Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game for Roller Coaster Fans
My 12 year old son loves this (but then he wants to be a roller coaster designer in real life!). Great graphics and great game. Only downside is that he would have liked it to do tunnels, so the score is really 4.5.
Published 20 months ago by Ms Hazel Goby

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An insult to its predecessors
One of the reasons I bought a 3DS was the announcement of RollerCoaster Tycoon. Having spent many childhood hours building theme parks/death traps in the original 3 games, I was very excited for this. Unfortunately, RollerCoaster Tycoon 3D is a very stripped down version of its predecessors; it looks and plays like an unfinished product.

All element of strategy...
Published 20 months ago by NegaByte


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An insult to its predecessors, 15 Jan 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
One of the reasons I bought a 3DS was the announcement of RollerCoaster Tycoon. Having spent many childhood hours building theme parks/death traps in the original 3 games, I was very excited for this. Unfortunately, RollerCoaster Tycoon 3D is a very stripped down version of its predecessors; it looks and plays like an unfinished product.

All element of strategy is removed, by the decision to disallow players from setting prices in shops and for rides. I was always a sucker for micromanagement.

It is no longer possible to flatten and raise the ground; this means that roller-coasters can no longer go underground, as well as causing difficulties in park planning.

The customization of roller-coasters has almost been entirely removed, with few specialised track pieces remaining.

Research for new coasters, shops and rides has also been taken away, which was probably the best feature amongst all classic simulation games as it gave a sense of achievement that this game is lacking.

The story mode is appalling. You have to complete 3-4 tasks in each park to progress. One of the tasks is to reach a certain sum of money. Every level I've played so far, after completing the other tasks, I have found myself leaving the game to one side for an hour waiting for the correct amount of money to accumulate.

Anyone who enjoyed the original games will be sorely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Eh., 19 May 2014
By 
Adam Hall (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
To those of you who were really waiting for more Rollercoaster Tycoon....... you still probably won't like it.
Clunky controls, counter-intuitivity, lacking a need for the 3D screen, absolutely no creativity involved. I'd love to go on about some positive points but I just can't seem to find any.
If you're really desperate for some non-PC rollercoaster fun then you're better off heading to Thrillville: Off the Rails on console... and that was 1-2 generations ago. Yeah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shameful, 1 Jan 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This is a VERY poor attempt at rekindling what was an epic title on the PC. There's lots of bugs in the game, the interface/controls are very difficult to understand and the whole thing feels awkward to navigate. In particular, the coaster simulator is very bad - it was never that great in the original, but this is a joke. If you want to play Rollercoaster Tycoon, just buy RCT3 for PC and stick with that. 1 Star from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible port. Could have been so much better., 28 Dec 2012
By 
K HUDSON-LEE (Rotherham, S.Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
If you're a fan of the RCT games hoping for a fix then better give this a miss. It's severely cut down, the graphics are lacklustre, and the limitations on what you can build and length of rollercoaster will annoy you.

Annoyingly... I ran the original RCT 1 on a P90 Pentium which had far less storage, processor power and internal memory than the 3DS so how did they manage to make it this limited?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not great, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Ok game but not as good as the PC version. It could of done with more content but still a fun game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game for Roller Coaster Fans, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
My 12 year old son loves this (but then he wants to be a roller coaster designer in real life!). Great graphics and great game. Only downside is that he would have liked it to do tunnels, so the score is really 4.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rollercoaster tycoon, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Enm Coolen "chev" (holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Took few time to learn it but after that it was pure fun.
hope to see more of this kind of games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Not as good as I thought it would be , my nephew who is 9 said it is quite hard , to do game and get it started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As described, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This item was received in excellent condition. The cartridge is free from damage, the instruction book is intact and the case in working condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster TYcoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS), 23 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. C. E. Elston (Uk Derby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Very good game for the money great present for my grandkids)

Great fun to play keeps the children content for hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS)
Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D (Nintendo 3DS) by Namco Bandai (Nintendo 2DS / 3DS)
£12.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews