Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars and after some months it has started to deliver i think an experience any lover of the aliens film would get enjoyment from. It
i waited for this game and was hugely dissapointed upon its release. which was a slap in the face after alot of promises from Gear Box software. leaving me with a bitter taste in my mouth. however... although alot of people are still slating this game. since its release it has had alot of major patching, and after some months it has started to deliver i think an...
Published 28 days ago by J. A. Unwin-smith

versus
68 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Kind of Xenomorph May Be Involved
I am a huge fan of the movie Aliens and like a lot of people I've been waiting for the Aliens Colonial Marines game to come out for several years. With this level of anticipation and that long in development I expected something pretty special. Unfortunately it is not.

The problem is the developers seem to have missed the point. At its heart the movie Aliens...
Published 18 months ago by Neil Lennon


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Kind of Xenomorph May Be Involved, 12 Feb 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I am a huge fan of the movie Aliens and like a lot of people I've been waiting for the Aliens Colonial Marines game to come out for several years. With this level of anticipation and that long in development I expected something pretty special. Unfortunately it is not.

The problem is the developers seem to have missed the point. At its heart the movie Aliens (and the whole Alien franchise) are horror movies. The sense of tension and dread as the marines explore Hadleys Hope, the panic that ensues and the last desperate struggle for survival are some of the best scenes cinema has to offer. Yes the marines have guns, grenades, sharp sticks etc, but as the movie shows they are all pretty much useless against the alien threat. In this game though the writers have focused on the idea of the aliens being so much cannon fodder. The result is that rather than being a survival horror game this is more of an arcade action game, that while enjoyable in places is no better than a dozen others already on the market.

On the positive side it is worth noting that this is the official Aliens game, licensed by Fox. While other games often imitate the style this is the only game you are going to find with the stories and characters from the movie. They have even roped in Michael Biehn and Lance Hendrickson to do voice acting. During the game you explore a lot of locations from the movies which are copied exactly from the original design, lending the game a certain authenticity fans of the series will love. One aspect which is particularly well done is the sound effects which are a perfect match to the movie.

The basic game play though is extremely average. In the single player game you play as a Colonial Marine (obviously) sent as part of a squad to investigate what happened to the USS Sulaco. As expected the mission all goes pear shaped very quickly and you are soon running around fighting hordes of aliens, trying to survive. This is part of the problem, within a few minutes you loose any sense of fear the aliens might instill as you gun them down in droves. When they attack they move pretty quickly towards you but don't seem to do much when they get there. If your health and armour are at full strength you can duke it out mana a mano (or mano a alien anyway) and do more damage than the alien. There is no grab effect like in the movie, and no acid splash if you shoot it close up (except that it stops you regenerating your health for a minute or two). As the game goes on there are different types of aliens introduced to try and give some variety and increased challenge but wouldn't it have made more sense to make the basic aliens tougher? Remember as Ripley warns the marines one single xenomorph "wiped out my entire crew".

The single player campaign can also be played co-op or split screen which is probably the best option. Exploring the game with a few mates (and a few drinks) is always going to be the most enjoyable way to play this. However it doesn't seem to increase the number of aliens so for a challenge you would probably need to select a higher difficulty setting if you wanted it to be interesting. Even playing solo however you always seem to have a few AI controlled characters with you, either getting in the way or ordering you about. There is some suitable marine banter between these guys but none of the dialogue is particularly well written.

What is also dissapointing is the quality of the graphics. The environments and the marines themselves all seem a bit cartoony to me. I was hoping for something a lot darker and more realistic looking but they are in fact very unremarkable and the layout is very linear, with few options for exploration (in fact on co-op it will magically teleport you back if you stray too far from your team mate). Also dissapointing is the game engine, as this is in no way a good FPS. The guns may sound great but they do not feel like real weapons if you are used to playing more advanced FPS games. I remember Hicks in Aliens warning that the pulse rifle "may kick some". Well it doesn't, its just woefully inaccurate. There are a selection of guns other than those in the movie, and additional options to modify those that do. These however do not look or feel authentic and makes it feel less like an official Aliens game and more like Kill Zone or something.

In addition to the single player game there is a multiplayer option. Despite keeping my fingers crossed that they wouldn't do this they have copied Aliens VS Predator and included both aliens and marines in the multiplayer. You have no control over whether you end up as one or the other, so if you logged in to play as marines there's a 50% chance you will have to wait until you start the next game before you get to play one. While I can admit that person controlled aliens makes it more challenging than AI controlled aliens I simply don't want to play as a xenomorph, ever. Running about as an alien you feel like you are only there to provide entertainment for the lucky players who got to play as marines. Although there are different aliens types to choose from you are still limited to charging towards the marines hoping to punch them out (I think this is what they do, as there seems to be no grab option and no extendable jaw in the face option).

Playing as the marines is obviously more fun as you get to run around shooting aliens. You can modify the appearance of your marine, select a specific weapons load out and away you go. Again, this is probably best done with a few friends playing together and co-operating in the use of the different weapons. Make the most of it as next time you are back to playing as the aliens.

Its probably useless reccomending or not reccomending this game to anyone. If you are a fan of the movie Aliens you are inevitably going to give this game a go, and will probably be dissapointed. If you are not a fan then you will probably find this to be a very average game and will wonder what the fuss was all about. Either way, considering how long it took to make this game it should have been a hell of a lot better than it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everybody said they hated this game because it was too easy, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Everybody said they hated this game because it was too easy, but as a 56 year-old gamer I hate it because it's too difficult. I've been a diehard Alien fan since seeing the original film at the cinema in 1979, so believe me, though I may not be an expert gamer, I certainly know my Aliens. The chief problem with this game is that it lacks any suspense. There is none of the stalking of single, lurking aliens that I hoped for, instead, only waves of aliens outnumbering and coming at you, might as well be playing Space Invaders. And twisting the canon by inventing the 'Bull' and 'Acid Spitting' aliens is just ridiculous, and made mental immersion in a credible story impossible. Graphics were also a bit disappointing on the PS3 platform. For a 2013 title it should have been virtually PS4-ready in graphics quality, but is far from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now the Dust has Settled, 17 Sep 2013
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Saw this Game being Slated and Panned on lots of different Game Review Sites,so i didnt buy it upon release,i simply waited for the price to drop to a realistic Level that i was willing to Pay..Managed to get myself a copy of the Limited Edition Version for just under 12.00.That certainly cheered me up.All in all you have read the positive and Negative reviews and i cant really disagree with either Camps.In all honesty the Game isnt that bad,and if you are looking for something you can pick up and put down then this is for you.It isnt a hard Game and the Graphics are fine..you gets what you pays for and i am happy with my Moneysworth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars and after some months it has started to deliver i think an experience any lover of the aliens film would get enjoyment from. It, 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
i waited for this game and was hugely dissapointed upon its release. which was a slap in the face after alot of promises from Gear Box software. leaving me with a bitter taste in my mouth. however... although alot of people are still slating this game. since its release it has had alot of major patching, and after some months it has started to deliver i think an experience any lover of the aliens film would get enjoyment from. It strenght's are the multiplayer modes which can be fantastic, and the fact that it supports a co-op and split screen campaign. there is alot of fun to be had with friends here. so you can be laughing at the game on those bits where it comes up short.
The single player campaign's plot is still complete garbage and someone should still be shot for allowing this joke to become alien cannon. But the recent addition of DLC modes and the DLC campaign 'status interrupted' for me deliver much more like the experience promised. so i would say although to get a decent game's worth of content you will have to buy the DLC . after that it is something worth owning if your a lover of the franchise or just the film aliens. you can still have lot of fun here.. for price it goes for now it would just be silly not to own it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for... A dated conversion., 20 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
You get what you pay for... A dated conversion. I bought this for 2 new (July '14) and I know it's been out for ages, and slated meantime. For that money I could use it as a coaster and not feel I was hard done by, so well - I'm a fan, give it a go.

Have to say for 40 on release this would have been given 1 star. It is quite tense at times if you switch between motion detector, but soon turns into a guns out blast which was rarely seen in the films.

It's going to be hard to make a game to do this all justice and to keep the average shooter player engaged.

On release this was running a dated graphic engine, and dated motion capture and COD controls, so it was already on the back foot. I found it tricky enough on soldier setting - mostly because of the way the weapons reload and aim , stilted at best. Aliens should be a menace and to not stick around to get shot up.

All in all, for the money you spend now - this is ok. Just ok and doesn't do the license proper justice. But I don't think a game will - not like the films. At the end of the day it's a shooter, a realistic game would have you fighting just to survive you being the prey. Give it a go, but be prepared to get bored fairly quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not awful but not much good either, 13 Feb 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Okay, here's the deal. I am a hardcore Alien fan. I have all the films on video, dvd boxsets and Blu Ray with all the extras. Im such a nut I have technical manuals and every game made from the two on the commodore 64 through the Megadrive and PC up to AVP and this.

I wont beat about the bush, this game is not great. Graphically I noted that within the first 20 mins play aboard the Sulaco that some parts looked virtually PS2 quality. This is sadly a game that has been botched together. It started life in the last Gen of consoles I believe. This is evident with attempts to add polish here and there. At best it is on a par with the COD engine which is itself 5 years or more old. Where this game has been made by 4 development teams it is obvious as the quality dips on a regular basis. It feels like a budget car built using vauxhall technology from 10 years ago and added to by trainees at BMW on occasion.

The only redeeming quality is the reference to the films for the fans. As one magazine quoted, if this was not branded Aliens, would it even see the light of day? It is passable and a nice deviation into nostalgia. I will play it through to the end but like me you will realise in 30 mins that this is a poor quality product. Better to spend the money on the blu ray box set.

If you are a hardcore alien fan then pick this up in a month because this will be sub 20 by then. If you arent then I urge you to leave it alone and buy the only thing close to the experience which is Dead Space 2. Heck even Doom BFG edition is better and I was surprised at how quickly that had dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aliens Colonial Marines, 13 Feb 2013
By 
T. W. Marshall (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I've read reviews that the single player can be completed in less than 2 hours... I've started on the Hardened difficulty and am on the 2nd mission after 1.5 hours so I think 2 hours is a bit optimistic. I like the gunplay, the movement and shooting feels a lot like Halo but you still have to LT aim to get accurate shots. Levels are so far claustrophobic which coupled with a reworked version of James Horner's classic soundtrack add to the atmosphere, but not by much. They are gracelessly designed.

Graphic wise all the released screen shots and footage have come from a PC version as the console versions look dated. There's a few frame rate problems, regular clipping, occasional screen tear and no real graphical detail on objects upon closer inspection. a real let down considering this has been in development for years and the PS3 is at the end of it's cycle so devs should be able to put beautiful games out on it. don't get me wrong, the graphics aren't terrible they just could have been far better.

The game is very scripted and nothing so far feels spontaneous or unique to my play through. AI is borderline absurd, Aliens will run straight past you to attack an ally AI character, get stuck behind boxes or will just stand there and take punishment until they explode in a shower of yellow acid. The Aliens are easy to kill and there's too many of them to make the game scary. Lance Henriksen and Michael Biehn add their voice talents but it doesn't really add any authenticity to the experience as the story is very awkwardly shoehorned into canon. To be honest the whole single player experience feels like a fan mod for Halo 4 and not a full price release game. Campaign - 2/5

I've played each of the multiplayer types and they're good but the real issue is the monumental lag. I have a fibre optic internet connection so I know my internet isn't the problem, Sega/Gearbox sort the servers out!

Team Death Match is played over 2 rounds with each team playing as either the Aliens or the Marines, from what I've played of this the Marine round generally wins as people are just running head on into gun fire and not playing to the Aliens strengths, lurking. Escape was the online experience I was really looking forward to but so far the Marines are just too powerful and I've yet to play a game where the marines fail to escape.

The Multiplayer has some real balancing issues that will hopefully get iron out with a patch, it feels like a beta release at moment and is buggy online, I'd say about 10% of matches I've been in have just crashed for no apparent reason. Multiplayer - 3/5

This game should have been delayed again for a few months for a proper ironing out of bugs and multiplayer rebalancing as the game really has potential, but its here with us now and we have to accept it... I'd wait a month or so for Amazon to reduce it to 25.

Overall - 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, just not as good as predicted., 23 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It's certainly good for it's current price.

The bad points:

Terrible lip synching.
Not as good graphics as shown in some of the trailers. You can read all about that online - though beware of spoilers.

The good points:

Good soundtrack.
Good graphics on cutscenes (other than lip synching).
Weapon customisation is very good.

Mutual:

Decent storyline. Though there a some specifics which seem silly.

Some sections are quite easy, while others are quite difficult.
(Some people say it's way too easy after playing on the easiest setting).

The bots are as helpful as you would expect a bot to be on a game (ie. you can't just crouch in cover and expect them to kill them all enemies.

I would reccomnd this game much more for fans of the 'Alien' franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It helps if you are an Aliens fan!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It helps if you are an Aliens fan, to get the full enjoyment from this game. I am a fan. That said, whilst the graphics are poor in places, particularly the aliens themselves, the music is very good. It closely follows the movie soundtrack and adds to a real sense of menace and atmosphere....................which is the games saving grace. I`ve only played on recruit level, for 2/3 hours and so far it is pretty challenging. Would I have bought this at it`s 40-00 price tag? No, but at Amazon`s 5-99, it`s a steal. Gearbox`s involvement in this game is well documented and criticised, quite rightly so. For a game several years in the making, it`s a poor effort. Yet, I am enjoying it. If you leave aside the graphics issues, turn down the lights, turn up the volume, consume a few beers and just enjoy Xenomorph hunting!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly disappointed, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I have, as many of the other reviewers have said, waited literary years for this game to come out and pre-ordered it as soon as I could. I am a huge Alien fan and love all the movies, well maybe not resurrection, and I could not wait for this to be released. I was concerned that Gearbox were making it as I have yet to be impressed with anything they have done but figured since 20th Century Fox were involved then it would be decent. I'm sorry, no gutted, to say Gearbox have not done a good job yet again. This was delayed time after time and I ask what the hell have they been doing???????? I bought this with the full intention of it being a keep forever job but I don't think it will be. The AI is really poor and the Aliens are just really dumb. They certainly don't hunt or act like they do in the films.

Some people are going on about there is no acid splash burns etc, well let's be realistic, you would be dead in about 4 seconds if that were the case! It would be like the troops in COD being incapacitated with one bullet, now how guff would that be?

To sum up, if you like the films and fancy a go at blasting some Aliens then give it a shot. If you are looking for COD in space then leave it on the shelf.

One thing though, it certainly ain't a classic like the movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3)
4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews