Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It helps if you are an Aliens fan!
It helps if you are an Aliens fan, to get the full enjoyment from this game. I am a fan. That said, whilst the graphics are poor in places, particularly the aliens themselves, the music is very good. It closely follows the movie soundtrack and adds to a real sense of menace and atmosphere....................which is the games saving grace. I`ve only played on recruit...
Published 18 months ago by Steveosnapper

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everybody said they hated this game because it was too easy
Everybody said they hated this game because it was too easy, but as a 56 year-old gamer I hate it because it's too difficult. I've been a diehard Alien fan since seeing the original film at the cinema in 1979, so believe me, though I may not be an expert gamer, I certainly know my Aliens. The chief problem with this game is that it lacks any suspense. There is none of the...
Published 12 months ago by Saul of Tarsus


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everybody said they hated this game because it was too easy, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Everybody said they hated this game because it was too easy, but as a 56 year-old gamer I hate it because it's too difficult. I've been a diehard Alien fan since seeing the original film at the cinema in 1979, so believe me, though I may not be an expert gamer, I certainly know my Aliens. The chief problem with this game is that it lacks any suspense. There is none of the stalking of single, lurking aliens that I hoped for, instead, only waves of aliens outnumbering and coming at you, might as well be playing Space Invaders. And twisting the canon by inventing the 'Bull' and 'Acid Spitting' aliens is just ridiculous, and made mental immersion in a credible story impossible. Graphics were also a bit disappointing on the PS3 platform. For a 2013 title it should have been virtually PS4-ready in graphics quality, but is far from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 77 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Kind of Xenomorph May Be Involved, 12 Feb. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I am a huge fan of the movie Aliens and like a lot of people I've been waiting for the Aliens Colonial Marines game to come out for several years. With this level of anticipation and that long in development I expected something pretty special. Unfortunately it is not.

The problem is the developers seem to have missed the point. At its heart the movie Aliens (and the whole Alien franchise) are horror movies. The sense of tension and dread as the marines explore Hadleys Hope, the panic that ensues and the last desperate struggle for survival are some of the best scenes cinema has to offer. Yes the marines have guns, grenades, sharp sticks etc, but as the movie shows they are all pretty much useless against the alien threat. In this game though the writers have focused on the idea of the aliens being so much cannon fodder. The result is that rather than being a survival horror game this is more of an arcade action game, that while enjoyable in places is no better than a dozen others already on the market.

On the positive side it is worth noting that this is the official Aliens game, licensed by Fox. While other games often imitate the style this is the only game you are going to find with the stories and characters from the movie. They have even roped in Michael Biehn and Lance Hendrickson to do voice acting. During the game you explore a lot of locations from the movies which are copied exactly from the original design, lending the game a certain authenticity fans of the series will love. One aspect which is particularly well done is the sound effects which are a perfect match to the movie.

The basic game play though is extremely average. In the single player game you play as a Colonial Marine (obviously) sent as part of a squad to investigate what happened to the USS Sulaco. As expected the mission all goes pear shaped very quickly and you are soon running around fighting hordes of aliens, trying to survive. This is part of the problem, within a few minutes you loose any sense of fear the aliens might instill as you gun them down in droves. When they attack they move pretty quickly towards you but don't seem to do much when they get there. If your health and armour are at full strength you can duke it out mana a mano (or mano a alien anyway) and do more damage than the alien. There is no grab effect like in the movie, and no acid splash if you shoot it close up (except that it stops you regenerating your health for a minute or two). As the game goes on there are different types of aliens introduced to try and give some variety and increased challenge but wouldn't it have made more sense to make the basic aliens tougher? Remember as Ripley warns the marines one single xenomorph "wiped out my entire crew".

The single player campaign can also be played co-op or split screen which is probably the best option. Exploring the game with a few mates (and a few drinks) is always going to be the most enjoyable way to play this. However it doesn't seem to increase the number of aliens so for a challenge you would probably need to select a higher difficulty setting if you wanted it to be interesting. Even playing solo however you always seem to have a few AI controlled characters with you, either getting in the way or ordering you about. There is some suitable marine banter between these guys but none of the dialogue is particularly well written.

What is also dissapointing is the quality of the graphics. The environments and the marines themselves all seem a bit cartoony to me. I was hoping for something a lot darker and more realistic looking but they are in fact very unremarkable and the layout is very linear, with few options for exploration (in fact on co-op it will magically teleport you back if you stray too far from your team mate). Also dissapointing is the game engine, as this is in no way a good FPS. The guns may sound great but they do not feel like real weapons if you are used to playing more advanced FPS games. I remember Hicks in Aliens warning that the pulse rifle "may kick some". Well it doesn't, its just woefully inaccurate. There are a selection of guns other than those in the movie, and additional options to modify those that do. These however do not look or feel authentic and makes it feel less like an official Aliens game and more like Kill Zone or something.

In addition to the single player game there is a multiplayer option. Despite keeping my fingers crossed that they wouldn't do this they have copied Aliens VS Predator and included both aliens and marines in the multiplayer. You have no control over whether you end up as one or the other, so if you logged in to play as marines there's a 50% chance you will have to wait until you start the next game before you get to play one. While I can admit that person controlled aliens makes it more challenging than AI controlled aliens I simply don't want to play as a xenomorph, ever. Running about as an alien you feel like you are only there to provide entertainment for the lucky players who got to play as marines. Although there are different aliens types to choose from you are still limited to charging towards the marines hoping to punch them out (I think this is what they do, as there seems to be no grab option and no extendable jaw in the face option).

Playing as the marines is obviously more fun as you get to run around shooting aliens. You can modify the appearance of your marine, select a specific weapons load out and away you go. Again, this is probably best done with a few friends playing together and co-operating in the use of the different weapons. Make the most of it as next time you are back to playing as the aliens.

Its probably useless reccomending or not reccomending this game to anyone. If you are a fan of the movie Aliens you are inevitably going to give this game a go, and will probably be dissapointed. If you are not a fan then you will probably find this to be a very average game and will wonder what the fuss was all about. Either way, considering how long it took to make this game it should have been a hell of a lot better than it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now the Dust has Settled, 17 Sept. 2013
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Saw this Game being Slated and Panned on lots of different Game Review Sites,so i didnt buy it upon release,i simply waited for the price to drop to a realistic Level that i was willing to Pay..Managed to get myself a copy of the Limited Edition Version for just under £12.00.That certainly cheered me up.All in all you have read the positive and Negative reviews and i cant really disagree with either Camps.In all honesty the Game isnt that bad,and if you are looking for something you can pick up and put down then this is for you.It isnt a hard Game and the Graphics are fine..you gets what you pays for and i am happy with my Moneysworth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "GAME OVER, MAN! GAME OVER!", 31 July 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I am a huge fan of the Aliens/Predators franchise. I have nearly played every Aliens games that ever existed. The last game that I played was Aliens vs Predator back in 2010 which was developed by Rebellion but the game was great but had a quick death as the support from SEGA/Rebellion was poor.

However when Aliens(tm): Colonial Marines was announced way back (about 3 years ago or maybe longer). I have been following and keeping up to date with the latest information. Basically it had a battle where it was cancelled one minute then the next, it was back on. During 2012 Gearbox Software started promoting Aliens(tm): Colonial Marines. I got so excited and was happy that

Gearbox Software were going ahead with the Aliens(tm): Colonial Marines project.
Gearbox Software even released the Aliens(tm): Colonial Marines gameplay DEMO (Work In Progress) and it looked awesome for a work in progress. This got me hooked in to Aliens(tm): Colonial Marines even more. However the game did get delayed until 2013 and was finally released 12th February 2013 where I received my copy (XBOX 360).

Launch Day
----------
Received Aliens(tm): Colonial Marines and opened the packaging. I love the shiny cover of the game. Before I immediately stated playing the game, I put in the pre-order codes in order to get access to certain items. Regarding these codes, no issues as they worked without any problems. However I was in for a big surprise. Basically the game is just unfinished and a complete rip off! I encountered so many issues. For me Aliens(tm): Colonial Marines is the biggest failure for a game in this day and age.

The Good
---------
Aliens(tm): Colonial Marines is a game that does not have many good things that are worth talking about. However there are a few which are;
- The sound effects and music which are really awesome. Just love the sound effects of the Pulse Rifle.
- Some situations in the campaign are great.
- Ability to use power loader in campaign.
- Loads of weapon choices and ability to upgrade.
- Levelling up by playing campaign.

