Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price - good for the commute
For the price I think these are a pretty good set of in-ears. Sound is clear, balanced and relatively distortion free - not audiophile perfect, but you aren't paying audiophile money. They do have bass, possibly a little boomy when pushed hard. But when fitted right the isolation is great so high volume isn't needed. They dont have the clarity and separation of my Grado...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a replacement for the Sony MDRXB41EXB Extra Bass Headphones
Amazon claim this replaces the above earphones - it definitely doesn't. The Sony MDRXB41EXB Extra Bass Headphones have a rich full base and a detailed tonal stereo sound stage, giving my speaker system a run for its money. The MDRXB30EX has a less complete base and its sound stage hasn't got the detailed positioning and clarity of the Sony MDRXB41EXB. For some reason this...
Published 8 months ago by Dave Thomson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price - good for the commute, 14 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sony MDRXB30EX Extra Bass In-Ear Headphones - Black (Electronics)
For the price I think these are a pretty good set of in-ears. Sound is clear, balanced and relatively distortion free - not audiophile perfect, but you aren't paying audiophile money. They do have bass, possibly a little boomy when pushed hard. But when fitted right the isolation is great so high volume isn't needed. They dont have the clarity and separation of my Grado GR8s - but at 260 less what can you really moan about? I listen mainly to hip-hop and electronica and a little eq'ing as well as getting rid of the silicon plugs and replacing with some quality Comply foam tips sorted a lot of sound issues out. Having the Comply tips tightened and smoothed the sound significantly, increasing sound isolation and comfort.

I don't agree with the previous review - suspect his bass/isolation issues were more to do with not having a good seal and fit - which is most important in getting sound performance out of in-ears.

Overall build quality is very good. Body is well made but quite large. Nice flat cabling and extra plugs. Clip and pouch included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRXB30EX Extra Bass In-Ear Headphones - Black (Electronics)
Shopping online for ear-bud style headphones when you have a fairly tight budget is something I personally hate doing.
You can't tell how good they'll sound without trying them out and there'll always be low reviews mixed in with the high reviews, especially at this price point.
This makes it difficult to bit the bullet and order something. However I have in the past loved Sony's ear-buds. The bundled pair that came with my Sony Walkman MP4 player from years ago had fantastic sound quality so I finally decided to pick these 'Extra Bass' ones up for about 20 through the official Amazon seller (not one of the third party ones) and so far am pleased with this purchase.

THE GOOD:
-Outstanding noise cancellation seal in the ear. I'm not sure if I got lucky with my ear size or not but these things NEVER fall out and I can't hear traffic noise or the vacuum cleaner on full power.
-Relatively cheap (for 20 you won't do much better)
-Good sound quality for the price
-For in-ear buds the bass is pretty beefy especially after burn-in.
-The build quality is solid.
-The cord is almost the perfect length for me (slightly too long, though I'm short) when player is in my pocket.

THE BAD:
-Maybe a little too much bass in some cases losing some clarity to higher frequencies(bearing in mind I listen to Metal/Heavy Rock mostly).
-The buds protrude a little to far out of the ear for my liking.

Things to think about...
Apparently some people find these a little uncomfortable to wear at first but that after a while they're fine. I found them quite comfortable from the beginning though.
The flat cord design is supposed to be tangle resistant but isn't really it LOVES to tangle, the difference is it's extremely easy to untangle as due to being flat it never pulls tight when tangled.

Very happy with these for the price. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing little Earphones., 22 Sep 2013
This review is from: Sony MDRXB30EX Extra Bass In-Ear Headphones - Black (Electronics)
For the price the quality, clarity and bass, these earphones are excellent. Bass is clear and rich which means you dont have to damage your ears cracking the volume to get more of your headphone's bass. The volume is very good too- not sure why someone was unhappy with it. Also, it securely fits in ears, so its good for the gym.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great headphones and can be had for 20 if you shop around :-), 8 Jun 2014
This review is from: Sony MDRXB30EX Extra Bass In-Ear Headphones - Black (Electronics)
hi thanks for reading my review , I didn't buy these from amazon but from a high street store and am really impressed with them for the price I paid.

the packaging is quite nice although not anything special , it should be a plastic box with a slide off bottom and then the headphones will slip out in a little plastic sleeve

the package contains several ear bud sizes to get the perfect fit , a little pouch , a wire clip the headphones , some paperwork , it is presented quite nice and is always nice to get some sort of case with your new headphones , its only a pouch but it all helps and some might find it useful

for me the main selling points of these headphones were the l shape jack , the anti tangle cable , the 13.5mm driver (most are 9mm/10mm) and the design and brand . I say brand as I know Sony can make decent headphones (anyone remember the fontopias from years ago) and ive had a pair from Sony with 13.5mm drivers before and they were one of my fave headphones until they died and they also cost me the best part of 50 so when I saw these at a bargain price I thought why not

the anti tangle cable works well and isn't to stiff like some headphones (sol republic spring to mind) it has a bit of give so it wont pull the headphones out but is flat and stiff enough to not tangle easily and if it does it is very easy to untangle , I know this sounds like a simple thing but it really is handy and the actual cable feels much better then some tiny thin wire that some headphones come with

the 13.5mm drivers produce a very warm sound , they are called extra bass headphones , I personally didn't find it over powering as the highs and mids are pretty good as well , in fact the sound is very warm and alive , its hard to describe in words but I prefer them to the xplosive range from jvc (hafx1) , they have heavy bass , but the quality isn't like these sonys , these sonys make the jvc's that I've loved for a long time sound ...... well quite cheap really ..... its not that the jvc are bad , they are great for dance music and hip hop etc I just find the sonys sound to be much cleaner and of a better quality while still providing a nice warm listening experience with some good bass output

its to early to judge build quality but 1st impressions are good and if they fail within a year I will use the Sony warranty that is provided in the box , the cable is nice though , the l type jack is better for strain then a normal one , the silicone tips are high quality , the ear buds are a mix of metal and plastic and feel high quality , they also have a cable support as the cable goes into each bud and its little touches like that which add up to give a good impression when you think about build quality

noise cancelling is very good , if you use these on a bike be careful as surrounding noise will be blocked out very well , specially with the right size tips fitted . I found with both headphones inserted the outside world was pretty much all but blocked out

sound leakage is quite good with minimal noise escaping , this in theory means if you want to crank up your volumes you wont be annoying the people sitting around you which is always nice as just because you might want to listen to something doesn't mean the whole world wants to hear your music

design and comfort is great , some people might find them a little bit big , but its a design sony have perfected and even though they pack a 13.5mm driver and look a little big , the comfort levels are great with extended listening periods not causing any drain/strain on the ears , in fact I found them a pleasure to use and was digging out all kinds of music to listen to again too see how good it sounded through the sonys

the only negative I can honestly think about is that they don't come with a mic and controls , however you can buy adapters from ebay for that and I have found an adapter to work with my nokia 1020 that lets me make calls and lower and higher the volume of my music so now I have some great headphones and also music controls for them when I use them with my phone

id recommend these to anyone specially if you can get them for 25/20 you wont get better bang for your buck in my opinion

well done Sony , great job , lets hope they keep up this sort of quality for this sort of price

thanks for reading and if you have any questions please ask and I will try to help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best In ear Headphones Under 100, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Joshua Reid "Nerdbay" (Herts, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony MDRXB30EX Extra Bass In-Ear Headphones - Black (Electronics)
Over the years I've owned several models of in-ear headphones - Bose In-Ear, Klipsch S4, Sennheiser CX 200 & JVC Xtreme Xplosives - which have all stopped working within 4-10 months, albeit after heavy use. I've owned these for 5 months and so far they've been excellent. First off, they are really really well made - the cable is similar to Beats By Dre Earphones, flat, durable and less susceptible to extreme tangling! Anyway, most importantly - they sound excellent, matching or surpassing the sound of any of the headphones mentioned in this review. Whether you enjoy classic music or heavy drum and bass - these will make you smile. Solid Buy!!!!!! :D :D :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRXB30EX Extra Bass In-Ear Headphones - Black (Electronics)
my son bought these head phones he is really pleased with them good tone and can not be heard by anyone near. I know because he asked me to test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great earphones for the price!, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRXB30EX Extra Bass In-Ear Headphones - Black (Electronics)
I would not normally write a review, but these headphones are very good for the price, even when compared to my previous Sennheiser's (which are still working). People did mention the cable when moving around and yes they were correct, but the overall quality of the product outweighs this. Also, when buying the headphones, consider what you will be using them for, if like my Sony mobile, the base response on the earphones are not as great as they are on my Google Nexus 10 tablet, vs. the quality of the base response on the laptop, which will all differ due to the integrated sound boards being different. Overall, I am pleased with my low-mid range earphones and I would buy another pair if I had to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, Amazing bass (good as 40 MDR Headphones), 17 Jan 2014
This review is from: Sony MDRXB30EX Extra Bass In-Ear Headphones - Black (Electronics)
Great earphones, dont look very discreet in my ears, so maybe have to stick to my other sony ones for class but for the best quality these are great, some of the midtones get a bit mushed up though, not total defintion between each instrument in songs by nickelback as such, happy with my purchase, i would sell these for 25 based on quality rather than anything more :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For any true bass lover, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRXB30EX Extra Bass In-Ear Headphones - Black (Electronics)
As the name recommends these headphones are for any bass lovers out there...
I have spent some money on headphones the suggests that they are "extra bass". I have been pleasantly surprised with these. Myself I'm all about the bass, not going to lie if you want treble and vocals then these are probably going to disappoint you but... if you a Raver or like D'n'B, Dubb, Techno etc I would highly recommend these for yourselves. They deliver on the description and price.

More practical they fit in-ear amazingly with the supplied rubber tips but for myself I 've upgraded to memory-foam tips. They work well in crowded an busy place with perfect sound isolation and they stay put in times of a hard gym workouts.

Highly recommended for the bass lovers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a replacement for the Sony MDRXB41EXB Extra Bass Headphones, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRXB30EX Extra Bass In-Ear Headphones - Black (Electronics)
Amazon claim this replaces the above earphones - it definitely doesn't. The Sony MDRXB41EXB Extra Bass Headphones have a rich full base and a detailed tonal stereo sound stage, giving my speaker system a run for its money. The MDRXB30EX has a less complete base and its sound stage hasn't got the detailed positioning and clarity of the Sony MDRXB41EXB. For some reason this 'replacement' is even less efficient and even with my Samsung 2.7 Tablet at full blast, doesn't get up to my preferred listening level. Yes it's definitely a cut above the standard phones you get with most players, but it just ain't in the same league as it's 'predecessor'.
I got my original Sony MDRXB41EXB Extra Bass Headphones for 28, these cost 20, but given the choice of buying my originals from America where they are still available for $68 I know what my choice is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews