Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (62)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to all bad reviews!
I got this game for 4 and played it through three times on co op, as well as having a blast on the multiplayer. Sure it might not be 100% true to the movies or have the best graphics but it was really, really FUN. And isn't that what gaming is supposed to be about? Swear most gamers have sticks up their arses these days!!
Published 5 months ago by Bulkman87

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Indefensible
Some reviews have defended this game as a faithful piece of fan service which, despite its limitations as a game, makes enough nods to the much Alien universe to warrant a purchase for fans of the James Cameron movie. I would argue to the contrary. Sure the iconic pulse rifle sound features but bizarrely you are given the option to attach a red dot sight to the rifle;...
Published 13 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!!!!!!, 15 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is epic with only a few drawbacks which are that the AIs in the game suck badly and in multiplayer the aliens mechanics are a bit bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID!, 26 Feb 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What a complete load of crap! Graphics problems all over the place. Rubbish story. terrible reuse of the same level design throughout the whole game. Bought it! Played it through completely. Then took it back to asda for a full refund!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good example of a hurried developed game..., 14 Feb 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a great example of a game that has had marketed incredibly well, creating a great sense of awe and hype but when played it fails to live up to any of its glamour.

The problem with this game is simple, it has been rushed and as such, the attention to detail you would expect from a game that has apparently been in production for 6 years is missing.

The two parts of the game that it is most noticeable is the blocky graphics, which gives you the feeling you are playing an early 2000's shoot-them-up and the constant random glitches that occur when you are fighting enemies. My favourite experience of the constant glitches is when a lurker floated halfway across the battlefield with its arms out wide looking like he wanted to hug someone instead of trying to kill them. Other instances include random enemies teleporting in front of you and killing you with one blow, horrendous AI that either gets trap in the surroundings or becomes a a one man army killing everything, which ruins the game experience.

So to conclude if you want to buy a terrible game that hasn't been developed proper this is the one. You may get some great laughs out of the glitches but these will soon turn to frustration and you will probably end up breaking your tv from throwing your controller. As such I would save your money and spend it else where.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read reviews First!!!, 13 Feb 2013
By 
J. Hall "Jhall" (somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a massive aliens fan I followed this game from day one gaining more and more excitement from each epic trailer and a demo that impressed me to the point of pre order however on opening up the package and playing the game I can say one good thing...The sounds are incredible from the first time I fired the pulse rifle I was taken back to the films. and then the game slapped me back to consciousness and I found myself bored.....Frustrated (A.I issues were sometimes unbearable)... And damn right angry at how games developers can advertise something to pull people in and have a game nothing like what was promised. Alien has been butchered. what happened to the clean gorgeous graphics of the E3 demo what happen the awesome lighting effects and how did a game developer put 5 years to create something this bad.
Of coarse this is just my opinion and some will inevitably disagree so I will say one thing to potential buyers, Hold on to your money think about it and look around, read reviews look at real gameplay and hopefully save yourself 30 odd quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid at all costs, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Absolute crap
Brought it on day of release completed it next day. 45 for five hours of gameplay on what looks like a last gen game . Graphics crap screen tearing glitches lag the list goes on . Simply put an unfinished mess of what could have been a masterpiece. Online is no better . Avoid at all costs . Believe me the people who are saying that it is good are simply in denial about the money they have just wasted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, 14 Feb 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am a massive fan of both the film and first person shooters and couldn't wait for this to be released. I was completely disheartened within the first 3 minutes when you first see the pulse rifle up close and it looked like a plastic gun from a toy shop. The graphics would have been average at best on a last gen console. There is no actual detail on the marines themselves. The dialogue is terrible. The aliens themsleves are illumionous green and run around on 2 legs. They are not scary/fearsome and there are far too many of them. They are too easy to put down and are basically cannon fodder. There is no suspense and there are so many glitches its untrue. This is what happens when it takes you 5-6 years to bring out a game. If you have to play this, as most Aliens fans will, I would rent it for sure. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars birthday present for my son, 2 Oct 2013
By 
*rosie* (staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
he wanted this for his birthday, he enjoyed playing it when he finished playing it his brother then his cousin played it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars absolute rubbish, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
bought this game for my brother and I. Turned out to be the worst game I have ever played. The graphics are so basic the gameplay is so stiff and clumsy. All in all not an enjoyable experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
never got game and i think i got money back from amazon.
cant say what its like as i have nothing to go on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete let down, 19 Feb 2013
By 
T.Heard (Northampton) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Being a massive Alien/s fan I have been eagerly awaiting the release of this game, I even pre ordered it last year when it was originally supposed to have been released.

Well what can I say, I finally got hold of my copy (sadly not from Amazon) rushed home to play it and initially signs were good but the deeper I got into the main single player game I realized that this was not the game I had been expecting.

Graphics resemble those of a game from at least 10 years ago, computer AI is poor, the story is not very well put together. I decided to do a little digging online and to my horror pretty much every review confirmed my worst fears. I even found a blog from a developer involved in the game explaining why the game is so poor explaining the Gearbox had pushed the release date back several times at which Saga were not happy, Gearbox then outsourced the majority of the game to a developer with a reputation for making poor games (Timegate) Gearbox had started this game 6 years ago but decided to concentrate their best efforts on Borderlands 2 and Duke Nukem Forever. ***Quote "I used to work at Gearbox, and the development of that game has been a total train wreck, going on what, six years now?
"Gearbox isn't even making the game, except for the multiplayer. Primary development was outsourced to TimeGate Studios, which has a less than stellar past."

Sadly this game is a real let down, the multiplayer is awful at at times very frustrating, it seems staked in favour of the marines this time where as in AVP it seemed stacked in favour of the Xeno's

The only thing I did enjoy was playing the coop campaign but really that's about it. This game actually drove me back to playing Aliens V Predator which is a game that came out around 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews