Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An very enjoyable and feelgood read
Peter Mayle's earlier books on his time in Provence have introduced us to a utopian world of sun, fine wine and cuisine, the quirks of provencal living and a number of interesting characters. What he does in Hotel Pastis is use this idyllic world as a background for the telling of what is generally a very uncomplicated but warm and cheerful story. We've all read those...
Published on 18 Dec 2002 by Matthew Child

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a gentle read
A nice book. Very pleasant and easy to read. Dont know that i would read another book by this author straight away as I suspect they might all be the same.
Published 9 months ago by ali100


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An very enjoyable and feelgood read, 18 Dec 2002
By 
Matthew Child (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Paperback)
Peter Mayle's earlier books on his time in Provence have introduced us to a utopian world of sun, fine wine and cuisine, the quirks of provencal living and a number of interesting characters. What he does in Hotel Pastis is use this idyllic world as a background for the telling of what is generally a very uncomplicated but warm and cheerful story. We've all read those stories of people following a dream and escaping to warmer climates, living in picture postcard surroundings and romancing with beautiful people and this book offers more of the same. There are one or two sub-plots and twists but the book is still following a common genre. That said, i still enjoyed this one very much, finishing it off in under two days.
Its certainly not a classic but if you are a Mayle/Provence buff, you want an easy story to read while relaxing by the pool on holiday or perhaps to cheer you up on those dark and grey winter evenings then Hotel Pastis has a lot to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From the pressures of London to the pleasures of Provence, 15 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Paperback)
If you lead a hectic working life you'll find it easy to relate to Simon Shaw. You'll probably be a little envious too - but who wouldn't... Imagine being able to abandon the rat-race and start a new life (and find a new love) in one of the most beautiful regions of France.
Read Peter Mayle's book and it's easy to imagine yourself in Brassiere-les-Deux-Eglises watching the plot unfold and enjoying the many pleasures of Provence.
With a cast of colourful characters and curious sub-plots there is never a dull page. And, by the time you get to the end, you may well wish that you could stay in the little world that Peter Mayle has created instead of returning to the real one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT HOLIDAY READ, 29 July 2004
By 
Peter O'Hare (NEWTOWNABBEY, CO. ANTRIM Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Paperback)
I recently read this book while holidaying in Antibes, a large town south of provence on the Cote d'Azur. I found it most entertaining, and, although a novel, quite informative regarding customs and habits of the Provencal people. It is extremely well written and very easy to read. The characters are all lovable, even the rogues (apart form the Marseille gangland boss), and you feel that you know them before reaching the end of the book. I highly recommend this to all fans of Peter Mayle and to lovers of this area of France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book., 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
This book has everything: grasping ex-wife, camp factotum, man with money, grubby Frenchmen, plausible plot and lots of humour. In fact the best of the Peter Mayle books, and my favourite. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous Read, 8 Dec 2012
By 
D. GRAY-RAUS (London, UK, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
I had this book already in my printed book collection but of course wanted it also amongst my e-books. A very entertaining story with beautifully delineated characters. The tale of a british man who decides to leave his life in London and to reastablish himself in France by buying a picturesque old house, restoring it lovingly and opening it as a hotel with the help of Lady he meets in Provence. A secondary story runs alongside, some less than bright locals plan to rob a bank but get hopelessly befuddled - it has everything, crime, love, the Mafia, Le Tour de France - what else can one ask for? A perfect read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's got everything!, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
It's the fourth time I've read this over a 20 year period. I recommend it to everyone. It has romance, intrigue, humour, drama and excitement. It would make a great film too. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read., 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
As a complete Francophile, I love this book and have read it many times. It so typifies the life style of southern France and many other areas too. The characters really come to life under the penmanship of Peter Mayle. definitely his best book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, easy read, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
Another piece of escapism in the same genre as others by Mayle. Good fun and some more pearls of wisdom and insight into Gallic psychi, cuisine and lifestyle. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read with people,places and pastis, 16 April 2014
By 
D. Hancock (Blackpool,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
I very enjoyable read. Not great literature but well written with lovely observations of the characters. Written from a male point of view which I appreciated. The several plots weave well together and the descriptions of the Provence area are great. The relationship between Simon and Nicole and indeed Ernest is nicely explored. A great book to take on holiday or to read at any time. I have read it at least three times and will doubtless do so again. A book to cheer you up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hotel Pastis a very enjoyable read, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion this is the best and most enjoyable of Peter Mayle books having now read most of his books,a bit far fetched in places but fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hotel Pastis
Hotel Pastis by Peter Mayle
2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews