Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A soft voice for sweet songs
I only wanted Please Don't Say You Love Me, but seeing as the EP was the same price as just the one song I decided to buy four songs for the price of one.

As Please Don't Say You Love Me was the whole reason I bought the EP it is my favourite: a bitter-sweet song about the highs and lows of loving someone. I believe it will be the next song to be realised off...
Published on 12 Feb. 2013 by nah-belle

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great price, good songs but mp3 quality is poor
Price is right - can't beat 89p for an EP. Songs are good but mp3 is rubbish quality. I'll be buying the CD.
Published on 17 Mar. 2013 by Mark Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A soft voice for sweet songs, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Don't Say You Love Me (MP3 Download)
I only wanted Please Don't Say You Love Me, but seeing as the EP was the same price as just the one song I decided to buy four songs for the price of one.

As Please Don't Say You Love Me was the whole reason I bought the EP it is my favourite: a bitter-sweet song about the highs and lows of loving someone. I believe it will be the next song to be realised off of her upcoming album released in April.

Stranger Side has an almost country twang to it musically, and Rings Round Roses is a little play on the children's song Ring-a-ring O' Roses so lyrically it as a pleasant familiarity to it.

Although the piano version of Please Don't Say you Love Me is a repetition of the 1st song it is just Gabrielle's voice and piano and nothing else. It's more melancholy than the 1st, which is more upbeat. It's remarkable how different the two versions sound, the first definitely feels more uplifting and showcases the highs of love much more clearly, whereas the second is slower and feels like it's more about the lows of loving someone. Its melancholic tone speaks to the heart and illustrates the raw emotion in a similar way to Adele's Someone Like You, only not quite so well executed or powerful.

All in all it is a very sweet little EP and Gabrielle's breathy voice is very pleasant and relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stranger Side of the Charts, 1 May 2013
This review is from: Please Don't Say You Love Me (MP3 Download)
I can't honestly say that Gabrielle Aplin is the kind of artist I would usually listen to. I tend not to follow what's in the charts but I happened to be sent a link to Please Don't Say You Love Me by a friend and immediately fell in love with it.

Gabrielle Aplin sets herself apart from the usual chart fodder with beautiful melodies complimented by clever lyrics. While she does write a lot of love songs, the lyrics go beyond the typical "boy meets girl, boy and girl fall in love, stuff goes wrong, girl is sad".

It has to be said though that her voice is not incredible. In fact it's decidedly average. The real interest is not in her singing but in the music and the words.

The title track of this EP (or is it a single?) is a little downbeat but very moving. The words tell an intriquing love story full of wonderful little poetic phrases such as "Heavy words are hard to take, Under pressure precious things can break. How we feel is hard to fake, So let's not give the game away". Granted she's no Shakespeare but it's good enough for me.

Stranger Side is a little more vague and a lot more upbeat. With a happier tone, Gabrielle Aplin seems to explore life, love and everything as shared with a friend (or lover?) who sees things as she does. This song also features such bizarre lyrics as "Step across a line with an open mind and let go". Another cleverly written and highly enjoyable song.

In terms of mood, Rings Round Roses lies somewhere in between the last two tracks. Again, it's not clear what it's about. My interpretation is that she's urging people to enjoy life as it happens. The words in this song definitely border on poetry. They have a very endearing innocence about them as well which makes it a pleasure to listen to compared with some other songs I could mention.

Usually I wouldn't mention bonus tracks but the Piano Version of Please Don't Say You Love Me is stunning. Stripped right back to just Gabrielle Aplin and the piano, the song takes on a whole new heartbreaking feeling. If anything, I think this is actually an improvement on the original and she does sing very well on this track.

To anyone who enjoyed these songs, I would strongly recommend her Home ep which is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabrielle Aplin, 6 April 2013
By 
M. A. Hulme (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Don't Say You Love Me (MP3 Download)
I Got This At A Reduced Price And It Is A Very Good MP3 Single Release, Awaiting Her Album Release As I Now Have A Few Of Her Single Releases All Of Which Are Great Value For Money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BIttersweet Love - Radio Friendly, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Don't Say You Love Me (MP3 Download)
Absolute bargain for an EP which also includes a pared back piano only version of "Please Don't Say You Love Me". A bittersweet trials of love song which suits Gabrielle's fragile yet emotive voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saw this lovely lady live !!!!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Don't Say You Love Me (MP3 Download)
I was lucky enough to see this lovely lady live and she was fantastic. So I bought the album shortly after and it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than 'The Power of Love'., 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Don't Say You Love Me (MP3 Download)
The Xmas cover was ok, but when you discover Gabrielle's other work, you find the real talent. Wonderful and varied tunes, lyrics that most of us will relate to and sing along with a sound that is familiar but at the same time unique!

Try Gabrielle's other work as well - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't pull the Cord on this one, 9 May 2013
Just heard Panic Cord performed on BBC 1 Breakfast show which is the first track on her new album being released on 13th May 2013. If this song is anything to go by this young artist has nothing to worry about. A really nice pure voice and a real alternative to many other music styles. It's what you need to wind down from the working week. Well done Gabrielle looking forward to hearing the rest of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT Value, brilliant muisc!, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Don't Say You Love Me (MP3 Download)
4 Tracks for the price of one (£0.89p) = WOW! GREAT Value!

The title track, 'Please Don't Say You Love Me', is a lovely song with a memorable, sing-a-long melody with lots of sentiment that comes through nicely penned lyrics and a polished but still natural vocal performance.

Track 4 is also a completely different, Piano Version of the title track and well worth hearing for the contrast from the original version! The piano gives a maturity to the sound and makes it clear that 'Please Don't Say You Love Me' has what it takes to stand the test of time; a great song is a great song!

'Stranger Side' is more up tempo song and the singing is a little reminiscent of Lily Allen's style, which shows Gabrielle Aplin's diversity.

'Rings Round Roses' is slower with piano as the lead instrument and the vocals show the great range that Gabrielle Aplin possesses. I look forward to hearing more of her songs and singing on the forthcoming album, 'English Rain'.

EXCELLENT Value EP for the price of ONE Song! Definitely worth buying for the two bonus tracks, but mainly for the wonderful alternative, Piano Version of 'Please Don't Say You Love Me'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gabrielle Aplin, 12 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Don't Say You Love Me (MP3 Download)
After hearing a song on the radio I went in search and so glad to find it well recommended. So go on buy it you wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the voice, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Don't Say You Love Me (MP3 Download)
I love the songs and the voice adn the music. I want to hear more and as soon as I can find more I will buy it. Everything for me about it tells a tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Please Don't Say You Love Me
Please Don't Say You Love Me by Gabrielle Aplin
Buy MP3 Album£1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews