Customer Reviews


239 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (63)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to all bad reviews!
I got this game for £4 and played it through three times on co op, as well as having a blast on the multiplayer. Sure it might not be 100% true to the movies or have the best graphics but it was really, really FUN. And isn't that what gaming is supposed to be about? Swear most gamers have sticks up their arses these days!!
Published 11 months ago by Bulkman87

versus
77 of 85 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars By no means an amazing game, but not a terribly awful one either!
Aliens CM is a game that I'd been long anticipating, taking over 5 years to make. Obviously, the longer a company takes to make a game, the bigger the hype they build, the higher the standards they set, and the more disappointment that is bound to occur. Aliens CM is by no means an amazing game, it's riddled with flaws. However, in spite of itself, its still a fun shooter...
Published on 12 Feb. 2013 by Liam


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 85 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars By no means an amazing game, but not a terribly awful one either!, 12 Feb. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Aliens CM is a game that I'd been long anticipating, taking over 5 years to make. Obviously, the longer a company takes to make a game, the bigger the hype they build, the higher the standards they set, and the more disappointment that is bound to occur. Aliens CM is by no means an amazing game, it's riddled with flaws. However, in spite of itself, its still a fun shooter with an addictive multiplayer.

Starting with the story (something Sony and Gearbox have both been bigging up for the past year and a half) , claimed to be a true sequel of the Aliens, you join a group of marines aboard the U.S.S Sulaco sent in to investigate LV-426 after the rescue call from the victims of the film. What transpires is an attack by the aliens, and all in all a short and dull campaign.

I really tried to like the campaign, and at times I did. But for the most part, it is an uninspired, dull and lifeless story, with one dimensional characters you feel absolutely nothing for. The story fails to build up tension, bombarding players with enemies until there is no atmosphere left. There are a few pluses though, collecting Dog tags and movie memorabilia is fun, and ranking up whilst playing the campaign is useful for multi-player.

The graphics are, well, pretty bad for a game of 2013. The textures are at times awful, and it often feels like dim lighting is used to hide the fact the game looks like it was released four years ago. However saying that, the lighting is extremely effective in building atmosphere at the start of the game. Unlike the graphics, the sound/audio is good (except for the voice acting), the aliens sound brilliant, as do the pulse rifle sounds, which are just like that of the alien franchise.

The gameplay is average, its pretty much the same as every other FPS out there, but there's nothing wrong with that. Its effective. There are a range of weapons that you unlock as you rank up, and there always in your inventory, all of which are easy to use. I must say the tracker was a nice addition, even though you never need to use it because the xeno AI are TERRIBLE.

Playing the Xenos is, fantastic, I love it. Yes, the controls are pretty standard, but its so much fun. Collecting different heads and skins for 3 interesting types of creatures to control is the most fun I've had in ages. You unlock nice moves to help the xenos kill the marines, as well as other additions that make the xenos more effective.

This bring me on to the games highlight, multi-player. I know the game has been getting awful reviews left right and centre, but I cannot stress enough how fun multi-player is once you get into it. The first few matches will be the most frustrating of your life, but once you get the hang of it, its actually rather brilliant. Team Death Match and Eggstermination are both great modes, with tons of repeatability. Survival is nice, but nothing special, and Escape is just, we wont talk about Escape mode...

All in all, Aliens CM falls flat campaign wise, but redeems itself with a suprisingly excellent (for the most part) multiplayer.

UPDATE (17/02/13): After just over a week of gameplay I am disappointed to be preparing to pass the game to someone else. The interesting multiplayer can only entertain you for so long, and the campaign is no better on any other difficulties. This game is a massive disappointment, but will provide you with afew hours of fun with the multiplayer (which I've noticed is now lagging and bugging more.) What started as 6/10 experience has descended to below 5/10 due the non-existent re playability. I've paid £30+ to play a 6 hour campaign and about 8 hours of multiplayer. Rent it or buy it used, certainly do not pay above £20 for it under any circumstances, your not missing anything special. I have updated my final verdict accordingly.

Final Verdict:
Gameplay: 5/10
Graphics: 3/10
Atmosphere: 6.5/10
Story: 4/10
Multi-player: 6.5/10
Action: 6.5/10
OVERALL: 4.5/10 (2.5 stars)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Indefensible, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Some reviews have defended this game as a faithful piece of fan service which, despite its limitations as a game, makes enough nods to the much Alien universe to warrant a purchase for fans of the James Cameron movie. I would argue to the contrary. Sure the iconic pulse rifle sound features but bizarrely you are given the option to attach a red dot sight to the rifle; touches like this detract from the authenticity of this game and make it just another bug hunt.The game also has the audacity to masquerade as a new piece of series 'canon' but the story is limp and wholly predictable. All the staples are here: a tragic chestburster infection, a weyland yutani conspiracy and the now tired rhetoric about 'leaving no marine behind'. Throw in some characters that figure as pale substitutes for the marines in the original film and you are left with a lacklustre story that contributes nothing to, and to some extent stains, the overall Alien mythology.