Problems
---------
The main issue is the graphics, textures and lighting which are very poor. These days you have Crysis 3, Dead Space 3, Halo 4 which have far higher quality graphics and textures. PS3 and XBOX360 versions are both ported where the game is terrible and it's un-optimised which makes the overall gameplay poor.

Having played nearly half the campaign, the story is just ridiculous and boring. The campaign mode was unbalanced where you could carry a shotgun and walk through like your Rambo or even better just run pass all the aliens. Not to forget the ability to carry numerous weapons simultaneously.

The AI is just useless, the way they move, interact etc. Aliens movement is just horrible, most of the time you see them jumping more like kangaroos.

The other serious let down is the multiplayer which has limited number of maps. Aliens are underpowered and the matchmaking is slow. Not forgetting that it's full of choke points and the game is just glitchy. What's missing is Aliens can't climb walls, complete failure!

Conclusion
-----------
I am totally let down by Gearbox Software and I am 100% certain many Aliens/Gearbox fans were let down too. The CEO of Gearbox Randy Pitchford made numerous comments about Aliens(tm): Colonial Marines which is going to be different and really great but what happened? Short answer it was a flop.

The DEMO version had better graphics and gameplay. If you look at this video you can see the difference, totally strange. My guess is that the DEMO was used to get gamers attracted and purchase the game but in reality the final game was a disaster and Gearbox knew this so they wanted to get as many sales, more like false advertising. Total failure and a complete mess up by Gearbox.

Not only do Gearbox get the blame, SEGA should also be held accountable. For future Aliens/Predator game, SEGA should at least hire Crytek (Crysis) or id Software (Doom). Guaranteed any one of these developers can do a better job than Gearbox Software!

Aliens(tm): Colonial Marines overall is just not worth the money, you'd be better off saving your money for other upcoming games. Finally Randy Pitchford is a total liar, he should have been in the liar liar film!

Biggest Failure for 2013!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly disappointed, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I have, as many of the other reviewers have said, waited literary years for this game to come out and pre-ordered it as soon as I could. I am a huge Alien fan and love all the movies, well maybe not resurrection, and I could not wait for this to be released. I was concerned that Gearbox were making it as I have yet to be impressed with anything they have done but figured since 20th Century Fox were involved then it would be decent. I'm sorry, no gutted, to say Gearbox have not done a good job yet again. This was delayed time after time and I ask what the hell have they been doing???????? I bought this with the full intention of it being a keep forever job but I don't think it will be. The AI is really poor and the Aliens are just really dumb. They certainly don't hunt or act like they do in the films.

Some people are going on about there is no acid splash burns etc, well let's be realistic, you would be dead in about 4 seconds if that were the case! It would be like the troops in COD being incapacitated with one bullet, now how guff would that be?

To sum up, if you like the films and fancy a go at blasting some Aliens then give it a shot. If you are looking for COD in space then leave it on the shelf.

One thing though, it certainly ain't a classic like the movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It helps if you are an Aliens fan!, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It helps if you are an Aliens fan, to get the full enjoyment from this game. I am a fan. That said, whilst the graphics are poor in places, particularly the aliens themselves, the music is very good. It closely follows the movie soundtrack and adds to a real sense of menace and atmosphere....................which is the games saving grace. I`ve only played on recruit level, for 2/3 hours and so far it is pretty challenging. Would I have bought this at it`s £40-00 price tag? No, but at Amazon`s £5-99, it`s a steal. Gearbox`s involvement in this game is well documented and criticised, quite rightly so. For a game several years in the making, it`s a poor effort. Yet, I am enjoying it. If you leave aside the graphics issues, turn down the lights, turn up the volume, consume a few beers and just enjoy Xenomorph hunting!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not awful but not much good either, 13 Feb. 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Okay, here's the deal. I am a hardcore Alien fan. I have all the films on video, dvd boxsets and Blu Ray with all the extras. Im such a nut I have technical manuals and every game made from the two on the commodore 64 through the Megadrive and PC up to AVP and this.

I wont beat about the bush, this game is not great. Graphically I noted that within the first 20 mins play aboard the Sulaco that some parts looked virtually PS2 quality. This is sadly a game that has been botched together. It started life in the last Gen of consoles I believe. This is evident with attempts to add polish here and there. At best it is on a par with the COD engine which is itself 5 years or more old. Where this game has been made by 4 development teams it is obvious as the quality dips on a regular basis. It feels like a budget car built using vauxhall technology from 10 years ago and added to by trainees at BMW on occasion.

The only redeeming quality is the reference to the films for the fans. As one magazine quoted, if this was not branded Aliens, would it even see the light of day? It is passable and a nice deviation into nostalgia. I will play it through to the end but like me you will realise in 30 mins that this is a poor quality product. Better to spend the money on the blu ray box set.

If you are a hardcore alien fan then pick this up in a month because this will be sub £20 by then. If you arent then I urge you to leave it alone and buy the only thing close to the experience which is Dead Space 2. Heck even Doom BFG edition is better and I was surprised at how quickly that had dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aliens Colonial Marines, 13 Feb. 2013
By 
T. W. Marshall (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I've read reviews that the single player can be completed in less than 2 hours... I've started on the Hardened difficulty and am on the 2nd mission after 1.5 hours so I think 2 hours is a bit optimistic. I like the gunplay, the movement and shooting feels a lot like Halo but you still have to LT aim to get accurate shots. Levels are so far claustrophobic which coupled with a reworked version of James Horner's classic soundtrack add to the atmosphere, but not by much. They are gracelessly designed.

Graphic wise all the released screen shots and footage have come from a PC version as the console versions look dated. There's a few frame rate problems, regular clipping, occasional screen tear and no real graphical detail on objects upon closer inspection. a real let down considering this has been in development for years and the PS3 is at the end of it's cycle so devs should be able to put beautiful games out on it. don't get me wrong, the graphics aren't terrible they just could have been far better.

The game is very scripted and nothing so far feels spontaneous or unique to my play through. AI is borderline absurd, Aliens will run straight past you to attack an ally AI character, get stuck behind boxes or will just stand there and take punishment until they explode in a shower of yellow acid. The Aliens are easy to kill and there's too many of them to make the game scary. Lance Henriksen and Michael Biehn add their voice talents but it doesn't really add any authenticity to the experience as the story is very awkwardly shoehorned into canon. To be honest the whole single player experience feels like a fan mod for Halo 4 and not a full price release game. Campaign - 2/5

I've played each of the multiplayer types and they're good but the real issue is the monumental lag. I have a fibre optic internet connection so I know my internet isn't the problem, Sega/Gearbox sort the servers out!

Team Death Match is played over 2 rounds with each team playing as either the Aliens or the Marines, from what I've played of this the Marine round generally wins as people are just running head on into gun fire and not playing to the Aliens strengths, lurking. Escape was the online experience I was really looking forward to but so far the Marines are just too powerful and I've yet to play a game where the marines fail to escape.

The Multiplayer has some real balancing issues that will hopefully get iron out with a patch, it feels like a beta release at moment and is buggy online, I'd say about 10% of matches I've been in have just crashed for no apparent reason. Multiplayer - 3/5

This game should have been delayed again for a few months for a proper ironing out of bugs and multiplayer rebalancing as the game really has potential, but its here with us now and we have to accept it... I'd wait a month or so for Amazon to reduce it to £25.

Overall - 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars, but only for the Authenticity, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
W. Nash "Orec12" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
When I first played this game I had a great deal of expectation. I loved the movie Aliens (one of my all time favourites) & so a game with Colonial Marines in it just had to be purchased. I have now completed the campaign & have also played some of the multiplayer!

The campaign (for what it is) is pretty good & is probably the best feature of the game. It's incredible how authentic the sounds & environments are! For fans of the Alien franchise you will certainly apprieciate the pulse rifle spurts, Xeno death screeches & motion tracker blips. You get to go aboard the USS Sulaco, descend to Hadley's Hope (colony) & board the bone structured alien vessel from whence the Xenomorphs came. All of which are an exact replica of the movies! I do however find the story itself a little "unsettling" especially as I consider myself somewhat of an afficionado of the Alien movies. For there's almost a complete re-write of events that ended in Aliens & began in Alien 3. I found I couldn't quite openly accept the way in which these startling changes were being trafficked. But that aside, it's a long journey from start to finish. In fact the game lasted for quite a while. Although I found the ending to be rather anti-climactic; but I won't spoil it for you!

I know other people have criticised the graphics as being "cartoon like" but I have seen far worse. In my opinion they adequately convey the claustraphobic fear that the movies created. For the environments are a mix of dimly lit metal corridors awash with emergency lights flashing. Large industrial pits with steam venting from the walls & the ghostly barren landscape of LV-426. You often find yourself wandering down narrow corridors holding your motion tracker that emits that classic eerie whistle as a single contact seems to drift in & out of range. When I was at Hadley's Hope I actually felt my heart racing as the large outer doors opened revealing that gloomy battered interior knowing I had to go in there "Yeah, I've seen this movie!" I thought to myself (quite literally)

You will have fellow Marines assisting you but to be honest I'd rather go solo. They seem to have no intelligence whatsoever. Whenever I entered an area full of Ailen eggs & a face hugger leaps out at me, knocking me to the ground so I'm forced to fight it off. My team mate just stands there & does nothing! In the movies Corporal Hicks leaped through armoured glass to save Ripley & yet here I am 2 meters away & the guys just remain unmoved! They run in front of you while shooting, push you out of cover & otherwise cause you no end of grief. The only thing they offered to me was letting me know where to go next. Because I feel this game did not do enough to make it evident where your supposed to be heading & what you were supposed to do once you got there.

The multiplayer is rubbish! No other way to describe it. The whole thing feels crude & unrefined. In fact the entire game itself could be summarised in that word "un-refined". The games seem to just start & end at will, with no introduction or summary. You find yourself in a game, then you find yourself out of it. The combat is very clunky. I tried messing with the look sensitivity but even then it felt like I was playing an old psone game at some points as I struggled to get precise shots off. In the multiplayer you have team-death matches where one side play as Marines while the others play as Xenomorphs. But this just doesn't work for me. Because Marines have motion trackers all the time & everytime a Xeno player moves they know exactly where they are! This is shamefully unfair in my book seeing as Xeno's only really have melee attacks. All the marine players just hold up in a wide open area, back to back & just blast away at anything that comes near them. I found the only Xeno that was any good was the Acid Spitter as it could kill from a distance. I once unlocked the heavilly armoured crusher (rhino like giant xeno) & trampled at least 9 marines before I bought it. But still, not much good really. I haven't played the other 2 game modes because the multiplayer is just so unappealing. It doesn't make me want to play it whatsoever

Now I have completed the campaign I feel no further need to play this game again anytime soon. I will keep it in my collection seeing as it's the only "official" Aliens game on the market, but unless your a die hard Aliens fan I wouldn't bother. Even then I would wait till the retail price drops (& it will) or buy pre-owned. I so want to adore this game, but I just don't!.. Shame :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real shame after an TV advert that made it look great, 23 Feb. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
If Alines was your thing and the prospect of becomming a Colonial Marine able to fight/battle the hordes of Alines as Hundson and Hicks did before you - then, then , then sadly you may want to just watch the film again adn dream of how it would feel. First dissapointment is the very basic graphics that seem to support the game, the Cut action sceens seem to lack any corrolation between mouth adn the speaking. The people graphics are very average adn more PS2 that HD PS3. On a positive note the sound effects are the saem as the film, the pulse rifles, smart guns are all perfect sound wise. It appears they have spent more time on the sound effects than the graphics or game play.

On-line, now this must be were they have spent the development budget for this game..........Nope, they must have spent that in a pub whilst talking about how good the film was. Online it lags, now clear on how to create a load out for your weapon, you end up being an aline for half an on line game (I brought this to be a Colonial Marine adn take on the Aline hordes - not be a alien with basic movements so that some other person can shoot me down.) With so much potential adn a story that cries out to be turned in to a first person shoot um up like no other, how could they get it so wrong.

Other than the sound effects the game is no more than an early PS3 game that doesn't utilise any of the ability we see in other forst person franchies games - surely the developers have played on line games or have had a console in the past and seen what can be achieved. Dissapointed Alines fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3)
£4.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews