and the Piano players you tube video playing at St pancras station - I bought this because he was on it. It is a great rock and roll album, the songs are strong and the performances great. I particulalry like the Track seven times around the sun and it is straight into my Desert Island Discs compilation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I heard the title track of this album on the radio and loved it so much I went straight to Amazon and bought the album. It is fantastic, like a kind of explosion of sound - but a controlled one! This album is a kind of fusion of rock and other music styles but seems deliberately under produced so the music has a live venue feel. Love it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
If you know JJR then you won't be disappointed.
I'm not the best at describing music but felt that this is building on the first 2 albums and also harks back to some of Jim Jones' work with Black Moses on "Royal Stink" (a cracking album in itself and well worth investigating)
This is a band that are great on record but even better live so listen to this and then find them live. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Great cd. Quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
A long standing friend introduced me to this band recently..... Totally awesome, great riffs, amazing piano work, hit you in the guts content with a superb mix and production! Best album I've bought in a long time, I own al three of their products now - I would strongly recommend anyone who likes R'n"R to do the same!
Great work well done!!!!

Get a copy before you die!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)