Without a decent story, Aliens Colonial Marines is a simply a unremarkable and unpolished first person shooters. It's fun to blast away at xenomorphs as they scuttle across the wall, but A.I pathfinding is so erratic that only occasionally do firefights evoke much tension. The decision to include weyland yutani mercenaries is also a bizarre design choice, which further highlights the insipid quality of the shooting. Graphically the game is years behind its contemporaries. Screen tearing, texture pop in and framerate spikes conspire with sparse environments and wooden facial animations to make the game a promising contender for one of the worst looking games on the 360. Tragically there are flashes of visual quality; stalking xenos through the corridors of Hadley's Hope with a shotgun and a motion tracker generates some atmosphere, but this is almost always under cut by the technical limitations of the game engine.

Whether or not making a good Aliens game is an impossible task or not remains a moot point. While Camerons' film has done much to inspire the FPS genre it simultaneously parodies the sort of bravado that is characteristic of games like Call of Duty and Gears of War; as soon as the xenos arrive egos begin to crumble and it takes Ripley, a strong female protagonist (who are generally marginalized in action games),to save the day. Regardless of this debate, Colonial Marines remains simply a poor game which isn't worth your time or money. Gearbox has some explaining to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite like stabbing yourself in the ear with a spoon as everyone makes out., 20 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. K. S. Sanderson "sarnieken" (Scunthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having read a fair number of negative reviews for this game, I decided to give it a shot to see if it was as bad as it is made out to be. Coming from Gearbox (Brothers in Arms) made me more confident in my purchase. As an uber fan of the franchise, I was hoping that this wouldn't ruin it and so far (only just started playing it), so good. Sound effects from the movie bring a smile and the playability isn't too bad. Slightly frustrating that even on the second lowest difficulty setting, getting killed is a little too easy. Granted, it may be due to a lack of skill on my part but it does make you more determined to get through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars umm...what now?, 21 Feb. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
At first I thought i liked how this game was presented, being a huge fan of the franchise. However i think I was guilty of being swept up in that love of the franchise before i really started to see this for what it is. It is so easy to get caught up in things like...the guns sound right...i have a motion tracker...the music is just like in the film...and then you start to see whats really happening.
The graphics....well..they're not dire or rabidly ancient, but they are NOT of the quality you would expect from a 2013 game (even one that has been put off again and again over the years just to maximise Fox's profits). They can be patchy in places, the lighting, while sometimes has an almost realistic quality, in general is just a little off, just enough to make you wonder if it should have been a little different in that corridor, or outside that container in the rain.
The sound...probably the one thing I cant really critisize too much as so much of it was lovingly recreated from the film. Everything sounds like you'd expect.
The story...well, overall its pretty interesting, its a nice alternative take on what happened after Ripley, Bishop and Hicks defeat the Queen, and links in fairly nicely with Weyland Yutani being an evil corporation...BUT...at times it loses its way, and jumps around like a scalded armidillo. Your left wondering..what..wait...how did we get here? what just happened?.
Overall I have to say I'm disappointed in this game. It's nowhere near what i was expecting(or what all the hype said it would be) and after the constant delays and date pushing that made us wait year after year for its release..I'm not personally sure it was worth the wait.
And if your looking for lots of gameplay? move on..its a short game..a VERY short game(single player)
Good game, fun in places, but dated and , well....badly constructed in lots of ways. Just my opinion though.
All i can hope is that future DLS's that we'll have to pay for and MIGHT complete the story will save this from the Bargain Bin at the local games emporium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to all bad reviews!, 23 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I got this game for £4 and played it through three times on co op, as well as having a blast on the multiplayer. Sure it might not be 100% true to the movies or have the best graphics but it was really, really FUN. And isn't that what gaming is supposed to be about? Swear most gamers have sticks up their arses these days!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alien: Colonial Marines Review, 19 Nov. 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Alien: Colonial marines was released at the start of this year in February 2013 by the developer Gearbox and published by Sega. Originally set to be released as a PlayStation 2 title in 2001 but later cancelled, the game has had a tumultuous history of being repeatedly under development, swapping different developers after Sega purchased the rights to the Alien franchise from Fox Interactive at the end of 2006.

The game takes place on the USS Sephora military vessel, where the marines receive a distress call from the USS Sulaco, in orbit of the planet LV426. The player assumes the role of Christopher T. Winter along with a team of marines to investigate the beacon. However upon boarding the Sulaco, they discover the ship is completely desolate. Further exploring the ship reveals a sinister plot orchestrated by a familiar antagonist.

A positive aspect of the game is how the environments are nicely realized with set pieces for the game taken from the second Alien movie. This includes most of the Sulaco, parts of LV426 including Hadley's Hope and the extra-terrestrial ship containing the memorable Space Jockey from the first movie. Despite the low resolution of the graphics, players are given a nice vista of the environments, further expanding the setting of the movie franchise. The weapons are also decently designed and accurately replicate the movie's props, including the iconic M41A pulse rifle, the M56 smart gun (heavy machine gun) and even obscure weapons such as the M240 incinerator.

The AI is probably the major fault in the game, where your comrade in arms and even the alien xenomorphs themselves become stuck in a frame of animation, behind walls, or glitched into weird contortions of their original designs. The mission objectives given to the player are quite unrealistic, as well as the narrative removing any suspension of disbelief from the player but instead makes some questionable additions to the original continuity. The game itself attempts to become canon, existing between Aliens and Alien 3, but instead leaves more questions in the plot than providing answers. Despite broadening the settings, the game's progression is very linear and contained, making very little use of the foreboding milieu available.

The appearance of fellow marines look awkward, presented with a rubber like texture. In addition to this, battles against bosses are very anticlimactic, where dispatching bosses surmounts to simply pressing a button for a crane or other macguffin to eliminate a seemingly imposing foe.

Weapon sounds are not accurate where sounds reuse the M41A pulse rifle firing sound bite for nearly every weapon available. This reduces a recognizably stylish sound effect to a monotonous tinny crackle.

Universally panned by gaming magazine outlets, it's obvious that Aliens: Colonial Marines was rushed to meet a deadline in an attempt to appease fans. There is very little content available for Alien fans to invest their time in, and what is available does little to expand the alien continuity and instead convolutes the franchise as a whole. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sega go make Sonic the Hedgehog games instead, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. L. C. Emmott "Lee Emmott" (Uk Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Made by Sega so they should really do what they best at and that's making STH games instead.

I had a go with the game and mostly sadden me surely it looks like the flim but I note that the aliens mostly run somewhere then you got to kill it yourself.

Another mild thing maybe a glitch or something when you get a alien jump at you, you will die bacause I had half life and sudden I died, surely they can't do much damage even I was playing on easy (hihi) so why do they do much damage?

Another thing they dissolve in the floor after you kill them. Er not good I was wanting to look at the graphic of the alien or xeno but you can't bacause they dissolve in the floor you don't get a lot of time to.... well study them.

I shot up a barrel of explosion but guess what, the explosion does not look good enough poor graphics and you must fight other guys with guns too, the Aliens movies NEVER had guys in to shoot, only... well... ALIENS ALIENS ALIENS ONLY.

A alien attack is run at you, on other games they would smack you hit you they never do it on this they like walk through you.

The first Alien game I played was on PS1 they was never or hardly much cut scenes in them you never was with anyone too just by yourself how times have changed.

It took 5 years to make and this is what we get? Even when you run he runs like a COD would run.

Basicly I just use shotgun and let my mates the al shot them all.

Maybe look at Duke Nukem Forever same thing happend here with grapics not as good as we hoped.

All this game looks like is the other games I used to play on, on my PS1 those were the days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars day in the corps, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
S. C. Roberts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay there's a lot of poor reviews out there ,a lot seem related to disappointments from the early hype and the graphics.Im a massive fan of the film and was eagerly waiting to finally see an amazing game based on it.I was initially disheartened by poor reviews so only bought it pre owned(though new is cheap now).Okay, the graphics are not modern state of the art, BUT Im a gamer who believes atmosphere and gameplay trump pixel perfect every time and this game does have atmosphere!.Use of lighting is excellent,all the guns sound,and act like you feel they should with a good balance of styles.The voice acting works well, the marines are grunts through and through ,but with surprising depths at times (more so than say recent COD).The plot has a fair few twists,it pulls you along well,the co op is very good and works well in single player. Also ,while not having the graphics of say GOW ,it has a campaign that seems to last a heck of a lot longer.
I wasnt expecting to like this but found it addictive and atmospheric. I would have preferred fewer,more powerful enemies and a more suspense/survival horror feel but this game really kept my interest. Not perfect, much room for improvement but you can say that about any game IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars despite the negative reviews from respectable Youtube video game reviewers like Angry Joe for example I so far feel the ..., 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
With only just buying this game I have only managed to play part way through the first mission.

This game for me so far is a first person shooter, I have no knowledge or have any reason to believe this will change during the course of my play through,
.
First impressions, despite the negative reviews from respectable Youtube video game reviewers like Angry Joe for example I so far feel the game is not really that bad at all yes the graphics are not great but they are manageable. The sound is ok and the feel of the game play is ok, feels very much like the 'Aliens movie' as expected, kind of a Halo Combat Evolved feel to it. I see there is options to upgrade weapons later during the play through which I feel is good.

Based on the Xbox 360 version
Offline:
Players 1-2 also Co-op 2 players

Online:
Cop-op 2-4 players (I believe mission drop in and out option is available for Co-op)
Online multiplayer 2-12
Leaderboards
Game Content Download (DLC)

I bought a second copy of this game for my son for this Christmas as I did with Alien Isolation, without loosing sight I have only just started to play this game I feel if either game was that bad I would have spent my money on other things so I say buy and enjoy =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Surprise!, 3 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I managed to buy this on the cheap and didn't expect much from it after all the bad reviews. There was also one section very early on which proved annoying but once through I thoroughly enjoyed the game. Okay, it's not perfect but on occasion really does evoke Aliens really well (and made me watch the film again) and once I finished, I even dowloaded Stasis Interrupted to understand the twist. If you can get this for under a fiver, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aliens Colonial Marines - Limited Edition (Xbox 360)
£3.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews