Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kickin Out The Jams
Heard a good chunk of the new album last week at Sound Control in Manchester and JJR rocked like the MC5, The Clash and Little Richard put together so I happily bought the album itself.
Not only does in no dissapoint it is superb, more consistent than Burning Your House Down with in opinion, a better selection of songs and not a second wasted in its trim, but superb...
Published 21 months ago by Jmrichardson

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Step backwards but still hard rockin'
JJR's 'Burning Your House Down' was a blistering blast of garage rock n roll, all snarled vocals, rockabilly stomp and buzzing energy. 'Savage Heart' is much the same but lacking the strong singles that its predecessor boasted. If you're a fan of JJR and the garage rock revival in general already then you'll still find much to enjoy here, but at a disappointingly lean 35...
Published 18 months ago by Monster Zero


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kickin Out The Jams, 15 Oct 2012
By 
Jmrichardson "Jaz" (MCR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savage Heart (MP3 Download)
Heard a good chunk of the new album last week at Sound Control in Manchester and JJR rocked like the MC5, The Clash and Little Richard put together so I happily bought the album itself.
Not only does in no dissapoint it is superb, more consistent than Burning Your House Down with in opinion, a better selection of songs and not a second wasted in its trim, but superb 36 minutes. The production is excellent too, remaining clear and focused and providing space for all the instruments and of course, those vocals.
If you're a JJR fan this will provide you with a hefty dose of what you're after. If you've heard of the JJR and curious just ask yourself if youre looking for a hellacious, rowdy, swaggering, spit n sawdust rock n roll then you've been looking for the Jim Jones Revue. Now you've found 'em, join the revolution brothers n sisters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Savage Heart, 19 Nov 2012
By 
Jon Swift (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savage Heart (Audio CD)
The Savage Heart is another great rocking album form this excellent UK garage rock n roll band.
Jim Jones bangs out the lyrics in his usual unrestrained manner, working them with great support from the rest of the band.
Piano interludes from new member Henri Herbert blends well into the band style (if you can peg them into one!) and is a great addition to the set.
Gritty, snarling and raw rock - this third album is sure to please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Step backwards but still hard rockin', 4 Feb 2013
By 
Monster Zero (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savage Heart (Audio CD)
JJR's 'Burning Your House Down' was a blistering blast of garage rock n roll, all snarled vocals, rockabilly stomp and buzzing energy. 'Savage Heart' is much the same but lacking the strong singles that its predecessor boasted. If you're a fan of JJR and the garage rock revival in general already then you'll still find much to enjoy here, but at a disappointingly lean 35 minutes it feels like we didn't get a full album here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good music and I play it a lot, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savage Heart (Audio CD)
Bought this as I saw the pianist on You Tube. Good music and I play it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is a great rock and roll album, 3 July 2014
By 
G James "Gazza" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savage Heart (Audio CD)
Having seen them live and the Piano players you tube video playing at St pancras station - I bought this because he was on it. It is a great rock and roll album, the songs are strong and the performances great. I particulalry like the Track seven times around the sun and it is straight into my Desert Island Discs compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great one, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savage Heart (Audio CD)
Bought this for my partner and he truly adores it. Not sure how many he has but this will be added to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Savage Heart (Audio CD)
Saw these at reading festival and the album was as good as them live. Great band and would recommend to anyone who likes rock, blues to try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Savage Heart, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savage Heart (Audio CD)
A long standing friend introduced me to this band recently..... Totally awesome, great riffs, amazing piano work, hit you in the guts content with a superb mix and production! Best album I've bought in a long time, I own al three of their products now - I would strongly recommend anyone who likes R'n"R to do the same!
Great work well done!!!!

Get a copy before you die!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill!, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savage Heart (MP3 Download)
As a pianist with a rock guitarist husband, this album was pure heaven for us! Only one bum song on the whole album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savage Heart (Audio CD)
Saw this band live recently and they blew me away. This album is definitely their best so far. It creeps up on you and makes you listen to it over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Savage Heart
The Savage Heart by The Jim Jones Revue
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews